Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Help with partitioning

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    237

    Help with partitioning

    Hello....I have replaced my KNOPPIX 3.3 with 2.4 on my Gateway laptop and it is very good and seems to be very functional. I was reading that "GODOT" webpage on his installation and I did install it using that. He, and many others suggest 3 partitions. One for swap, linux system [boot] and a HOME directory. Well since my HDD is 10GIG, I figured I should do the 3 partition deal instead of the usual 2 partition that I have been using. Only cause I see now how easier it will be as far as installing things and keeping track. I need help though cause I am not sure what to do. I like to use CFDISK to partition. So what I will do is from my 10G HDD, I will make the first partition a 5Gig partition for LINUX [boot]. Then the second partition a 1Gig SWAP. {I have 512 MB ram} And that leaves 4Gig left over for my HOME partition. But when I install KNOPPIX, how does it know to install my HOME driectory to the 3rd partition I made for HOME?????? I am not sure what to expect. Do i just do a normal install and MOVE my HOME directory from the 2nd LINUX [boot] partition to my 3rd HOME partition???? Since I have been using KNOPPIX 3.3 since Feb, I have always just used 2 partitions cause I didnt think it really mattered with 3, but now I see the benefit of a separate HOME partition. I just dont know how to set it up....please help!!!! I would like to work on this maybe tonite after dinner!!! Bob

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    Quote Originally Posted by bob58
    I have replaced my KNOPPIX 3.3 with 2.4 on my Gateway laptop
    Assuming you mean Knoppix v3.4...

    Quote Originally Posted by bob58
    But when I install KNOPPIX, how does it know to install my HOME driectory to the 3rd partition I made for HOME??????
    When using the "knoppix-installer" script, it allows you to set all sorts of parameters before actually performing the install (choice 1: Configure Installation). After you do that, instead of performing the installation, choose 5: Save config, and then 6: Quit.

    The default configuration file is named /root/.knofig, although you can choose your own location & filename.

    Edit that file, and you will see a section that looks like this. Add the partition you want /home on. (Here I'm using /dev/hdb1.)
    Code:
    #Here you can give additional mappings. (Experimental!) You need to have the partitions formatted yourself and give the correct mappings like: "/dev/hda4:boot /dev/hda5:var /dev/hda6/tmp"
    HD_MAP:"/dev/hdb1:/home"
    Then rerun "knoppix-installer" and load your configuration file (choice 4), and perform the installation if everything else is to your liking.

    "knofig" is well-commented, so you may want to change other things there.

    P.S. I'd make your /home partition a bit smaller and your / partition a bit bigger, if you plan on installing stuff.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    237

    more confused! Help!

    Hi...thanks for helping, but i am even more confused. I tried to do this on my own but it didnt work. the 3rd partition i made for /home was there, but i could not mount it cause it said "could not mount, must specify file system" so i screwed up somewhere. I originally used that "godot" website installation but it gave me too many problems so now i will just stick to a regular install. ok first thing i am doing is cfdisk to resize my partitions like you suggested.....hang on....ok i made my primary linux [bootable] 7gig in size and my swap the same, at 1gig, and the 3rd partition is 2gig. Here is what my cfdisk screen looks like:

    hda1 boot primary linux 6999.72
    hda2 primary linux 1998.75
    hda3 primary linux swap 1052.84

    Are all 3 partitions supposed to be "primary"......this is where i get confused. OK then next i will write partition table & re boot.....

    ok so now i should do "knx2hd" and when the installer comes on, choose choice 1, configure installation. then save & quit?????? But if i do that, and nothing is installed, how do i edit that /root/.knofig file? this is where i am totally confused......so i will stop here and wait for your reply.....thank you...bob

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    (Interesting, "knx2hd" is a symbolic link to "knoppix-installer." Didn't know that was there!)

    Yes, all 3 partitions (/, swap and /home) should be primary.

    For the sake of simplicity, forget about the "save config" and "load config" options and just go ahead and configure your installation, then quit the installer. When you quit, it will (always) ask you if you want to save the configuration. Tell it that you do. Then look in your /root directory -- use "ls -a" to list all files, even the ones that begin with a dot -- and you should see a file named .knofig (note the leading dot). That's the one to edit.

    You can edit it while in a console using your favorite editor, e.g. "mcedit .knofig" -- does that help?

Similar Threads

  1. Partitioning a HD
    By mimes in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2004, 01:33 AM
  2. partitioning
    By goober in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 03:49 AM
  3. Partitioning?
    By Kowood in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 08:08 PM
  4. I Need help partitioning!
    By donald_willy in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2004, 05:09 AM
  5. partitioning
    By senorian in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-20-2003, 03:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •