Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: how to mount harddisks on systemstart

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5

    how to mount harddisks on systemstart

    Hi,

    how do i mount a harddisk on systemstart?

    i tried tu use the /etc/fstab file for this and added a line just after the /-mounting
    Code:
    /dev/hdb1/ /test ext2 defaults,users 0 0
    the directiry test does exist and the harddisk is ext2 formated

    but nothing happens on reboot ...

    when use the command
    Code:
    mount /test
    after login then everything works but that can't be correct, can it?

    i hope you can help me ...

    P.S. i'm a linux newbie *smile*

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    magicoizo,

    Hmmmmm, the line looks good, only thing, and I can't be sure if this changes anything, or if it needs to be there, but, you might add exec ???

    like this:

    Code:
    /dev/hdb1/ /test ext2 defaults,users,exec 0 0
    I can't see why your drive isn't just auto-mounting when you login??? Have you had a look near the top of the output of dmesg ???? (possibly a more descriptive error of why it can't mount the drive???)

    Look to see if during your root file system mounting and swap partition, if it says something about your hdb device.... Only thought I can think of...

    Hope this helps,
    Ms. Cuddles

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Try this:

    /dev/hdb1 /test ext2, users, auto 0 0

    Then reboot.

    Note the auto flag and the lack of a slash after the drive.

    Formatting as Ext3 might save you some pain later!

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    O M G

    I didn't even "see" that slash, sheesh, I can be so dense sometimes. (I even typed the slash on my reply!)

    Thanks Fingers99 for "seeing" that little detail, and I agree on the ext3 file system, as well... Saved my rear a few times, having it, thats for sure!

    Background: Ext3 is the same as Ext2, except it has a "journaled" structure. If something, unforseen, happens, like a crash, or power-outage, fsck can "rebuild" better, what could have gone corrupt on you. Ext3 file system is kind of like using Windows' Microsoft Word, and it crashes on you, in the middle of a document edit. Word can use a form of "journaled" entry to rebuild the document, closer to its known contents, than without it.

    Hope this helps,
    Ms. Cuddles

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    5
    hi guys,
    thx for your help.

    first of all, i tried to format the harddisks with ext3 but the program, which should help me to make the partitions could not format in ext3. Every try ended in an error ...
    how can i format them without this KDE-tool?

    the code was just /dev/hdb1, without the / it was just my mistake, sorry

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,338
    Kool,

    For formatting, drop to a shell console, root, preferably, and do one of the mkfs commands...

    Not exactly sure on the spelling, maybe...

    mkext3fs - or mkfsext3 ???

    Got it...

    mkfs.ext3 - you can look at the man pages on what options you want to provide, but from just entering the command alone on the console, you only need to provide the [device], all the rest are non-required flags/switches/options....

    Hope this helps, and glad you got your auto-mounting working
    Ms. Cuddles

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900
    Quote Originally Posted by magicoizo
    hi guys,
    thx for your help.

    first of all, i tried to format the harddisks with ext3 but the program, which should help me to make the partitions could not format in ext3. Every try ended in an error ...
    how can i format them without this KDE-tool?

    the code was just /dev/hdb1, without the / it was just my mistake, sorry
    mke2fs /dev/hda2 creates an ext2 format
    mke2fs -j /dev/hda2 uses the journal that creates ext3
    tune2fs -j /dev/hda2 will convert an existing etx2 partition to ext3

    Funny, I had no idea there was a GUI for something as simple as formatting.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    Quote Originally Posted by fingers99
    /dev/hdb1 /test ext2, users, auto 0 0
    The syntax is:
    Code:
    /dev/hdb1	/test	ext2	users,auto	0 0
    (no comma after ext2).

    cuddles suggested to add 'exec' to the options.
    man mount told me, that 'defaults' implies 'exec'.
    btw: exec permits execution of binaries and covers a totally different issue.

    Questions to fstab are often answered by man mount - yes, I know, it's about 100 pages long

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    Comment on ext2 vs ext3. I had several system total crashes (and thus became CrashedAgain) before switching to ext3 and none after. Save yourself some grief, make the switch. Crashes occurred during boot up, fsck would do a system check & say it had a bad superblock which I could never manage to 'repair'.

  10. #10
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    16
    Hi!
    I think that magicoizo installed knoppix in HD with beginner option. I did the same and I have the same problem! I edit fstab, reboot, and have the original fstab!! I don't know what to do. I think begginer install mode creates a fstab every time I reboot. What do we can do?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. looking to mount USB CD rom
    By maestrobwh1 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 11:47 PM
  2. How To Mount
    By Wassim in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2005, 03:59 PM
  3. Hangs when scanning harddisks partitions
    By Jaster in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-2004, 03:42 PM
  4. how to set IP-Adress on systemstart
    By magicoizo in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 04:35 AM
  5. Mount ISO
    By lindleyrl in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2003, 06:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DELL PowerEdge R730XD 24x 2.5

DELL PowerEdge R730XD 24x 2.5" Server Dual 750W Dual Heatsink - BareBones TESTED

$269.99



Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.4Ghz 8-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS picture

Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.4Ghz 8-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS

$721.06



HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server | 2 x E5-2660V3 2.6Ghz | 64GB | 2 x 900GB SAS HDD picture

HP ProLiant DL360 G9 Server | 2 x E5-2660V3 2.6Ghz | 64GB | 2 x 900GB SAS HDD

$339.00



H261-Z61 2U 24SFF AMD Server 8x EPYC 7551 256-Cores 256GB RAM 8x25G NIC 2x2200W picture

H261-Z61 2U 24SFF AMD Server 8x EPYC 7551 256-Cores 256GB RAM 8x25G NIC 2x2200W

$2612.18



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$274.00



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



HP Proliant DL360 Gen9 28 Core SFF Server 2X E5-2680 V4 16GB RAM P440ar No HDD picture

HP Proliant DL360 Gen9 28 Core SFF Server 2X E5-2680 V4 16GB RAM P440ar No HDD

$196.95



SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount picture

SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount

$202.49



HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 16SFF 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 64GB P840 4xRJ45 picture

HP ProLiant DL380 Gen9 16SFF 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 64GB P840 4xRJ45

$353.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores  64gb  H730  2x 750w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores 64gb H730 2x 750w

$189.99