Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: command doesnt work

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4

    command doesnt work

    Hi,
    well I am a newbie, been using knoppix for bout 3hrs now
    anyways for some reason my shell wont allow the unmount command,
    it doesn't even tell me that the specified drive is busy instead it says command not found
    and when i try to look up the manual for the unmount it tells me that there is no manual for
    that command.

    btw i am using knoppix v3.6 from the cd
    i'll probably do a hd install later this week.

    tia
    -xtoor-

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    The command is umount, not unmount.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    4
    WOW...
    tnks man, btw that just craks me up (sry cant hlp me myself)

    pls just bare i am a newbie...

    -xtoor-

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    You're welcome.
    You might want to try apropos next time unsure of a command:
    markus@fujibox:~$ apropos unmount
    hpumount (1) - unmount an HFS+ volume
    umount ( - unmount file systems
    umount-orig ( - unmount file systems

Similar Threads

  1. sound doesnt work
    By sweeper in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-24-2004, 03:11 AM
  2. Ctrl-Alt-FX doesnt work..
    By Wonko in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-16-2004, 02:48 AM
  3. Touchpad doesnt work!
    By Whatsup! in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2003, 07:01 AM
  4. my keyboard doesnt work
    By tezkejbjes in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2003, 10:29 PM
  5. autofs doesnt work
    By hamatoma in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-12-2003, 12:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •