Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help making boot floppy to boot cd rom.

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    help making boot floppy to boot cd rom.

    i have a really old notebook that can support knoppix, however my problem is the bios does not support cd-rom booting whatsoever, i have a new computer that knoppix runs fine on, is there a way to make a floppy disk so that it will boot the disk and then load the rest of knoppix from the live cd, i have tried a grub floppy but when i do that i cannot put the kernel or the init files on the floppy cause i run out of room, is there any other way thanks again

    Steve

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    788
    You could try using smart boot manager's floppy.
    http://btmgr.webframe.org/index.php3?body=download.html
    or
    sbm floppy image from slackware: http://slackware.at/data/slackware-c...s/sbootmgr.dsk


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2
    well both were failures, is there anything else, the smb thing at least booted and detected the CD-Rom drive, there has to be some way to make grub and put it onto a floppy and then make it boot the cd-rom anyone ???

    thanks again for the help

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    9
    from the FAQ:
    If your
    computer doesn't support booting from CD, you can create a boot floppy
    using the "rawrite" program in the "KNOPPIX" directory on the CD.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949

    Re: help making boot floppy to boot cd rom.

    Quote Originally Posted by niceguy167
    i have a really old notebook that can support knoppix, however my problem is the bios does not support cd-rom booting whatsoever, i have a new computer that knoppix runs fine on, is there a way to make a floppy disk so that it will boot the disk and then load the rest of knoppix from the live cd, i have tried a grub floppy but when i do that i cannot put the kernel or the init files on the floppy cause i run out of room, is there any other way thanks again

    Steve
    If you can boot knoppix, then their should be a script in the knoppix menu to creat boot floppies. (3.4 and up)

Similar Threads

  1. making a boot cd instead of floppy? can it be done and how?
    By lilantwan in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2005, 04:47 AM
  2. Making a Boot Floppy With SCSI Support
    By conall in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 11:52 PM
  3. Knoppix wont boot with boot floppy
    By proto in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2004, 11:29 PM
  4. Making a boot floppy
    By dmedici in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-19-2003, 01:06 AM
  5. making a boot floppy.....
    By jamesgf in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 06:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •