Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Big problem!!! Please, help!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13

    Big problem!!! Please, help!!!

    Sorry for my poor english, but I`ll try to be as clear as possible to explain my problem.
    So, I made poor man`s instal this way:
    knoppix home=scan tohd=/dev/hda5

    Before that I`ve already setup a PH as a file in the same partition - hda5
    But now, when I`m booting from the cd with this command:
    knoppix home=scan fromhd=/dev/hda5
    there is a mistake which says:

    Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
    Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
    Press reset button to quit.

    And everything stops here

    If I only use this cheatcode:
    knoppix fromhd=/dev/hda5
    everything is OK and knoppix boots from HD
    Why it can`t recognize my persistant home directory, which is an image (about 300MB).
    Hda5 is read/write, and I did PH several times
    I`ve tryed almost everything I`ve red in this forum but nothing.
    Just to say:
    file system - hda5 - Fat32
    Instaled system on hda1 - WinXP
    Please help me do this "Poor man`s install"
    I don`t have enough free space on my HD to make full HD install, but at the same time I want to become familiar with Knoppix without using my cdrom all the time (only when I`m booting). I`m linux beginer
    Once again - HELP!!!

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    Can anybody help, please!

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949

    Re: Big problem!!! Please, help!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by morgan73
    Sorry for my poor english, but I`ll try to be as clear as possible to explain my problem.
    So, I made poor man`s instal this way:
    knoppix home=scan tohd=/dev/hda5

    Before that I`ve already setup a PH as a file in the same partition - hda5
    But now, when I`m booting from the cd with this command:
    knoppix home=scan fromhd=/dev/hda5
    there is a mistake which says:

    Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
    Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
    Press reset button to quit.

    And everything stops here

    If I only use this cheatcode:
    knoppix fromhd=/dev/hda5
    everything is OK and knoppix boots from HD
    Why it can`t recognize my persistant home directory, which is an image (about 300MB).
    Hda5 is read/write, and I did PH several times
    I`ve tryed almost everything I`ve red in this forum but nothing.
    Just to say:
    file system - hda5 - Fat32
    Instaled system on hda1 - WinXP
    Please help me do this "Poor man`s install"
    I don`t have enough free space on my HD to make full HD install, but at the same time I want to become familiar with Knoppix without using my cdrom all the time (only when I`m booting). I`m linux beginer
    Once again - HELP!!!
    PMI locks the partition so nothing can be written to it. If you have a PH on the same partiton it can't lock it, hence the error.

    Try moving the PH

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    I`ve already try this, but it didn`t work Any other suggestion???
    Is it possible to have an iso image with bugs???
    the version is:

    KNOPPIX_V3.4-2004-05-04-EN

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    692
    It is possible to have a version with bugs, and the 20040504 release had quite a few. Only problem is that you've already told us that it boots fine as long as you don't define a PH. So that tells me that the image is fine.

    I'm afraid I don't know why you're having problems.

    jd

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13

    I did it:)))

    Finally, it worked. But not the way, I posted before.
    Here is what I`ve made:
    I copied the iso file KNOPPIX_V3.4-2004-05-04-EN.iso, which i have downloaded, to the dev/hda1 (that`s the partition where is my WinXP too), rename it to knoppix.iso, then I booted from the cdrom with cd that contains the same .iso file as above but burned on that cd (that`s knoppix cd and used the next cheatcode
    knoppix bootfrom=/dev/hda1/k*.iso
    that`s how i booted knoppx from the HD
    The I made my persistant home directory in dev/hda5 and save my config file there too (I understand that is realy important the iso image of the knoppix and the home directory to be on a different partitions)
    The next time I boot, i used:
    knoppix home=scan myconfig=scan bootfrom=/dev/hda1/k*.iso
    And it worked))

Similar Threads

  1. Problem Unique to Knoppix Later Versions!(SIS problem!)
    By bongski55 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-15-2003, 10:19 AM
  2. Wierd Problem With USB Keyboard, Maybe Motherboard Problem
    By Triple Six in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2003, 04:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •