Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Linux, Knoppix won't detect my Wifi card

New to Linux, Knoppix won't detect my Wifi card

Hey all, I'm new to Linux. I just got Knoppix today, and while it detected my onboard ethernet (as eth0), it won't detect my wifi card. I tried typing wlcardconfig in the console, but it says No Wireless Network Card Detected.

I have an Acer TM291Lmi laptop. It's a Centrino with integrated 802.11b/g. Can anyone tell me what I need to do?

Ah, my wireless network is a Netgear access point, 128 bit WEP and MAC filtering enabled.

Thanks for any help!

EDIT: I just checked, it's an Intel 2200BG WiFi

Oh well, looks like evil MS Windows will have to be my OS of choice. Might be slow, buggy, and unsecure but hey at least it works without 24 hours a day of tinkering and having elitist unix jerks insult you when you ask for help.

Senior Member registered user
    Quote Originally Posted by javyn
    but hey at least it works without 24 hours a day of tinkering and having elitist unix jerks insult you when you ask for help.
    1. Who insulted you here? You posted twice in a row, and have two posts total. Where were you insulted?

2. Who's the jerk? No one insulted you, yet you go around calling unix users jerks.

3. When's the last time you got Windows help, and where, that it's so much better? I only get help if I'm in warranty with Windows. Then I'm put on hold for two or more hours, disconnected, often insulted, and generally, no matter what the problem is, the advice I get consists of the following, each step being one phone call with a minimum two hour hold:

Step 1: Reboot the computer - Did the problem go away? Is your power light on? Is your computer plugged it? (and other equally idiotic questions which insult my intelligence)

Step 2: (If hardware) Disconnect, reconnect and reboot - Did the problem go away? (If software) Uninstall, reinstall and reboot - Did the problem go away?