Thread: Preview of an article to be published 10/4

Hybrid View

Member registered user

Preview of an article to be published 10/4

I wanted to preview this here first before Monday's publication. The people on this forum are probably the best and most helpful Linux users there are. Please accept this in the spirit intended.

skip

An open letter to the Linux Community.

You are my last hope. I am a small business owner with a small network of computers. Simple stuff really, invoicing, customer data storage, research…we are not any different than most small businesses today. Our computing needs are simple, yet we rely upon our network to get our job done. In August of 2004, a particularly nasty variant of Bagle wiped us out. Even with Norton and Sygate standing guard over us, we got hosed. 36 hours were spent in cleaning up the mess and restoring our operation. My fault. I should have had better protection than I did. Norton took 90 hours to address the variant that hit us and instead of blaming the software, I made a decision. I migrated us to Linux.

Now, let me clarify one thing. I am not a system administrator, nor am I a guru of any operating system. I am a business owner who relies upon my machines to operate smoothly and with efficiency. I have learned the basic things I must know in order to get the job done. As a life-long Windows user, I faced some daunting challenges. Choosing a distro was actually one of the biggest. Suse 9.1 Pro and Kanotix were the two I finally settled upon, but that is not really important because the problems I face are not distro specific, they are Linux specific.