Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: clusterKnoppix -- How to?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4

    clusterKnoppix -- How to?

    Can anyone give some advice to a cluster nubie? i have looked for instructions on how to setup a simple cluster..... 2 pc's.

    From CD not HD install.

    1. I boot the first pc, run the Start KNOPPIX Openmosix Terminal Server.
    2. Go through the setup, and start the server.
    3. Boot the second pc via pxe, boots great, all works.
    4. Open Openmosixview to only find one pc in the display window? It only shows the local machine not the other pc.
    5. What am I missing?

    Thanks in advance.
    Ryan

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    The easiest way I found to do this is to burn several clusterKNOPPIX CDs and boot them on several PCs on a LAN. This creates several nodes that can interoperate and already see eachother. Just run openmosixviewer in a shell to see all your nodes (from any of the nodes). BTW, I can't run LTSP because of a Wimpdoze DHCP server on the same LAN....

    To test the automagical load balancing of the openMOSIX kernel, run Kandel from one node and watch the processes auto-migrate to other nodes on the openmosixviewer. The first time I tried this with clusterKNOPPIX it actually did not work. I've been using Quantian that's based on clusterKNOPPIX lately and it works fine!

    I've had up to 25 nodes each running a PIV 2.6 GHz with about 800MB RAM each. Thats like one PC running a 65GHz processor with 20GB RAM!

    Good Luck,
    AJG

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    67
    I have two machines connected in a local LAN and the newer machine also has a ethernet card through a cable modem to the internet.
    When I just booted them with the CD they didn't find each other.
    Here's what I did - it might help you.
    Boot both machines with the ClusterKnoppix CD.
    On the new machine configure the local connection first (things go wrong if the cable modem is done first). I forget the precise IP number that is used by default but call it X.Y.Z.1
    I accepted that default number and all the other defaults. Then I configured the cable modem connection (as DHCP).
    Then as root execute:
    omdiscd -i eth0
    where eth0 (or eth1 etc.) is the name of the connection.

    Now on the old machine I configured its ethernet card. The default IP number is again X.Y.Z.1 and I changed it to X.Y.Z.2, accepted all the other defaults and then executed:
    omdiscd -i eth0

    Now they could both see each other and processes would migrate and if you save the configuration on each machine and boot up with myconfig=scan they'll come up next time without needed to be configured.
    It was really cool seeing the processes migrate. In 1982 I did my M.Sc thesis on process migration and it was nowhere as easy to do then.

    Best Wishes
    Pete

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Oh, really? That sounds familiar. In 1984 I completed my Masters of Engineering at Cornell University where my final project had to do with process migration too! What a small world. All I remember about it was massive amounts of code in C....

    Regards,
    AJG

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks everyone, got it working. Is there a way to centralize storage space?
    Thanks
    Ryan

  6. #6
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    All I remember about it was massive amounts of code in C....
    .... and a PDP-11/23 connected to a PDP-11/70 via a 9600 baud terminal line.
    Those were the days

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan
    Is there a way to centralize storage space?
    I haven't played with it very much but the filesystem on each machine is visible to the others through a directory called (I think) /mfs under which is the processor ID (the last digit (N) of the IP number x.y.z.N). It contains directories /mfs/0, /mfs/1 etc.
    I presume you could make node zero the one with all the disk space and then code your programs to access databases or whatever in /mfs/0/. When/if they are migrated they will all still be referencing the central disk space. There are probably better ways though.

    Best Wishes
    Pete

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    That would be PDP 11/780s....

    Anyway, if you are using knoppix-installer to make a hdinstalled node to save your work, you need to set-up the mfs direectories by hand. See the clusterKNOPPIX site for more info as I forget the exact details. I have one such node based on QUANTIAN in my lab.

    Enjoy,
    AJG

  8. #8
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by el_supremo
    .... and a PDP-11/23 connected to a PDP-11/70 via a 9600 baud terminal line.
    Those were the days
    Oh ! how can you revive "souvenirs" . I still have in my head the
    image of daniel Taupin (the guy who wrote 'almost alone' at the beginning the "algol68 compiler" )modifying the 1m2 switching
    board of the huge printer-peripheral of the ibm650 filled with double triodes to be changed almost every 1O hours ...
    10mhz fast transistors were Ge 1N1143,2N511...(mobility coefficient of course)and 3cm X band with Varian,Thomson klystrons !!!!That was in the sixties !!PDP did not exist yet !

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    That would be PDP 11/780s....
    No. It was a PDP-11/70. The 11/780 was a VAX - the first one I think.

    Quote Originally Posted by wangji
    ibm650 filled with double triodes to be changed almost every 1O hours
    I sorted punched cards for a LEO computer in England. MTBF was measured in hours - and not many of them either

    Best Wishes
    Pete

  10. #10
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    44
    how do you boot a pc usinga network card that is pxe capable/

    what exactly do you ahve to do in clusterknoppix?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. using clusterKnoppix
    By knight28974 in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 08:34 PM
  2. ClusterKnoppix
    By rvg in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 10:33 PM
  3. hd install clusterknoppix
    By plener in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 01:53 AM
  4. ClusterKnoppix problum
    By gordonzero in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2004, 01:08 AM
  5. ClusterKnoppix install
    By deathmas in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 08:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
16 GB G USB 2.0 Cartoon Model Flash Memory Stick Drive Pen Thumb U Disk UKB01
$0.99
16 GB G USB 2.0 Cartoon Model Flash Memory Stick Drive Pen Thumb U Disk UKB01 pictureKingston 128GB DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 128G USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3 +L
$72.15
Kingston 128GB DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 128G USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3 +L picture256GB USB 2.0 Silver Metal Swivel Key Chain High Speed Flash Drive Memory Stick
$20.0
256GB USB 2.0 Silver Metal Swivel Key Chain High Speed Flash Drive Memory Stick pictureKingston 128GB DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 128G USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3
$71.95
Kingston 128GB DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 128G USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3 pictureKingston 64GB 64G DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3 + Ly
$33.15
Kingston 64GB 64G DataTraveler 101 DT101 G3 USB 3.0 Flash Pen Drive DT101G3 + Ly picture