Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I can't find .knofig

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3

    I can't find .knofig

    Hello,
    I'm triying to install Knopixx 3.4 in a Dell power Edge 700 with two discs sata and adaptec raid. I made a low level format. I booted with Knoppix cd, then i used cfdisk to made partitions.
    Then, in a console, knoppix-installer, made the configuration and exit. Then i saved the configuration. Well, i run knoppix-installer again, but i got a message: ERROR check fail for HD_CHOICE(). The configuration module will now be started. I have read that i have to modify the .knofig, but i can't find it in the root directory...
    Where is it?
    Thank you in advance, and excuse my poor english...

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    237

    location of /.knofig file

    Hi Batustini, just go to console as root and type "kwrite /root/.knofig" without the quotation marks, of course.
    That will bring up the file you want and you can look at it/edit it. I had to do the same thing when I partitioned my drive last night and was having trouble with my 3rd partition. Hope this helps you....bob

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    Hello,
    first of all, thank you for your help Bob.
    I've formatted the disc again. I've booted from cd. I've used qparted to make two partitions. One for swap (sda1) and another for linux (sda2) then i've rebooted. Then i've used mkswap, and mkfs.ext3 (for swap & linux), seems all be ok. Then i've gone into console: knoppix-installer-->configuration-->exit. save the congiration-->yes. It seems to be ok.
    Go to a console an type: kwrite /root/.knofig, open kwrite but the file is empty (blank)...
    I've tried to save configuration to a file (file called knofig), saved in /.
    Then in a console: sudo kwrite knofig, open the file and modify HD_CHOICE="/dev/sda6"
    Rerun knoppix-installer and i've choosed configuration from a file, i've gived the name of the file (knofig) and in this moment i am installing knoppyx to the hard disk...
    Thank you very much Bob for your help...
    P.S.: I hope you can understand me, and excuse my poor english again...

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    237

    good job

    Good.....It sure takes alot maintaining Linux!!!!! It is definitly a challenge! Its like learning the computer all over again. I had to do the same thing as you and I finally got Knoppix working OK. There are a few smaller issues I have not been able to address right now though. It is just aggravating to have to get root permission for this and that! Well good luck!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    3
    I know windows deep inside, but linux... it's another GREAT world... Thank you Bob...
    Best regards...

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900

    Re: good job

    Quote Originally Posted by bob58
    It is just aggravating to have to get root permission for this and that! Well good luck!
    Linux is a true multi-user system. You should be glad that not everyone has access to just anythihng on your system. Also notice that with Win you must actually log out and log back in to be comeadmin. Tell me THAT isn't a PITA! :P This is not true under *nix. I find no difficulties with it whatsoever. Are you using su?

    Also you can change permissions to allow users to access what you want them to.

Similar Threads

  1. i want reiserfs as boot fs? initrd? .knofig?
    By jobuli in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2005, 01:01 PM
  2. knofig edit w/ cheat codes?????
    By crashed in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2005, 02:39 PM
  3. K3B - Can't find CD Burner
    By delamatrix in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2005, 11:31 PM
  4. Cannot find boot.img
    By johnchan in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 08:58 AM
  5. Can't find boot.img
    By femialpha in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-29-2004, 11:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield picture

ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield

$42.00



Gigabyte GA-Q170M-D3H-GSM LGA1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard w/ I/O Plate picture

Gigabyte GA-Q170M-D3H-GSM LGA1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard w/ I/O Plate

$39.99



Asus Prime H310M-A R2.0 Intel LGA 1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard picture

Asus Prime H310M-A R2.0 Intel LGA 1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard

$54.99



GIGABYTE B450M DS3H WIFI (AMD Ryzen AM4/M.2/HMDI/DVI/USB 3.1/DDR4 Motherboard picture

GIGABYTE B450M DS3H WIFI (AMD Ryzen AM4/M.2/HMDI/DVI/USB 3.1/DDR4 Motherboard

$64.99



ASUS PRIME B360M-C LGA1151 DDR4 mATX Motherboard w/Intel i3-8100 CPU & IO Shield picture

ASUS PRIME B360M-C LGA1151 DDR4 mATX Motherboard w/Intel i3-8100 CPU & IO Shield

$57.00



Asus Prime A320M-K mATX AM4 Motherboard (Ryzen 1000-5000 Ready) picture

Asus Prime A320M-K mATX AM4 Motherboard (Ryzen 1000-5000 Ready)

$49.99



GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield picture

GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield

$69.99



Asus Prime H570-PLUS LGA1200 ATX Motherboard | Fast Ship, US Seller picture

Asus Prime H570-PLUS LGA1200 ATX Motherboard | Fast Ship, US Seller

$64.97



Gigabyte M-ATX motherboard with Intel Core i3 8100 CPU and 8GB DDR4 RAM picture

Gigabyte M-ATX motherboard with Intel Core i3 8100 CPU and 8GB DDR4 RAM

$84.00



ASUS B85M-E Motherboard Intel B85 (4th Gen) LGA1150 DDR3 microATX picture

ASUS B85M-E Motherboard Intel B85 (4th Gen) LGA1150 DDR3 microATX

$39.99