Page 14 of 71 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 708

Thread: ISO boot from FAT/NTFS/USB (GRUB.exe, grldr from boot.ini)

  1. #131
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    142
    Ruymbeke said:
    PS: Sorry for the mistake, but to start grub from the dos config.sys, use "shell=grub.exe" instead of "device="...

    I hope this will help. Could you please post some feedback about these changes ?
    Thank you, Gilles
    At last - with this mod I can boot to the cloop file on my Windows 98 machine without the need for a boot CD or boot floppy.

    If only I could stop it searching the CD-ROM before it goes to the \boot\knoppix.36 directory I would be really happy. Previous suggestion of using bootfrom does not work. It still searches the CD-ROM. By the way, if you are using the cloop file you still have to put it in as c:\knoppix\knoppix and use bootfrom=/dev/hda1 - you cannot bootfrom it in c:\boot\knoppix.36.

    Thanks Gilles for the correction. Keep up the good work!

    ICPUG

  2. #132
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5
    I am not sure why, but if I delete the boot directory in the root of my C: drive and then re-create all in manually, including creating the subdirectories, and then copy in the files from the zip, everything works perfectly.

    It could be something to do with how winzip creates directories when extracting from a zip, as my original boot directory would of been created as I extracted the zip then just moved to the correct location.

    Thanks very much for your help in getting this to work.

  3. #133
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    667
    Quote Originally Posted by quiet_voice
    I am not sure why, but if I delete the boot directory in the root of my C: drive and then re-create all in manually, including creating the subdirectories, and then copy in the files from the zip, everything works perfectly...Thanks very much for your help in getting this to work.
    Thanks a lot for the info. I will try to recompile with debug enabled and investigate. Gilles

  4. #134
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    692
    Quote Originally Posted by ruymbeke
    I recompiled grub and included a menu.lst within the grub binary which will look for the menu.lst file in different locations, as directories, partitions, and drives. Here are the links for just the grldr file and the full grub package:
    http://s94592085.onlinehome.us/grub/grldr
    http://s94592085.onlinehome.us/grub/grubc.zip

    Could you please post some feedback about these changes ?
    Thank you, Gilles
    YES! That worked very, very well.

    For other HP users, you may wish to consider adding the cheatcode pnpbios=off to avoid error messages, unless someone knows what the real problem is. Perhaps the error indicates why Knoppix won't recognize my USB thumbdrive unless I boot with it.

    Thanks again, Gilles,

    jd

  5. #135
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sunnyvale,CA,USA
    Posts
    118
    Awesome,Awesome work guys!!!!!!.
    Thanks to everyone involved in making this work.It makes life much easier.



    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Free Software,Free Speech,Free Society
    http://bhavesh.freeshell.org

  6. #136
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Sunnyvale,CA,USA
    Posts
    118

    Will this feature be a part of the next release ??

    Will this feature be a part of the next release ??

    It would be nice to have it in the standard release.

    I was just curious to find out if it becomes a part of the standard release do we need to download grubc* , and make directories etc.Or will there be an easier way to do it??


    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Free Software,Free Speech Free Society
    http://bhavesh.freeshell.org

  7. #137
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    667

    Re: Will this feature be a part of the next release ??

    Quote Originally Posted by patelbhavesh
    Will this feature be a part of the next release ? It would be nice to have it in the standard release...
    I tried to contact Fabianx several times, but no reply... Anybody have an other idea on how to proceed ?
    Gilles

  8. #138
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    26
    I'm still not getting this. I followed the instructions here - http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/WinPartition and it sounds so simple
    but all I'm getting is the first prompt then when I select "start grub" I just get a black screen with a blinking curser. I'm using XP Pro and have tried both the c:\grldr="Start Grub" and c:\bootgrub="Start Grub (old method)" in menu.lst.
    As I understand it, this way I don't need to do anything with the disk I burnt the ISO image to, just the actual ISO I downloaded? Or am I supposed to copy something from the live cd first?
    I just can't seem to get anywhere with linux at all in any way shape or form.

  9. #139
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh, USA
    Posts
    2

    Same problem

    I see the same behaviour as fannymites. I painstakingly followed every word of the latest instructions, and the machine just hangs after I select "Start grub". Things I did :

    1. Downloaded and extracted gribc.zip except boot.ini
    2. Edited boot.ini - mine is a simple case with just one hard drive and Win2k.
    3. Downloaded Knoppix3.6.iso and placed it in the directory.
    4. Edited menu.lst to just change the timeout from 5 to 15 seconds, nothing else.

    I even tried removing the knoppix.iso lines, just to see if the memtest works - nah. I gave up after tons of reboot and file edits. Could somebody help.

    Thanks,
    Shrek. (Pittsburgh)

  10. #140
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    6
    Hi!
    I did a PMI of knoppix 3.7 on my laptop.
    Now i only have to boot using the knoppix cdrom and then i can load the knoppix installation from my hard drive (i copied the knoppix.iso file on the NTFS drive).
    However, when i use this PMI i dont have read access anymore to the NTFS drive.
    I get a message 'could not enter folder /cdrom2.loop'. It seems that dev/hda1 is mounted at /mnt/cdrom2.loop and i dont have access to it.
    I dont have this problem when i run knoppix from the cdrom. I can see the contents of the NTFS drive without any problem.
    Does anyone know why this happens? Is there a workaround?
    Also, could anyone give me a hint how to create a bootfloppy so that i dont have to boot from the cdrom?

Page 14 of 71 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD using Grub for NTFS
    By sandricionut in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 03:28 PM
  2. grub boot loader read the boot file from a windows partition
    By cli168 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 03:57 AM
  3. Hdd-install and grub boot??
    By Ish Rattan in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2004, 10:31 PM
  4. Grub/lilo boot problems
    By madape in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 10:07 AM
  5. Boot cd with lilo or grub boot disk
    By keava in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-20-2003, 05:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •