Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Can Knoppix write to NTFS?

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for all your help everyone. It worked great. Its all working correctly now!

    Thank you for your time,
    Arrummzen

  2. #12
    Guest
    You have to manually mount because the action taken when you mount by right-clickng the drive icon on the KDE desktop is to mount with the Linux read-only NTFS driver.

    You can just reboot when done and it will unmount the drive. You could also do the right-click method to unmount if you want to continue operating in Linux while the changes are written to the drive.

    I have never had any trouble with captive-NTFS. It is using windows' ntfs driver and kernel to do the operations so it seems like it would be perfectly safe. It is a little slow at writing, but slowness is a small price to pay IMO.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    Hi, would someone be able to give me the lines of code needed to do this task ?

    I believe I am dealing with the same problem that Arrummzen had. My mup.sys is corrupt from turning the the power off before it had fully shut down, so don't gimme that USB rubbish I have found on google please.

    I have fixed this once before (I had another computer with similar specs thank god). But this time I am not so lucky.

    I have a working version of mup.sys that I need to copy to my HDD (NTFS partition on a SATA cable). My devices are as follows, sda1 (C Drive), sda5 (My media drive, not needed in this scenario), sda6 (My backup drive, again not needed at this time) and sdb1 (My memory stick that has mup.sys on it).

    I have downloaded the needed files from the Captive NTFS program, however, I can't use Konqueror to write, and from reading this topic, it seems I must use a shell.

    I am begging someone to tell me what the commands are that I will need to copy from /mnt/sdb1/mup.sys to /mnt/sda1/windows/system32/drivers/

    Many many thanks to anyone that writes anything helpful now...

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    ok extra bit, I have tried mounting the drive, with the "mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1"

    But it just says "Captive NTFS v1.1.5. Check a new version at http://www.jankratochvil.net/"

    And then doesn't do anything, I can type extra junk but it doesn't do anything, the drive hasn't been mounted either.

    HELP !!!

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff4505
    ok extra bit, I have tried mounting the drive, with the "mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1"

    But it just says "Captive NTFS v1.1.5. Check a new version at http://www.jankratochvil.net/"

    And then doesn't do anything, I can type extra junk but it doesn't do anything, the drive hasn't been mounted either.

    HELP !!!
    First you need to run the captive script, then try and mount it.
    To copy issue this

    cp /mnt/sdb1/mup.sys /mnt/sda1/windows/system32/drivers/mup.sys

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    By captive script do you mean the line that i wrote ?

    Or the simple "mount -w /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1"

    Because I've read that that is not the safest thing to do (not use the windows sys files to write to ntfs).

    Thanks

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff4505
    By captive script do you mean the line that i wrote ?

    Or the simple "mount -w /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1"

    Because I've read that that is not the safest thing to do (not use the windows sys files to write to ntfs).

    Thanks
    try apropos captive
    and find the captive script that finds the needed files.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1
    [quote="Arrummzen"]ok, so the procedure is this

    0: boot knoppix

    ok it's easy

    1: mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/hdx# /mnt/hdx#

    hum... and you don't use "captive-install-acquire" ???
    in my case

    1) i boot with "fb800x600"
    2) i click on HDA1 icon to mount my NTFS partition
    2) i type "su" to be root
    3) i launch "captive-install-acquire" (with root privilieges
    4) when drivers is found, i open a new console and i type "su"
    5) i type "mkdir /mnt/captive-LABEL_C" (no syntax error because
    it's a copy/paste eheheh
    6) i type "mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/captive-LABEL_C"
    but soft ask me "/dev/hda1/ already mounted" and i can to use "-o force",

    and after ?
    a) must i use "-o force" switch ?
    b) i can use a graphical GUI to do it to navigate in /mnt/ and modify my
    or must i type in commandline batch mode "cp, copy, rd and more and more ???"

    2: Make needed changes, using stanard Linux methods, like cp, rm, mv, vim etc.

    one day i hope to be at this step :X

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1

    doesn't work for me

    I ran

    captive-install-acquire

    it ran the scan the went away then I ran

    root@ttyp0[knoppix]# mount -t captive-ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1

    and I got this

    Captive NTFS v1.1.5. Check a new version at: http://www.jankratochvil.net/

    and it just sits there

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sydney/Australia
    Posts
    311
    firebyrd10

    >>
    >> ... captive-ntfs ...
    >>

    Facinating, am i getting the right drift here,
    that this facility will actually safley write to
    a mounted NTFS partition under Linux ?

    The last time i looked, the kernel only had limited
    support for this. An that is in v2.6.9.

    The support being limited, to being able to write, but
    only as long as the original file size wasn't changed.
    So as not to corrupt the multiple meta-data records
    that a NTFS maintains in respect to a file entry
    in its' system.

    As the details of the fs were secret, the
    actual number and location of these multiple records
    was unknown. Being the main thing holding back
    its' open use in Linux.

    If this is the case though, is is very "radicle" ...

    Could you elaborate a little on it. Iv'e had a
    look at:

    http://www.jankratochvil.net/project.html

    but the info seems a bit scant on this there

    jm

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how to use knoppix 3.8 to write to ntfs?
    By entropy8 in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 12:02 AM
  2. captive ntfs - mount ntfs (reade/write) through icon
    By terminator in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2004, 10:52 PM
  3. Knoppix 3.4 and NTFS write
    By TLis in forum General Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 09:12 AM
  4. NTFS Write? With knoppix 3.3?
    By TheTempest in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 08:44 PM
  5. Knoppix NTFS Write is/is not available ?!?
    By bluewhale in forum General Support
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-04-2004, 03:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G

$13.99



HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin picture

HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin

$12.90



Samsung 128GB (4x 32GB) M86B4G70DM0-CMA3 PC3-14900L 4Rx4 DDR3 ECC Reg Server Mem picture

Samsung 128GB (4x 32GB) M86B4G70DM0-CMA3 PC3-14900L 4Rx4 DDR3 ECC Reg Server Mem

$39.99



Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) XMP picture

Team T-FORCE VULCAN Z 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin PC RAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) XMP

$35.99



A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G

$13.99



HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM picture

HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM

$9.64



Lot of 50 4GB PC4 Desktop Memory DDR4 RAM LOT SAMSUNG SK HYNIX MICRON + MORE picture

Lot of 50 4GB PC4 Desktop Memory DDR4 RAM LOT SAMSUNG SK HYNIX MICRON + MORE

$150.00



Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM picture

Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM

$13.25



A-Tech 256GB 4x 64GB 4Rx4 PC4-19200 ECC Load Reduced LRDIMM Server Memory RAM picture

A-Tech 256GB 4x 64GB 4Rx4 PC4-19200 ECC Load Reduced LRDIMM Server Memory RAM

$287.96



G.Skill RipJaws V 16GB (2x8GB) PC4-28800 (DDR4-3600) Memory F4-3600C16D-16GVKC picture

G.Skill RipJaws V 16GB (2x8GB) PC4-28800 (DDR4-3600) Memory F4-3600C16D-16GVKC

$45.00