Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Creating PocketKnoppix (180 MB MiniCD)

Junior Member registered user

Creating PocketKnoppix (180 MB MiniCD)

Hello Friends,

I am attempting to create a bare essentials version of Knoppix, one small enough to fit on one of those little 180MB CDs.

I have been playing with linux for a few years and can find my way around reasonably well, but I am far from being a linux guru.

I would love to see someone more knowlegable do this instead, but since I have not seen anyone attempt such a radical customization, I will see if I can do it on my own.

Please let me know if you know of such a customization already in existance. It would be much simpler for me to customize someone else's work than to do the whole thing myself.

If I can get it to work, I will be requesting someone to host the file.

I love Knoppix! It is an excellent tool and has helped me to repair systems on two occasions. The reason for the tiny build is mainly so that I can carry knoppix in my pocket and always have linux at hand.

My requirements are a java-enabled web browser (Mozilla), telnet (client) ssh (client), rdesktop, and VNC (client). I would like to have troubleshooting/repair tools as well, such as Ethereal, Etherape, gpart, and the basic linux essentials also, but I would be happy with just my basic requirements (after all, I will usually have a full knoppix CD nearby).

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Nathan Chilton

Senior Member registered user
    You may want to check out Teck2k's site
    http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/commun...geid=46907&ck=
    and charan's site
    http://gnubox.dyndns.org:8080/~sunil/kno_cd.html

There are 180 and 200 meg knoppix versions around, there is also "Kix" available in the knoppix contrib directory. However I'm not sure what ones are the most activly maintanied.

Thanks for the tip. Kix is 244MB, so it still needs some trimming. But it might be a better starting point.

mini-cd