Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DVD toram(For 2gb DISC Klaus sez 3GB req"d in ram)

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305

    DVD toram(For 2gb DISC Klaus sez 3GB req"d in ram)

    Have 2.5GB of ram.

    When attempting DVD toram...receive error message..no space in device.

    Cannot boot a 2GB DVD in 2.5GB of ram....

    Why?

    Perhaps the cheatcode means just what it says: TORAM FROMCD

    This doesn't say: TORAM FROMDVD.......

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    297

    Re: DVD toram

    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    Have 2.5GB of ram.

    When attempting DVD toram...receive error message..no space in device.

    Cannot boot a 2GB DVD in 2.5GB of ram....

    Why?
    It could have helped if you had given the _real_ error message ...

    There are two possible. And depending on that I might perhaps have been able to say to you what did go wrong. It should work with DVD, so perhaps you should get some more RAM

    cu

    Fabian

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Thanks for reply, Fabianx...

    I submit the following data in support of my post:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Entered knoppix26 toram myconfig=scan at boot prompt.

    Boot proceeded to the following step:----------------------------------

    Accessing KNOPPIX CDROM at /dev/scd1
    Copying KNOPPIX CDROMto RAMDISK Please be patient linuxrc:/usr/bin/awk: not found
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    After several minutes, the complete array of entries from the dvd was printed at high speed with the format shown below for the data last printed
    on the screen:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    /bin/cp: writing'cdrom2/tools/webmin/updown.wbm': "no space left on device"

    the very last entry:
    /bin/cp: writing 'cdrom/tools/xamp/xamp-win32-1.4.21p': nospace left on device cloop unloaded.......................................... ...
    Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry
    Dropping you to a very limited shell
    Press reset button to quit

    Additional built in commands available:

    cat mount umount
    insmod rmmod lismod


    Knoppix#_

    I am unable to provide the _real_ output except by typing these statements and the complete listing of all the elements would take days...
    __________________________________________________ ____________

    I have previously entered : Knoppix26 fromhd toram.

    Please forgive me if I cannot give you the _real output. The result was much abbreviated stating that the elements of the KNOPPIX file couldf not be mounted for the same reason: no space left on device. These elements are the entire KNOPPIX folder elements each listed separately with the same result: no space left on device.

    __________________________________________________ ____________

    I would ask why the device involved is not identified for the user.?

    I would ask...what process is started in ..TORAM.. which would light the way to a solution to this problem?

    I submit that 2.5GB of ram is sufficient to enter a 2.181GB DVD disc, unless the process to load involves more than the 2.5GB available.

    If more is needed, can swap be used? If so, how much should be provided for the ...TORAM..process?

    Lotta ram ....lotta bucks!!!!

    __________________________________________________ _____________

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    297

    Version?

    Hi,

    which Version is this DVD based on?

    I imagine it must be a quite old version. E.g. 3.3 DVD ...

    You can get a never DVD based on Knoppix 3.6 @ http://iso-top.info/ (yes it costs some, but it should be worth it)

    cu

    Fabian

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Thanks for the info on the newer DVD.

    Mine is Knoppix3.4 cebit remastered downloaded June 8, 2004 and is 2.181GB in size.

    Don't know what is older and newer concerning this DVD.

    The post concerning it is maybe ten steps down the posting list in this forum.

    It performs in fromhd just fine.

    Don't get much information from the error message. Perhaps the TORAM cheat is not implemented in the DVD.

    Can the expert mode be used to establish TORAM?
    RAY

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Reflecting on the use of DVD+rw for the media disc, it may be that the +RW media cannot be used for TORAM install due to the "on the fly" decompression required by the knoppix program.

    Is there another media which will perform TORAM with a DVD disc or am I just blowing smoke??

  7. #7
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    35
    you need both the TORAM and FROMDVD options.
    TORAM copies the entire medium to a ramdisk,
    FROMDVD causes it to only copy the Knoppix file (compressed ISO) or the KNOPPIX directory, and not any other directories present

    I don't know if the Knoppix configuration script still has a hardcoded ramdisk limit. (800MB or 1GB I think, have to look it up).

    I'm lazy in testing Knoppix with TORAM though, as you need at least 800MB RAM or so for just the 695MB KNOPPIX file.
    and I only have 1GB, so I'm not trying this in VMware but am too lazy to burn a DVD-RW and try it for real.

    still have to play with Knoppix 3.6 first.
    However, does this filesystem on the ramdisk even support 2.0GB+ files?

    should not matter if Knoppix is on DVDRW.
    I burn the cdrom-version of Knoppix to DVDRW all the time (DVD 10-speed means at least 10MB/s when copying to RAM, cdrom 50-speed means only 6MB/s or so).

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Bernd;

    Your reply appreciated. I am wondering if I should use ...from hd.. would also function in place of .....fromdvd.... I have the DVD in my USB hard drive.

    I have been disconnected from the internet for a week due to plumbing changes in my home so I am just getting back together again.

    I have a suspicion I may have to remaster the remaster to lower the ram demand. Since the KnoppixCD requires 1GB to be entered in ram and the DVD is 2GB+ it would seem it requires 3GB of ram to function.

    In any case, upgrading to 3GB , while it may not be enough for the present remaster, it would require less program material to be removed in order that it perform in the ...toram...mode.

    In review of the cheatcode, I conclude that the Knoppix CD will enter into ram directly with the cheat code ...toram...

    My experience with the DVD disc is that it attempts to load to ram with the direct cheat code....knoppix26 toram....

    All the messages on screen indicate it has entered the ..TORAM ...loading.

    I will attempt the combo you mention....Knoppix26 toram fromDVD....however I see no particular change since it is reading from the DVD when the coding is entered at boot prompt.



    __________________________________________________ ___________

    When is a zero always equal to a one?

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    I have successfully booted the cebit DVD of 2.1GB TORAM using the cheat code TORAM.
    I did however have to replace the minirt26.gz in the DVD scripts with the Knoppix CD minirt26.gz in order to boot TORAM.

    I also provided a swap file of 2GB on a USB drive to enable more than the physical ram in the resultant virtual ram.

    My system has 3GB of ram so the total virtual ram is 5GB.

    The system resources display provided with the DVD verified the size of the useable ram as 5GB.

    The DVD boots to desktop in 8 minutes. Entry of adsl parameters is required.

    I would be pleased to receive suggestions as to why the DVD scripts do not permit TORAM boot.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with "toram" option with my remaster
    By Gromit in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 05:01 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 12:13 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 12:52 AM
  4. add "toram" arguments for /var and /usr/local
    By helmingstay in forum Ideas
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 02:00 AM
  5. "Connection Reset by Peer" or "hang"
    By oreo in forum General Support
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 06:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •