Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Swap use in toram option

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305

    Swap use in toram option

    If the ram provided by the user's system is less than the required ram to execute the toram option, does the Knoppix CD or DVD automatically find swap to utilize? If so, where does the program look for swap, since it is loading from disc?

    It seems obvious it can't use swap.....unless there is a way to instruct the program to utilize it to load toram.

    The ram requirement to load toram from the Knoppix CD is 1MB-1.2MB.

    Using that as a measure, it would seem that a 2GB dvd disc would require at least 4GB-5GB of ram. Utilizing swap in some fashion by modifying the linuxrc setup (or otherwise) would permit perhaps 2GB of added pseudo-ram for booting DVD discs toram option.

    Any possible answers?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    Not to sure what your talking about here, but why would a 2 gig DVD need 4 gigs of RAM? When you load knoppix into ram it doesn't uncompress. It just copies the KNOPPIX file to RAM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    As I pointed out, the knoppix CD requires 1GB+ of ram to load the option..toram. This is due to the process inherent in the toram option.
    The size of the CD (650+) is about half of the needed ram. The exact figures of what is really stored out of the 650 MB I don't have.

    Assuming the process is similar for a DVD Knoppix disc of 2GB, the required ram is now 4-5GB.

    The basic problem is to find out the process and see what can be done with it using swap for pseudo-ram or pay for expensive ram and mobo to handle it for DVD toram option.

Similar Threads

  1. New Knoppix boot option: toram
    By aay in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 02:18 AM
  2. 3.8.x toram causes crash when utilising swap space
    By cleary in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2005, 07:35 AM
  3. Problem with "toram" option with my remaster
    By Gromit in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 05:01 AM
  4. Knoppix Terminal Server node toram option.
    By zem.mattress in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-06-2004, 05:03 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 12:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •