Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: running knoppix from a jas disk instead of a CD, possible?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2

    running knoppix from a jas disk instead of a CD, possible?

    Hi,
    I am thinking to use a jaz drive to run knoppix which is supposed to be on a jaz disk. Do you think this is automaticly work or some configurations are needed or knoppix has to be run only from a CD. Has any one experienced this?
    Best regards, Ramin

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    199
    my guess is that it is possible, as long as the jas drive is above the hard drive in boot order. give it a shot.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Northridge, California
    Posts
    48

    JAZ

    If the JAZ is an IDE drive or picked up by bios, I would say yes. If it is 1 gb, you probably can put the iso on it and use knx-persistent home for part of it.

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Aachen, Europe
    Posts
    85

    Re: JAZ

    Quote Originally Posted by zzyzx
    If it is 1 gb, you probably can put the iso
    How to boot an iso?
    Only way I found is to mount -o loop the iso and copy the iso-content
    to hd. But it this is working, see:
    http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/FaqHdBased
    Feedback, corrections and addings about this wiki-page are wellcome!

    Greetings
    rob

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2
    This is a 2GB scsi jas drive. I am thinking to have knoppix on one disk and carry it around when on trip and boot from it when i need Linux. installing knoppix like a linux distribution on a HD is clearly not a choice as different computers have different hardwares and configuration. This misses the whole point of knoppix. Then using the rest of the disk for storage (like /home)
    if i need to save a file until i am back home.
    Regards, Ramin

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    If possible you will need to partition the disk into 2 partitions and put the iso on the first partition, then you should be able to mount the second partition read/write and save to it. If you just try and use one partition knoppix assumes you are running from a read-only cd media and you will not be able to write to the rest of the disk.

    rock

Similar Threads

  1. Running Knoppix
    By Skaman in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2004, 01:39 AM
  2. Running Knoppix off of the cd....
    By marcmdm in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-30-2004, 03:01 PM
  3. Knoppix not running right
    By linuxknewb in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2004, 05:37 PM
  4. Running Knoppix in without the X Server running....
    By Raineri in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 10:46 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2003, 05:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •