Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How to install GRUB?

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13

    How to install GRUB?

    Well, thats what I have:
    laptop with no FDD
    knoppix with poor man's install (iso image is on c:/ - hda1, and the home directory is on d:/ - hda5)
    on the c:/ -hda1 is my WinXP, and on the d:/ - hda5 I have other files and programs, which I use with windows, so I need them and that's why I can't format this partition and make a knoppix full hdd install.
    So, how can I install GRUB???
    I've tryed to install it trough knoppix, but I had no success
    There was a message that I can't write to hda1 and hda5 anything (even they are mounted and fully writable).
    I have no USB drive to boot from, only CDRom. So, how can I install GRUB?

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668

    Re: How to install GRUB?

    Quote Originally Posted by morgan73
    Well, thats what I have a laptop with no FDD ... I have no USB drive to boot from, only CDRom. So, how can I install GRUB?
    You can install grub into the mbr of your disk, but you don't have to !
    You can do it all from windows (and also remove it all) using explorer and notepad. Basically you just need to add the line "c:\grldr="Start Grub" at the end of your c:\boot.ini and add some files in your ntfs /dev/hda1 partition. Then reboot and enjoy...
    I will sugest you to have a look at this forum: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtop...r=asc&start=90
    Cheers, Gilles

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    For normal hdd installation:
    apt-get install grub
    /sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
    update-grub
    Then check /boot/grub/menu.lst and edit to your requirement.

    But for your system, that procedure, I don't think will work since you are using poorman hdd install. Apt-get will not work so do with installation of other application from source code. Unless you use klik and point.

    Your option is to use Grub for Dos.
    http://newdos.yginfo.net/grubdos.htm
    Don't ask me how because I never use it.
    Check on post title ISO boot from NTFS (GRUB.exe, grldr from boot.ini)
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11796
    They been actively discussing about it
    Good luck

  4. #4
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by shah
    Your option is to use Grub for Dos.
    http://newdos.yginfo.net/grubdos.htm Don't ask me how because I never use it.
    The version of grub I have been using is in this post
    ISO boot from NTFS (GRUB.exe, grldr from boot.ini) http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11796
    is based on grub4dos ... I just recompiled it with the latest patches and network support. Good luck, Gilles

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    13
    Just to say that I`m using Fat32 on both C: and D: instead of NTFS
    But everywhere is discusing about the NTFS. Is there any difference abou instaling and configuring GRUB to run Knoppix with poor man`s install?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    used above regular hd install method to install GRUB, works fine. only problem is some stuff is in german, like all the apt-get stuff. yet i have all the regional options set to US. anyway to fix this?

  7. #7
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by morgan73
    Just to say that I`m using Fat32 on both C: and D: instead of NTFS
    But everywhere is discusing about the NTFS. Is there any difference abou instaling and configuring GRUB to run Knoppix with poor man`s install?
    It works as well if you a fat16/32. If you are running 98 or me you can also use grub.exe from dos. grldr is launched from nt/xp boot loader using the boot.ini. Gilles

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by Hemi-Cuda
    used above regular hd install method to install GRUB, works fine. only problem is some stuff is in german, like all the apt-get stuff. yet i have all the regional options set to US. anyway to fix this?
    A temporary fix is to do:
    Code:
    export LANG=C
    Everything will be in English again.

    But I'm currently (also) looking for a more permanent fix.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    298
    Permanent fix:
    Code:
    dpkg-reconfigure locales
    Use this program to clean out the locales you don't need (aka keep en_US, en_GB, and maybe your local languages). Then on the next screen you may chose the system language. You should chose en_US I think, since not all debian stuff maybe translated, or that well translated. After you chose [OK] it will start cleaning the locales it has stored.

    KDE has it's own language settings. But sometimes the locale settings peek trough, the Kaffeine mediaplayer is an example of this.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    5
    found a better option i think. just stuck the lang=us cheatcode in my grub menu.lst file, at the end of the kernel statement. console and everything else is in english now, so seems good

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. grub install
    By spiff_s50 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-24-2005, 08:40 PM
  2. Help with install... grub.
    By xlr8r in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-30-2004, 03:30 PM
  3. Can Knoppix be used to install grub in the MBR
    By cykick in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2004, 06:20 PM
  4. how do i install grub?
    By djmihow in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 07:44 AM
  5. LILO: Get rid of it to install GRUB
    By arthur in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-11-2003, 05:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •