Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: So close yet so far... Internet question

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    35

    So close yet so far... Internet question

    Firstly I'd like to say thankyou to all those who have helped me before, I am getting pretty good at this.
    I am become a decent linux user slowly but surely I will get there. [getting a old Idiot's Guide to Linux and RedHat book has helped some, circa 1995. most of it still appiles]

    Anyways, my internet problem is that is "phases out" after abit of none use, like while I am working on a text file or playing a game of Pingus[tracked that down and installed it myself, along with FireFox] Go me!

    This also happens right after I switch to Linux from my WindowsXP. The only think that seems to work to get me back online it when I unplug the router for abit and plug it in again.

    [EDIT] And while I typed this is phased out too.

    Here is my stats on the network where I get my internet.
    Linksys Router 1 W/ FireWall
    Uplinked to Linksysrouter 2 W/O FireWall
    To my PC.
    My ISP has Dynamic IP. [Cable Modem, Charter, speed 786mb]
    I think and this is pure guess is that it's not quite set up to reaquire the connection under the new IP it's given.
    And this is my Config file for /etc/network/interface.
    Code:
    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
    
    # The loopback interface
    # automatically added when upgrading
    auto lo eth0
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    Thankou for you time and help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    You need to run network card configuration. I believe you havent done that since your /etc/neteork/interfaces is empty.

  3. #3
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    35
    I can't run it, it's not there anymore, I updated and upgraded it to the current testing release.

    If it was that I would have not asked, that was the second thing I checked.

    How do I do it manuelly?[sp?]

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    Get knoppix-netcardconfig from here:
    http://developer.linuxtag.net/knoppix/sources/

Similar Threads

  1. Gateway Solo 2500 knoppix internet question
    By mwdowns in forum Laptops
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-31-2005, 08:22 PM
  2. How to close port 68?
    By vtechstu in forum Networking
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2004, 10:56 PM
  3. how to close Xserver for nvidia?
    By o0oO in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2004, 02:13 AM
  4. Why does xine close?
    By rrfish72 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2004, 01:07 PM
  5. Programs won't close!!!!
    By computerkid14 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2003, 01:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •