Page 53 of 71 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast
Results 521 to 530 of 708

Thread: ISO boot from FAT/NTFS/USB (GRUB.exe, grldr from boot.ini)

  1. #521
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    11

    Re: Knoppix 5.2 minirt update for iso boot

    Quote Originally Posted by ruymbeke
    Hello,
    Please find below the link to the Knoppix 5.2 update of the iso boot minirt:
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/minirt_520.gz
    Have fun, and please provide some feedback...
    Gilles
    .
    Hi Gilles,
    starting with the first 4*-DVD of Knoppix I went from a loadlin-install of Knoppix to your version with grub and the patched minirt.gz

    I just tryed to go to the 5,2 c't-Version, but I'm running into some trouble:
    The Kernel shows correctly as 2.6.19.5, it tells me that my iso is found on /dev/hda6 OK (ext3-filesystem), but then, when it should say something like "accessing KNOPPIX CDROM -
    /cdrom2.loop/*.iso " it only says

    acessing KNOPPIX CDROM failed; can't find KNOPPIX filesystem

    ...and I'm in the limited shell.

    I went ahead and burned the iso to a dvd => this runs just fine.
    The md5 of my iso is:
    fdbff1d8b93d4c1a724cb68b4e4f8bf2 knx520.iso

    Any suggestions?

    Thatnks in advance!

    poor_mans_knoppix

  2. #522
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668

    Re: Knoppix 5.2 minirt update for iso boot

    Quote Originally Posted by poor_mans_knoppix
    ... I just tryed to go to the 5,2 c't-Version, but I'm running into some trouble:
    The Kernel shows correctly as 2.6.19.5, it tells me that my iso is found on /dev/hda6 OK (ext3-filesystem),
    but then, when it should say something like "accessing KNOPPIX CDROM - /cdrom2.loop/*.iso "
    it only says acessing KNOPPIX CDROM failed; can't find KNOPPIX filesystem ...
    Hello,
    Please accept my deep apologies, it should now be fixed using this new link:
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/minirt_52.gz
    This minirt_52.gz also includes a (dynamically) patched knoppix-autoconfig file for persistent home (cf below)

    I also created a new Knoppix 5.2 c't virtual machine for VmWare 6-RC (build 44426):
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/vmk520_44426.zip (10MB)

    As usual, I really apreciate feedback.
    Best Regards,
    Gilles

    Ps1: It looks like that the lang=us kernel cheat code changes the keyboad mapping but not the menus yet...

    PS2: I think I have found 3 typos in the official /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig script, cf bug report:
    http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Bugs/5.20 and a patch: http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/...onfig_520.diff

    Ps3: For the long story, sorry for the delay in my response but I have been very busy at work this last month
    and I only got the time now to fix a very stupid (and known) bug in my modified linuxrc boot script:
    if [ -f $TARGET/$KNOPPIX_DIR/$KNOPPIX_NAME ] --> if test -r $TARGET/$KNOPPIX_DIR/$KNOPPIX_NAME
    (When I was running my tests previously I didn't realize that the iso used was a left over from a test on Fat32)

  3. #523
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    159

    Re: Knoppix 5.2 minirt update for iso boot

    Thanks Gilles. It is a pity that knoppix essentially remains a one-man stunt. There's no bugzilla anymore, and requests to the mailing list are often ignored. Have you considered submitting your NTFS/VMWare additions to sidux for inclusion? Not to belittle knoppix, but they at least are working as a team, and take HD-installation to heart.

  4. #524
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668
    Hello,
    I received this very good question in a private message:
    Quote Originally Posted by skisteven1
    ... I downloaded vmk511_39849b.zip from your website, and booted up the virtual machine in that file.
    I reset the ISO image to the location of the KNOPPIX_V5.1.1DVD-2007-01-04-EN DVD ISO file that I have.
    The machine boots and seems to work, but I was wondering if there is a specific method for making persistent changes...
    and since I believe it can can be usefull to others please find below a copy of my answer:
    Yes, Knoppix can be used with a persistent image and this persistent image can also be used with vmware.
    I actually use a persistent image in the process of creating my Knoppix virtual machine.

    So obviously you can create a vmware virtual machine with a persistent image stored on a vmware virtual hdd.
    You don't need to use my zip file, just create an empty virtual machine and install everything
    as you would do on a real machine, including formatting the hdd, installing a disk boot loader and
    installing the vmware tools before creating the persistent image, so it can be used for the next boot.
    By doing so you will be able to store changes and keep your data for the next boots.
    The draw back of this approach is in my opinion the large size of the virtual machine.
    As an example, it is quite hard to get a persistent image smaller than 100MB if you install the vmware tools...

    This is the reason why I decided to use an other customized & optimized mechanism to load
    the vmware tools which is not really compatible with the existing persistent image mechanism.
    My goal is to provide a ready to use and ultra compact Knoppix vmware virtual machine (<10MB) which can be used
    to have a quick access to the native linux tools and/or as a very fast free X server to access an other Linux box.

    So as a quick answer, I do not see an easy way to use my zip file to create a persistent image.
    Since I used a persistent image to create my setup, I would recommend you to do the same:
    Create a virtual machine and install Knoppix as it should be done on a real machine.
    You may still want to consider re-using my bootlaoder and/or my boot ram disk in order to boot from
    the iso with custom kernel cheatcodes (to enable the loading of persistent image as an example).

    After a second thought, I did not try to create a persistent image after having booted from my Knoppix vm.
    It may work ... (with some tweaking)
    I hope this is helpful information.
    Best Regards,
    Gilles

  5. #525
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by skisteven1
    cut/paste would be totally fine.

    I noticed with some more playing around that when i try using the persistent image within knoppix (that saves to a .img file), it breaks your vmware-tools install. Same goes for when I do a knoppix saveconfig (which saves settings and changes to /etc to a .tgz file or something). I feel like there must be a way to implement these changes to the UNIONFS after loading the things that come from your custom setup. (by the way, now that i've been playing with this stuff for a few hours, i can really appreciate how elegant and well done your virtual machine zip file is. Kudos to you!)

    Let me see if I've got this straight:
    the virtual machine loads to disk, encounters grub, which simply boots knoppix with various cheatcodes from the ISO image on /dev/hdc. It also uses your custom initrd instead of the standard one. I'm not sure what "vga=791" does, or why the ramdisk is set to 1gb. It also pulls a custom hostname and sets the screen to 1024x768.

    Then it runs the custom knoppix.sh file in /dev/hda1. I even see the part where you merge in the "vmware-tool" cusomization from /mnt/hda1/boot/vm_....tgz I'm not sure what HGFS is, but that seems to fail. Interestingly enough, when it initializes the X server with the vmware video card to 1024x768 max, but when X starts up it starts iwth some HUGE resolution (2048x1500 or something). I can't figure that part out.
    "ramdisk_size=100000" and "vga=791" are from the original isolinux.cfg file on the original Knoppix cdrom.
    hostname is one of my add-on in my custom initrd and the "screen=1024x768" parameter is useless
    since overrided by the vm tools. (Resolution is defined by the vmware tools configuration script)
    hgfs is created in /mnt by the vmware tools setup to store the shared directories (between host and guest).
    The vmware tools configuration script creates a new xorg.conf (X11 config file) which I have setup for
    the max resolution since vmware allows for an easy window shrink (especially in full screen mode)
    but not to enlarge if a small screen size has been previously defined. Since I like the option to use
    a large screen (in full screen mode) I had to select the largest screen size as a default...
    This problem will be solved in the new upcoming vmware workstation 6.0 since it will allow to limit the maximum
    guest screen resolution by a parameter in the vmware config file and as such can now be very easily customized.
    BTW, my Knoppix 5.2 zip file is already using this feature and can be used with the "freely downloadable"
    release candidate of vmware workstation 6.0.

    Quote Originally Posted by skisteven1
    At this point -- everything works as it should, including vmware tools. The problem is that if I try to make configuration changes (like, say, changing the screen resolution in Xorg down to 1024x768 or something), and save that using either of knoppix's built-in methods for saving settings -- it totally mucks up your stuff, and vmware tools doesn't integrate properly on the next reboot.

    I wonder, how much do you know about the way that knoppix does persistent settings (it has two built-in methods)? I wonder if there is a way to make the knoppix-style changes at the same time, or BEFORE your knoppix.sh script makes changes. As long as your changes come 2nd, it should be ok (i think).

    Do you have any thoughts or ideas on the subject? Any ideas why the screen resolution of X starts off so funky? is that just me or everyone?

    Thanks,
    Steven
    As I wrote previously, it is probably best not to use both mechanism at the same time.
    I basically let Knoppix create a new root file system including the /etc and /home/knoppix directories
    and I overwrite (thanks to the UnionFS) the files modified by the vmware tools install using a compact gzip file.
    The persistent approach is quite different in the sense that it will use the knoppix.sh script to "mount" the persistent
    /home/knoppix user directory and merge the custom system settings in the /etc.

    So the way I would try it would be to create a persistent image after having booted from my Knoppix vm
    and modify the knoppix.sh script (or use an original one created by Knoppix outside the vm context) in order to load
    the persistent image instead uncompressing my zip file which would override the changes made in the persistent file.
    If you use the persistent mount after my vm.tgz it would drop the vmware tools settings changes.
    What I just suggested is basically equivalent to unzip (once only) the content of my vm.tgz into your persistent image.
    (which is by the way exactly the inverse of what I used to create my gzip file from a persistent image
    after having installed the vmware tools from a clean Knoppix cd boot within a brand new vm with a hdd)

    Now if your problem is only the default screen size, I would suggest you to just edit the /etc/x11/xorg.conf file
    included in my /mnt/hda1/boot/vm.tgz file in order to permanently change the default screen resolution.

    Hope this helps,
    Gilles

  6. #526
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ruymbeke
    As I wrote previously, it is probably best not to use both mechanism at the same time.
    I basically let Knoppix create a new root file system including the /etc and /home/knoppix directories
    and I overwrite (thanks to the UnionFS) the files modified by the vmware tools install using a compact gzip file.
    The persistent approach is quite different in the sense that it will use the knoppix.sh script to "mount" the persistent
    /home/knoppix user directory and merge the custom system settings in the /etc.

    So the way I would try it would be to create a persistent image after having booted from my Knoppix vm
    and modify the knoppix.sh script (or use an original one created by Knoppix outside the vm context) in order to load
    the persistent image instead uncompressing my zip file which would override the changes made in the persistent file.
    If you use the persistent mount after my vm.tgz it would drop the vmware tools settings changes.
    What I just suggested is basically equivalent to unzip (once only) the content of my vm.tgz into your persistent image.
    (which is by the way exactly the inverse of what I used to create my gzip file from a persistent image
    after having installed the vmware tools from a clean Knoppix cd boot within a brand new vm with a hdd)
    Gilles,

    How exactly did you go about producing your tgz file to modify the UNIONFS? You said that you did it by recording modifications to the filesystem after installing vmware tools to a clean knoppix install -- but not through what method you did that. My thoughts are that I might be able to use the very same method to make more changes and simply update the tgz file. Additionally, i'd like to reset the homedirectory for the knoppix user to be at /dev/hda1/homes/ . I think that by doing that (perhaps via symlinks?) most of the changes on a day to day basis would NOT have to be added to your tgz file. Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Steven

  7. #527
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by skisteven1
    How exactly did you go about producing your tgz file to modify the UNIONFS? You said that you did it by recording modifications to the filesystem after installing vmware tools to a clean knoppix install -- but not through what method you did that. My thoughts are that I might be able to use the very same method to make more changes and simply update the tgz file. Additionally, i'd like to reset the homedirectory for the knoppix user to be at /dev/hda1/homes/ . I think that by doing that (perhaps via symlinks?) most of the changes on a day to day basis would NOT have to be added to your tgz file. Any suggestions?
    Hi Steven,
    It is built-in the Unionfs: by definition no file changes can be stored within the iso file nor the hdd since they are mounted as read only,
    so the data changes have to be stored into the only writable media available which is the ramdisk. So if you get the ramdisk content,
    remove the unwanted files (as temporary files, or files re-created at boot time) and make a tgz file of it that you will load at boot time,
    you should more or less have it... I would guess that you most likely can use a symlink (created in the knoppix.sh script)
    to redirect the the Knoppix home directory to your local hdd.
    Hope this helps,
    Gilles

  8. #528
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668

    Vmware worksta 6 + player 2 (45731) for Knoppix 5.1.1 + 5.2

    Hello,
    Please find below the new VmWare Workstation 6.0.0 or Player 2.0.0 (build 45731) virtual machines for:
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/vmk511_45731.zip Knoppix 5.1.1 (no persistence)
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/vmk520_45731.zip Knoppix 5.2.0 (no persistence)
    http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/866 (VmWare appliances listing link)
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=114363#114363 (vm for VMWare Server 1.0.3 build 44356)
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=113141#113141 (with prog & data persistence)

    Have fun, and please provide some feedback...
    Gilles

    MD5 & size of the files:
    eb54a7cc3f36e2c1d0008e3bbed26e34 *vmk511_45731.zip (10'031'566)
    8e47a0d41e64e907cf971e40577b560c *vmk520_45731.zip (9'650'467)

    Old vm links for reference:
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=112830#112830
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=110240#110240
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=110103#110103
    http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/662
    http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/554

    PS: In order to change the maximum screen size please edit the following text lines of the vmx file:
    (since the edit display config menu is not accessible from winthin the vmware player)
    svga.maxWidth = "640" "800" "1024" "1280" "1280" "1600"
    svga.maxHeight= "480" "600" "768" "1024" "1200" "1200"
    svga.vramSize = "1228800" "1920000" "3145728" "5242880" "6144000" "7680000"

  9. #529
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Hi there,

    first of all thx for this vm Gilles. I ve followed this threat as an observer for some time, now im ready for a few questions...
    My goal is to use ur appliance and install a few programms and of course save my config (Home).
    Ideally id like to write a persistent home to hda1, which is read only.
    1. Any chance to change that? i tried to add a "rw" for hda1 into the fstab but im not sure if the change actually survived a reboot.

    2. What u said last about putting the ramdisk into tgz: do i only have to change the line in knoppix.sh that loads the vm4xxxx.tgz? And which knoppix.sh should i change, there 2 of them? (one in / and one in boot)

    thx for the help
    Jeff

  10. #530
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668

    Vmware (45731) for Knoppix 5.1.1 + 5.2 with persistent data

    Hello,
    To respond to a strong request of persistence of data with Knoppix running as a guest under vmware
    I had to give it a try ... So please use it at your own risk and provide feedback ...
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/vmk511_45731p2.zip Knoppix 5.1.1 with persistence
    http://s94002264.onlinehome.us/grub/vmk520_45731p2.zip Knoppix 5.2.0 with persistence
    http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/866 (VmWare appliances listing link)
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=113100#113100 (previous vm link)
    Have fun (and do not forget to make a clean shutdown since you now have persistence...)
    Gilles

    MD5 & size of the files:
    754a074adbd70b99da9eaec50b1040a3 *Vmk511_45731p2.zip (10'071'232)
    cab57232ccd71d566190a8ef0c8b3412 *vmk520_45731p2.zip (9'677'762)

    PS: The persistent data (home & config) deltas from the default are now saved in a separate disk hdb1.
    Please do not write into hdb1 directly since it is handled by the unionfs and may lead into data corruption.
    Just use the system normally: /home/knoppix, /etc, /usr/ /var, ... (but not /media/hdb1 nor /mnt/hdb1)
    If for some reason the data on sdb1 gets corrupted, just remove all the files as a super user (su)
    (except your valuable data of course) and reboot. Knoppix should rebuild the missing info for you...
    Using the built-in precedence of the unionfs (persistent_disk=rw, ramdisk_autodetection=ro, Knoppix_iso=ro),
    I tried to leverage the powerfull Knoppix hw autodetection with the persistence of the customisation (done by the user).
    BTW, this is something that Klaus may consider even without vmware...

    PS2: I updated the Knoppix 5.1.1 & 5.2.0 vm link to the latest update, cf:
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=113174#113174
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...=113213#113213

Page 53 of 71 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boot Knoppix 3.3 from HDD using Grub for NTFS
    By sandricionut in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2005, 03:28 PM
  2. grub boot loader read the boot file from a windows partition
    By cli168 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 03:57 AM
  3. Hdd-install and grub boot??
    By Ish Rattan in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2004, 10:31 PM
  4. Grub/lilo boot problems
    By madape in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 10:07 AM
  5. Boot cd with lilo or grub boot disk
    By keava in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-20-2003, 05:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •