Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Screen Resolution Problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9

    Screen Resolution Problems

    I have Knoppix installed to the HD. If I log in as root, I get one resolution. If I log in as "knoppix" I get another. What's even more strange, is if I run a program as root while logged in as "knoppix user", it run's as root's resolution. Here's a screenshot.

    http://www.crotchett.com/images/resolution.png Hopefully, my no-ip address will update itself.

    I looked at fonts. But, they didn't really seem to have anything to do with it. They could, but it's not just the fonts that look bigger. Any ideas?

    Darren

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933

    Re: Screen Resolution Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by backdoc
    I have Knoppix installed to the HD. If I log in as root, I get one resolution. If I log in as "knoppix" I get another.
    Do you boot directly into X or do you have to log in and then type 'startx' ?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9

    Re: Screen Resolution Problems

    Quote Originally Posted by rickenbacherus
    Quote Originally Posted by backdoc
    I have Knoppix installed to the HD. If I log in as root, I get one resolution. If I log in as "knoppix" I get another.
    Do you boot directly into X or do you have to log in and then type 'startx' ?
    I boot to the GUI login manager. I think it's KDM. But, I don't know the difference between the different ones.

    Thanks,
    Darren

    Sorry it took so long to get a reply posted. It's been hectic around here (exams, car trouble and so on).

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    OK well check out your XF86Config-4 file.

    /etc/X11/XF86Config-4

    Log in as root and -check it out-log in as Knoppix-check it out. You could copy and paste to an email draft or save it to a text file for example just so you can have the two side by side and not have to constantly switch back and forth. The things I would look for are:
    Under the "monitor" section
    -HorizSync
    -VertRefresh
    Under the "device" section
    -which driver is it using vga, svga, (mine's a savage for example)
    Under the "screens" section (and here's where I would guess the problem to be)
    -default depth
    -are the modes the same under each SubSection "Disply"
    Obviously if it is set to a default depth of 16 then you aren't utilizing your monitor very well- change the default to 24 or 32.

    Post your XF86Config if you need help.

Similar Threads

  1. Screen resolution
    By Matth in forum General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-12-2004, 08:33 PM
  2. Screen Resolution
    By manatarms1775 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2004, 11:27 PM
  3. Problems getting the screen resolution right...
    By Coolnat2004 in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-12-2003, 11:45 PM
  4. Screen Resolution
    By Patrick21 in forum General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 10:07 PM
  5. nvidia screen resolution problems, but right xfree86 config?
    By xound in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •