Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Lilo not booting and showing 99 99 99 99 99 99 99....

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536

    Lilo not booting and showing 99 99 99 99 99 99 99....

    After reinstalling knoppix v3.4 debian style now lilo will not run from the HD. If I want to boot into lilo I need to boot from the A: drive with the boot disk that was created at installation. I would like to restore the lilo configuration to change the lilo.conf file. I have changed it and ran lilo -v but it still does 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99.... To get into windows I need to boot from the same disc with the lilo ouput on it. It looks exactly like the lilo from the hd but its running from the floppy drive. It gets me there but I don't like the hassle of the disc in the drive and I can't change the boot options. Would like to change the timeout again..which I did but I am not booting from the hd so the boot disc takes over that option.

    Can I fix this without having to reinstall knoppix? I have read a post about working from the windows recovery console but was wondering if there is a different way so I can get to the linux partition/OS?

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    10
    I've found that if I press ctrl + Alt + Del on the 9999999 screen it goes through the next time it hits the LILO

    Bryan

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    I'll try it. It didn't work. Just loops around to the same thing.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    you must have not installed the lilo at the right place,form where the comp is reading the bootup sequence.
    if u r useing windiws also,try to reinstall lilo to the 1st partition of knoppix and use a bootloder to acces them
    otherwise install lilo on mbr...

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    How di I reinstall lilo to mbr?
    Could I just reformat and reinstall knoppix? I have xp in other partition and need to get to it. In the option when installing knoppix to place in mbr or in root folder or something like that I think I choose the latter what ever it was. Don't know why.

    Just reformatted and reinstalled. All is fine now.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem mutli-OS booting with Lilo
    By Bidi in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 02:30 AM
  2. A problem when booting with lilo...
    By AdmiralJonB in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2004, 07:45 AM
  3. lilo to MBR and not showing up after knx2hd
    By ldp in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-17-2004, 08:21 AM
  4. Lilo configuration for booting xp/knoppix
    By Daedaleus in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2004, 07:21 PM
  5. Booting hdbased knoppix with lilo.
    By reub2000 in forum General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-27-2003, 10:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •