Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51

Thread: add new users that can login via X-windows

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    probono,

    Check out this thread about how to setup knoppix as a network X login server:

    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6873#6873

    rock

  2. #12
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    86
    Hi everyone,

    I set up a script to do this automatically. It will set up kdm to accept sessions and makes the required changes to allow you to add new users to the system. Run this in a root shell (you can get a root terminal in the KNOPPIX menu).

    On the client machine, boot knoppix up with "knoppix 2" cheatcode and then type "X -broadcast" when you get the # prompt.

    Here's the script:

    #!/bin/bash
    cp /etc/kde3/kdm/Xaccess /ramdisk
    cp /etc/kde3/kdm/kdmrc /ramdisk
    rm -r /etc/kde3/kdm/Xaccess
    rm -r /etc/kde3/kdm/kdmrc
    sed 's/^#\*/\*/g' < /ramdisk/Xaccess > /ramdisk/Xaccess1
    mv -f /ramdisk/Xaccess1 /ramdisk/Xaccess
    sed 's/^Enable=false/Enable=true/g' < /ramdisk/kdmrc > /ramdisk/kdmrc1
    mv -f /ramdisk/kdmrc1 /ramdisk/kdmrc
    ln -s /ramdisk/Xaccess /etc/kde3/kdm/Xaccess
    ln -s /ramdisk/kdmrc /etc/kde3/kdm/kdmrc
    /etc/init.d/kdm restart
    cp /etc/gshadow /etc/gshadow1
    mv -f /etc/gshadow1 /etc/gshadow
    echo To add users: adduser username

  3. #13
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    86
    Some strange behaviour (bugs?) I have encountered is that if you log in as knoppix on the client machine, when you log out it logs the server out and reboots it also.
    The other thing I noticed is that if you create additional users using adduser, you can log in as them through remote kdm but the language on all the icons/programs is German. Anyone else have this happen?

    regards,
    Jim

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    What knoppix version are you running on your server?

    On my 3.1 1-20 (I think) I can log out of my X-terminal and get the kdm login window back. Did you boot your server in runlevel 5 or runlevel 2, maybe something else to do in your script is to:

    chmod -x /etc/init.d/xsession

    you will need to start in runlevel 2 then run your script, then everything should be OK, if xsession is ran at all you I would expect that you would reboot at logout.

    as far as your language problem, after you do the adduser, delete all of the files in the users home directory, if you start with an empty directory you'll get the correct language or maybe the kde setup wizard and you can select the language from there. I just tried my system and "kontrolzentrum?" control center crashed so I had to delete the contents of /home/user then kde started up in english, /etc/skel is set up to be ran only by user knoppix and when you create another user the home directories get messed up, a very documented problem with hd installs.

    rock

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    Thanks a lot. That sholud bring some old 586s to life

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by true1ever
    After a lot of fiddling I got it working. I am writing this from a "thin client" off my main computer. I think what would be useful is if in addition to the Knoppix Terminal Server menu entry, a new one was also created called Knoppix remote xdm (or some other fitting name) that would set up the proper configuration for connecting remotely via a thin-client. Jim
    Great idea! Could you please adjust your script so that it's point-and-click and send it to Klaus Knopper? I'm confident he will include it.

  7. #17
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    86
    Rockmumbles,

    The newest version 3.2 03-30. I booted the server up normally in level 5, then ran the script at a root prompt. I wanted to be able to run Xwindows on both the server and the thin-client. Your suggestion is to boot server in level 2 and then startx, right?

    Thanks for your explanation of the language problem. Now that we know what it is, should be easy to fix...
    Jim

  8. #18
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    86
    Probono,

    Thanks for your vote of confidence ... Anyway, if you would like, feel free to suggest to Klaus about including something like this, I imagine he might write a script that might be a little bit better than the one I put together, I am still amazed at his insight and coding abilities in getting knoppix to where it is now.

    regards,
    Jim

  9. #19
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    On the server machine boot up in runlevel 2 and run your script, the script line:

    /etc/init.d/kdm start

    (you have " restart " as long as kdm gets started that's all that matters) will start the kdm login screen on display :0

    You don't need to run startx unless you want to run a local X session on that machine (server), then you will have to startx -- :1 ( startx space dash dash space colon one) to start the local server on vtt6 (your second virtual terminal) Note: if you log out of the remote machine you may also get logged out of your local session.

    rock

  10. #20
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    86
    That gives me an idea... Perhaps it would be cool to also have cheatcodes to do this automatically, perhaps as:
    knoppix thinclientserver
    and
    knoppix thinclient

    that would start it as either a server or a client? what do you guys think?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Users cannot login anymore with KDM... startx works!
    By dariuzzz in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 06:37 PM
  2. Knoppix for Windows Users
    By knewbex in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 09-10-2004, 03:26 AM
  3. Tip for Windows XP users
    By Lucia in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-16-2004, 12:11 AM
  4. Stange Login + Default Users
    By jeremymeindl in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2004, 01:06 AM
  5. Normal Users can't access windows partitions
    By empanyc in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 10:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


NetFu Firewall 1U, Intel CPU, 8 x Gigabit, SFP, w/ pfSense, Others, NEW OPTIONS picture

NetFu Firewall 1U, Intel CPU, 8 x Gigabit, SFP, w/ pfSense, Others, NEW OPTIONS

$553.95



NEW NetFu Firewall Mini, Intel CPU, 6 Port Gigabit, w/ pfSense, others picture

NEW NetFu Firewall Mini, Intel CPU, 6 Port Gigabit, w/ pfSense, others

$336.00



Cisco ASA5525-FTD-K9 Security Appliance with FirePower Services picture

Cisco ASA5525-FTD-K9 Security Appliance with FirePower Services

$1000.00



Ubiquiti Networks USG Unifi Security Gateway Router/Firewall picture

Ubiquiti Networks USG Unifi Security Gateway Router/Firewall

$29.95



OPNsense six-port Gigabit router/firewall on Lanner FW-7535 hardware picture

OPNsense six-port Gigabit router/firewall on Lanner FW-7535 hardware

$69.00



Fortinet Fortiwifi 60D FWF-60D Security Appliance Firewall Wifi VPN picture

Fortinet Fortiwifi 60D FWF-60D Security Appliance Firewall Wifi VPN

$29.99



Fortinet Fortiwifi 60D FG-60D Security Appliance Firewall / VPN w/ AC Adapter picture

Fortinet Fortiwifi 60D FG-60D Security Appliance Firewall / VPN w/ AC Adapter

$34.97



PFSense F80 Firewall | Atom C2358 CPU | 4 Gigabit Ports | 2GB RAM | Fresh Reload picture

PFSense F80 Firewall | Atom C2358 CPU | 4 Gigabit Ports | 2GB RAM | Fresh Reload

$75.00



FORTINET FORTIGATE 40F Next GEN Firewall Security (FG-40) - Very Good picture

FORTINET FORTIGATE 40F Next GEN Firewall Security (FG-40) - Very Good

$192.99



FORTINET FORTIGATE 40F Next GEN Firewall Security Unregistered (FG-40F)-Open Box picture

FORTINET FORTIGATE 40F Next GEN Firewall Security Unregistered (FG-40F)-Open Box

$214.99