Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can't mount cdrom on hdinstall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3

    Can't mount cdrom on hdinstall

    Hi,
    I'm a bit of a linux n00b running knoppix 3.4 hdinstalled onto a Dell Inspiron 1100. When I try to mount my cdrom drive, I get this error:
    root@laptop:/# mount /dev/cdrom
    mount: special device /dev/cdrom does not exist

    I'll post the output from /etc/fstab:
    root@laptop:/# cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: filesystem table.
    #
    # filesystem mountpoint type options dump pass
    /dev/hdc5 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1

    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /floppy vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
    usbdevfs /proc/bus/usb usbdevfs defaults 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/dvd /dvd iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
    /dev/cdaudio /cdaudio iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hdc1 /mnt/hdc1 vfat noauto,users,exec,umask=000 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hdc2 /mnt/hdc2 ntfs noauto,users,exec,ro,umask=000 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hdc6 none swap defaults 0 0

    /dev/cdrom /cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noexec,noauto



    Anyone have any ideas?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    I see a bunch of views but no replies
    Could someone perhaps point me in the right direction to find the answer to my problems?


    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900
    Well here's the deal. /dev/cdrom is a symlink to the actual device. Why use a symlink? So that all apps can look for the same drive no matter where or what type it really is. With kernels older than 2.6.* you need scsi emulation so the drive will apear on the SCSI bus as a SCSI device.

    An external USB cdrom, kernel 2.5.25:
    Code:
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            8 Apr 22 16:09 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/sr0
    Internal cdrom, kernel 2.4.25
    Code:
     ls -al /dev/cdrom
    lrwxrwxrwx    1 root     root            9 Mar 26 05:51 /dev/cdrom -> /dev/scd0
    An internal cdrom, kernel 2.6.5:
    Code:
    ls -al /dev/cdrom
    lrwxr-xr-x    1 root     root            8 May 10 00:48 /dev/cdrom0 -> /dev/hdb
    SO you just have to create the link.
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/sr0 /dev/cdrom
    OR
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    OR
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/hdb /dev/cdrom
    Don't know which drive is your cdrom drive? No problem.

    For kernel 2.4.*
    Code:
    cdrecord -scanbus
    For 2.6.* kernel:
    Code:
    dmesg|grep CD
    If you make a symlink that's no good you can just remove it like so:
    Code:
    rm -f /dev/cdrom
    HTH

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Just check this out for an easy way of making it all happen, just look at my most recent post, and use the first one for reference to where the lines go...
    http://tlug.dnho.net/node.php?id=91

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    13
    if it's anything like my install you may need to use mount /dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom

    try entering in terminal window: dmesg

    this should list all of the ongoings during your startup sequence.. take a look in there to find out what it used to reference your cdrom drive..

    then maybe you need to update /etc/fstab and change the /dev/cdrom to /dev/sr0

    I'm a noob myself but this worked for me..

    gl!

Similar Threads

  1. help...cdrom won't mount
    By bob58 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2004, 01:01 AM
  2. How to mount my cdrom ??
    By Braim in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 06:55 PM
  3. can't mount /dev/cdrom
    By coindood in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 01:37 AM
  4. cdrom doesn't mount
    By MattT in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2003, 05:03 AM
  5. mount my CDROM
    By Didier in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-22-2003, 12:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$399.99



IBM SYSTEM x3200 M2 Server - HDD wiped, No OS picture

IBM SYSTEM x3200 M2 Server - HDD wiped, No OS

$75.00



IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server  picture

IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server

$209.98



IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES

$27.25



ibm server z series picture

ibm server z series

$16000.00



IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W picture

IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W

$199.00



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server

$319.99



IBM Server eServer | IBMR1000 | UPS 1000VA 700W W/New Batteries picture

IBM Server eServer | IBMR1000 | UPS 1000VA 700W W/New Batteries

$115.00



IBM System X3650 Server M2 2 x Xeon X5570 2.93 Ghz w/128 GB/DVDRW picture

IBM System X3650 Server M2 2 x Xeon X5570 2.93 Ghz w/128 GB/DVDRW

$169.99



IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED picture

IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED

$99.99