Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [klik] Kaffeine Media Player

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159

    [klik] Kaffeine Media Player

    As usual, http://klik.berlios.de or klik://kaffeine (the second link directly installs & runs it from your home directory, klik client must be installed)

    You can use win32 codecs, just download them and change the win32 directory in Kaffeine settings. Then you can watch most proprietary streams as well.

    The Kaffeine kpart (Kaffeine embedded into Konqueror) does not work this way because kparts don't run from the home directory (or do they?).

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    Nice! There is a plugin for Mozilla "kaffeine-mozilla" I think (but am not sure) that Konq will work with this as well. In any event I'm sure that it will work if the pluging is placed in ~/.mozilla/plugins/. Kaffeine is a very nice media player. Yes it does indeed play just about every video format I know of, but it also allows you to record all streams to your hard drive.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    58
    Hey probono,

    I was having a fit trying to get klik to work.
    Kept getting an error like "klik is not an installed protocol".
    If anyone else is getting this error they might want to consider
    making a new file association for klik.

    In Control Center / KDE Components / File Associations, click on "add"
    then chose "text" for the Group and enter klik for the name then click OK.
    Next under Application Preference Order, browse to their browser of choice
    and add "http://klik.berlios.de/" after the browser string. For example:
    "/home/sunnyb/Desktop/firefox/firefox http://klik.berlios.de/" without the
    quotes. Under Filename Patterns add "klik*.*" then under Description add
    http://klik.berlios.de/. Click on Embedding then chose "Use settings for
    "text" group" then under Service Preferences Order chose "khtml". Now
    click on apply and OK.

    I just did this and from a command line typed klik://nmapfe and the rest was automatic. Your program is great.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    That should not be possible as long as you install the klik client as it is decribed on the klik homepage:

    In order to install the klik client, run the right version of Knoppix, press Alt-F2 and paste:
    Code:
    wget klik.berlios.de/client/install -O -|sh
    Wait until the klik page opens - then the protocol is properly installed. Other steps should not be neccessary. In a future Knoppix version it will perhaps be automated.

    probono

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    19
    though not a rank noobie need some help installing klik.
    specifically. when i do alt-f2 on the desk top i get a run dialog box when i enter wget....... i get no paste option, and the klik client does not install.
    could someone be a little more explicit on the steps to install the klik client? also must konq. be used or will it work equally well with mozilla or firefox.
    thanks for ur help.

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Port Angeles, Washington
    Posts
    21

    Did anyone help you?

    Ivansv, did you get your answer on installing Klik? I also, need a little more direction on installing Klik.
    I get a dialogue box with no option to paste. Past to what?


    Jesse

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by ivansv
    must konq. be used
    Yep

    or will it work equally well with mozilla or firefox.
    Nope.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    To install the client, do the following steps:

    1. Copy the following:
    Code:
    wget klik.berlios.de/client/install -O -|sh
    2. Press Alt-F2

    3. Paste what you have copied and press enter

    4. The klik client will install

Similar Threads

  1. Kaffeine on hd-install
    By towjamb in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 02:43 AM
  2. media player/playlists etc.
    By styven in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 11:24 AM
  3. Creating 'Thin Client' Media Player
    By mduvall216 in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 05:48 PM
  4. apt-get install kaffeine (issues)
    By Cuddles in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2004, 06:22 AM
  5. Now for a MEDIA PLAYER..........
    By BiggJeff74 in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-19-2004, 04:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •