Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Saving settings to a floppy

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    5

    Saving settings to a floppy

    How do you do that!? I hate having to keep resetting my settings after each boot

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    OK, just click on the big "K" on the left of the task bar. Then click on KNOPPIX and then on save config to floppy (or something like that). This creates a shell script called knoppix.sh on your floppy which is read upon boot-up with the cheat code: "knoppix floppyconfig."

    I did this with a boot floppy, knopix.sh fit just fine! It has to be a linux formatted disk.

    Good Luck!

    Regards,

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan USA
    Posts
    199

    RE: Saving settings to a floppy

    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    It has to be a Linux formatted disk.
    Actually an MS-DOS-formatted floppy works just fine...

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    You can make a boot floppy from an MS-DOS formatted disk since rawrite rewrites the whole disk in linux format.

    To use "knoppix floppyconfig" the knoppix.sh file must be on a linux formatted disk as you're running a shell script (*.sh). This is why I use a boot disk as these are the only linux formatted disks I have....

    Regards,

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan USA
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    You can make a boot floppy from an MS-DOS formatted disk since rawrite rewrites the whole disk in linux format.

    To use "knoppix floppyconfig" the knoppix.sh file must be on a linux formatted disk as you're running a shell script (*.sh). This is why I use a boot disk as these are the only linux formatted disks I have....
    As I said before, an MS-DOS-formatted floppy works just fine for storing configuration files -- I'm not talking about boot disks. This fact allowed me to copy my Mozilla bookmarks from Windows to my Knoppix configuration floppy and take it to a friend's house so I could maintain my environment on his system -- it worked, that's what matters. I'm sure that's why KFloppy supports MS-type floppy formatting.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Relax, man, I'm just trying to answer the original question. You CAN save ANY linux file (text) to an MS formatted disk. The original question had to do with saving settings and getting them back on boot-up, right?

    Peace,

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan USA
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by A. Jorge Garcia
    Relax, man, I'm just trying to answer the original question. You CAN save ANY linux file (text) to an MS formatted disk. The original question had to do with saving settings and getting them back on boot-up, right?
    Yes, and that's the question I answered. One of the problems with written communication is that subtlties can be lost. I didn't mean to sound TOO forceful, I just wanted to be understood... Knoppix settings can be saved to -- and retrieved at boot from -- an MS-DOS-formatted disk; that was my message.

Similar Threads

  1. saving settings
    By punkpaddy in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 08:45 AM
  2. saving settings
    By ankit in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2003, 03:23 AM
  3. Aumix not saving settings?
    By JockVSJock in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2003, 06:11 PM
  4. saving settings on floppy disk
    By tyiooo in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2003, 04:13 PM
  5. Saving settings to a URL?
    By true1ever in forum Ideas
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-13-2003, 02:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 2.4GHz =28 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45

$394.00



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$256.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330 picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330

$182.65



Dell Poweredge R630 Server 2x E5-2620 V4 =16 Cores | S130 | 32GB RAM | 2x trays picture

Dell Poweredge R630 Server 2x E5-2620 V4 =16 Cores | S130 | 32GB RAM | 2x trays

$171.99



Dell PowerEdge R220 - Xeon E3-1220 v3 @3.10GHz | 8GB RAM | 500GB Storage picture

Dell PowerEdge R220 - Xeon E3-1220 v3 @3.10GHz | 8GB RAM | 500GB Storage

$50.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$247.00



Dell PowerEdge T430 Server w/ Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 & 1100W PSU (2X) - NO RAM picture

Dell PowerEdge T430 Server w/ Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 & 1100W PSU (2X) - NO RAM

$314.99



Dell PowerEdge R420 2 2.5 6C,16GB,8TB,RAID5,IDRAC7 ENT,2PSU picture

Dell PowerEdge R420 2 2.5 6C,16GB,8TB,RAID5,IDRAC7 ENT,2PSU

$150.00



Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB picture

Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB

$334.99



Dell Poweredge R730xd 2x E5-2660 v3 2.6ghz  / 64gb / H730 / 24x Trays / 2x 750w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 2x E5-2660 v3 2.6ghz / 64gb / H730 / 24x Trays / 2x 750w

$344.99