Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: Zip Drive - Where is it?

  1. #21
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    root@1[knoppix]# modprobe usb-storage
    root@1[knoppix]# sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 240 heads, 63 sectors, 10587 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 597 10586 75524400 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 10587 10587 7560 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/hda3 1 596 4505728+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda5 10587 10587 7528+ 82 Linux swap

    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t msdos /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device

    I have to do this with every one of my drives. dvd,cd,floppy,zip, and get my scanner to work. So far I have dvd,cd working. Your help is appreciated with this zip issue.

    root@1[knoppix]# modprobe imm
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t msdos /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 already mounted or /mnt/zip busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/sda4 is already mounted on /mnt/zip

    I guess that is good. Now here is what I get when I try to read the disc:

    Access denied to /mnt/zip

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    root@1[knoppix]# mount -t msdos /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 already mounted or /mnt/zip busy
    mount: according to mtab, /dev/sda4 is already mounted on /mnt/zip
    This looks promising. I'd say vfat worked there since it errored out when you tried the second command.

    Type mount to see whats mounted and how.
    How are you trying to access it, cd /mnt/zip should work
    Do also:
    chmod 770 /mnt/zip
    chgrp disk /mnt/zip

    And check that your user is in the group disk by typing groups as user, if not, do:
    adduser rrfish72 disk

  3. #23
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    root@2[knoppix]# mount
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    /proc on /proc type proc (rw,nodiratime)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /sys on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    automount(pid1041) on /mnt/auto type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1041,minproto=2,maxproto=4)
    /dev/hda1 on /mnt/hda1 type ntfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,umask=000,uid=1000,gid=1000)
    /dev/sda4 on /mnt/zip type vfat (rw)

    root@2[knoppix]# chmod 770 /mnt/zip
    root@2[knoppix]# chgrp disk /mnt/zip
    chgrp: changing group of `/mnt/zip': Operation not permitted
    root@2[knoppix]# su chgrp disk /mnt/zip
    Unknown id: chgrp
    root@2[knoppix]# groups
    root knoppix

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by rrfish72
    root@2[knoppix]# mount
    /dev/sda4 on /mnt/zip type vfat (rw)
    It's mounted ok so try cd /mnt/zip

    root@2[knoppix]# chgrp disk /mnt/zip
    chgrp: changing group of `/mnt/zip': Operation not permitted
    Try unmounting first with umount /mnt/zip , might as well change the group to floppy instead of disk, my bad. So: chgrp floppy /mnt/zip

    root@2[knoppix]# su chgrp disk /mnt/zip
    Unknown id: chgrp
    Doesn't work that way, you're already root, besides as user you can do sudo command, not su command

    root@2[knoppix]# groups
    root knoppix
    Do groups as user, not root.

  5. #25
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    knoppix@4[knoppix]$ groups
    knoppix root disk mail dialout fax voice cdrom floppy tape sudo audio dip www-data backup video games users usb scanner captive

    knoppix@4[knoppix]$ chgrp floppy /mnt/zip
    chgrp: changing group of `/mnt/zip': Operation not permitted

    root@2[zip]# adduser knoppix floppy
    The user `knoppix' is already a member of `floppy'.

    root@2[root]# umount /mnt/zip

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Your user shouldn't be part of the root group, if you feel more comfortable with using a GUI you can use kuser to set groups for your user.
    Or do: deluser knoppix root (be a bit careful with the deluser command as it can delete a user and his homedirectory when used wrongly)

    After umounting you can again check with mount that the zip is no longer mounted, then try with chgrp floppy /mnt/zip (this you have to do as root)

    When done, try mounting again: mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    And try to access it or list it: cd /mnt/zip or ll /mnt/zip

  7. #27
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    After doing modprobe imm and mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip then does it show up as being mounted. Here is what was done again to get it mounted:

    root@0[knoppix]# mount
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    /proc on /proc type proc (rw,nodiratime)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /sys on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    automount(pid1044) on /mnt/auto type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1044,minproto=2,maxproto=4)
    /dev/hda1 on /mnt/hda1 type ntfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,umask=000,uid=1000,gid=1000)
    root@0[knoppix]# chgrp floppy /mnt/zip
    root@0[knoppix]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device
    root@0[knoppix]# cd /mnt/zip
    root@0[zip]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device
    root@0[zip]# ll /mnt/zip
    total 0
    root@0[zip]# modprobe imm
    root@0[zip]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip
    root@0[zip]# mount
    /dev/hda3 on / type ext3 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
    /proc on /proc type proc (rw,nodiratime)
    /dev/pts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    /sys on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    /proc/bus/usb on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw,devmode=0666)
    automount(pid1044) on /mnt/auto type autofs (rw,fd=4,pgrp=1044,minproto=2,maxproto=4)
    /dev/hda1 on /mnt/hda1 type ntfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,umask=000,uid=1000,gid=1000)
    /dev/sda4 on /mnt/zip type vfat (rw)

    Not sure about the deluser thing yet. Do I deluser knoppix root when I'm in root? Don't quite understand the group and user thing. What is that setting? Permissions.

    After it is mounted:

    root@0[zip]# ll /mnt/zip
    total 4
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root 4079 Feb 15 1995 readme.txt

    Can you walk me through the deluser? I added ithe modprobe imm to that boot.sh file here:

    # Save kernel messages in /var/log/dmesg
    #
    dmesg > /var/log/dmesg
    # This was added by Ryan
    modprob imm
    Is this correct

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by rrfish72
    Not sure about the deluser thing yet. Do I deluser knoppix root when I'm in root? Don't quite understand the group and user thing. What is that setting? Permissions.
    You do it as root, but if you're unsure of it, use kuser for it as it's a risky thing to use. Different groups have different access rights and permissions, also a users access rights depends on which groups he belongs to, root always has access to everything. Therefore a user shouldn't be part of the root group.

    After it is mounted:

    root@0[zip]# ll /mnt/zip
    total 4
    -rwxr--r-- 1 root root 4079 Feb 15 1995 readme.txt
    If that's all there is on it, you just managed to access it. Now you can start adding the line to fstab.

    I added ithe modprobe imm to that boot.sh file here:

    # Save kernel messages in /var/log/dmesg
    #
    dmesg > /var/log/dmesg
    # This was added by Ryan
    modprob imm
    Is this correct
    AFAICT thats correct once you've changed the modprob to modprobe ("e" missing), you could also try doing insmod usb-storage while it seems to be needed, and hopefully it's loaded after a reboot, check with lsmod.

  9. #29
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    Does not show up after reboot.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Well, it's the knoppix style install again recreating your files, don't know much about that type of install, so let's try to get your CD drives working first and go from there.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Permanent home onto Sandisk USB flash drive ruined drive
    By mjman in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-25-2004, 09:46 PM
  2. How to copy an NTFS drive to another NTFS drive
    By Bothersome in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 10:53 PM
  3. Hard Drive Salvage from corrupted Windows XP NTFS drive
    By kidsatacrux in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 07:41 AM
  4. Replace default cd home drive with persistant home drive ???
    By ktheking in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-02-2004, 09:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5

HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5" Enterprise HDD- HUH721212ALE601

$82.99



HGST Ultrastar HE10 HUH721010ALE600 10TB SATA 6Gb/s 7200RPM 3.5

HGST Ultrastar HE10 HUH721010ALE600 10TB SATA 6Gb/s 7200RPM 3.5" Enterprise HDD

$78.99



Western Digital  RED NASware 3.0 WD40EFRX 4 TB SATA III 3.5 in NAS HARD DRIVE picture

Western Digital RED NASware 3.0 WD40EFRX 4 TB SATA III 3.5 in NAS HARD DRIVE

$99.99



WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14TB SATA 6G 3.5

WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14TB SATA 6G 3.5" 7200RPM Enterprise HDD - WUH721414ALE604

$112.00



Seagate Exos 7E10 ST2000NM000B 2TB 7200RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5

Seagate Exos 7E10 ST2000NM000B 2TB 7200RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

$29.99



HP 4TB 3.5

HP 4TB 3.5" 12Gb/s 7.2K SAS Hard Drive P/N: 793674-001 / 803634-001 / 695597-004

$15.74



SEAGATE ST1000DM003 1TB SATA 3.5”HARD DRIVE  picture

SEAGATE ST1000DM003 1TB SATA 3.5”HARD DRIVE

$11.19



1TB HDD/SSD 2.5

1TB HDD/SSD 2.5" SATA Hard Drive for Laptop with Win 10/Win 11 Pro Pre-installed

$18.99



WD HDD Ultrastar DC HC520 HUH721212AL4205 12TB 3.5

WD HDD Ultrastar DC HC520 HUH721212AL4205 12TB 3.5" SAS Server Hard Disk Drive

$45.31



8TB Seagate Archive SATA 3.5

8TB Seagate Archive SATA 3.5" HDD Hard Drive 100% Healthy 200MB/s ST8000AS0002

$36.54