Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: HD-install with knoppix-installer without lilo ????????

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    4

    HD-install with knoppix-installer without lilo ????????

    I have two harddisk´s. The first is my production-XP and the second is a 3.2Gb empty for knoppix.

    I want to install knoppix with knoppix-installer (3.4), but i dont want to install the lilo-bootmanager. I dont wanna change any entry on my production-xp-harddisk. How can i install knoppix on the second harddisk and how can i include the linux partition in my boot.ini?

    mfg No

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Maybe you can make your KNOPPIX hdd be your primary boot disk and run lilo from there?

    HTH,
    AJG

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    568
    There are different ways to do it, but one I like is to use the "GRUB for Windows" from a linux distro called Topologilinux. (In a nutshell, it's a Slackware-based distro that's meant to run from a couple of large files on your NTFS partition, rather than its own hard disk partitions.)

    You can get it by either downloading the first ISO of the 2-CD set, or getting the grubinstall-1.0.zip file from here.

    Couple things missing from the zip file that you get on the CD: a sample "menu.lst" that you can modify, and an "install.bat" file to install the thing.

    It can be used to dual-boot WinXP with any Linux distro (I've used it to dual-boot Red Hat/WinXP and Knoppix/WinXP) and it doesn't muck with your MBR. If you're interested, I can post more info.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Posts
    1,256
    Quote Originally Posted by eco2geek
    There are different ways to do it, but one I like is to use the "GRUB for Windows" from a linux distro called Topologilinux. (In a nutshell, it's a Slackware-based distro that's meant to run from a couple of large files on your NTFS partition, rather than its own hard disk partitions.)
    Ah, reminds me of the good ol' days of zipslack and BigSlack! Those were the days.

    Regards,
    AJG

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900

    Re: HD-install with knoppix-installer without lilo ????????

    Quote Originally Posted by fritschi
    I have two harddisk´s. The first is my production-XP and the second is a 3.2Gb empty for knoppix.

    I want to install knoppix with knoppix-installer (3.4), but i dont want to install the lilo-bootmanager. I dont wanna change any entry on my production-xp-harddisk. How can i install knoppix on the second harddisk and how can i include the linux partition in my boot.ini?

    mfg No
    Well you have to install a boot loader. The trick is where! Just install lilo to partition (not mbr) and it won't touch your existing boot loader.

Similar Threads

  1. 3.3 HD install via knoppix-installer (partition problems)
    By Kumagoro in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2005, 04:26 AM
  2. cannot hdd install /w knoppix-installer
    By rushman8282 in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 03:38 AM
  3. Wrong MBR for Lilo when using koppix 3.7 HD installer script
    By devellino in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2004, 03:16 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2004, 04:55 PM
  5. knoppix-installer: debian vs knoppix install? which one?
    By torchZ06 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 06:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


SAS - HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724040ALA640 0F14688 3.5

SAS - HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724040ALA640 0F14688 3.5" 4TB 7.2K RPM 64MB HDD

$19.99



HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5

HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HARD DRIVE ZERO HOURS

$52.00



Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5" (Low Power) Hard Drive -PC, CCTV DVR

$24.99



WD 4TB Gold Enterprise - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB CACHE 3.5

WD 4TB Gold Enterprise - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB CACHE 3.5" HDD - WD4002FYYZ

$42.95



HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5

HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5" Enterprise HDD- HUH721212ALE601

$74.99



Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB SATA 6Gb/s 256MB 7200RPM 3.5

Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB SATA 6Gb/s 256MB 7200RPM 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive

$99.99



1TB HDD/SSD 2.5

1TB HDD/SSD 2.5" SATA Hard Drive with Windows 10 or Windows 11 Pro Installed

$13.55



Seagate Exos X20 18TB SATA 6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate Exos X20 18TB SATA 6Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive - ST18000NM003D

$168.00



Hitachi 4TB 3.5

Hitachi 4TB 3.5" Hard Drive HUS724040ALE640 Ultrastar 7K4000 Internal 7.2K

$49.95



Western Digital Gold Enterprise 4TB,7200 RPM Internal Hard Disk Drive WD4002FYYZ picture

Western Digital Gold Enterprise 4TB,7200 RPM Internal Hard Disk Drive WD4002FYYZ

$39.95