Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Ac97 detected, no sound

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32

    Ac97 detected, no sound

    ac97 audio onboard an ASUSP4800 SE motherboard..
    After looking through the directory of the MOBO cd/audio drivers I realized it had a directory for linux, but they look like source codes, which will give me a headache....The most "source code" ive been able to understand is the source to webpages..Compiling the kernel isnt gonna be pretty....

    Im under XP right now but thinking about formatting/Reinstalling Knoppix to give it another shot....
    The Sound Configuration utility picked up my Audio device automatically and said it was configured properly and played a test sound but I didnt hear anything.
    I tried listening to a cd, with the volume raised and didnt hear anything,

    I fianlly got so ticked off, after searching google for literally hours last night, that I reinstalled Xp.
    I found lots of other people complaining about the same exact problem, Ac97 would be detected but would get no sound.
    i read into ALSA for some time, only got really confused...i couldnt figure that out for the life of me.

    Im about to reinstall knoppix, and dedicate my friday night to finding an answer to this.I loved working under knoppix/linux, I was already learning aliot, and had most of the most used commands down. It was going VERY smooth untill I went to listen to music and realized I had no sound.
    Obviously sound in general is one of those things you cannot do without


    if anyone can help, Ill see to it myself that you be blessed

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32
    by the way the sound is up and not muted.,,,


    here is the response from
    dmesg |grep ac97
    lsmod
    lspci

    in order

    ""
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ dmesg |grep ac97
    ac97_codec: AC97 Audio codec, id: ADS117 (Unknown)
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ lsmod
    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    autofs4 8756 1 (autoclean)
    af_packet 13544 0 (autoclean)
    agpgart 42724 0 (unused)
    i810_audio 25048 1
    ac97_codec 11916 0 [i810_audio]
    soundcore 3428 2 [i810_audio]
    hw_random 2700 0 (unused)
    serial 52100 0 (autoclean)
    CDCEther 11200 1
    acm 5312 0 (unused)
    pcmcia_core 39840 0
    thermal 6724 0 (unused)
    processor 9008 0 [thermal]
    fan 1600 0 (unused)
    button 2700 0 (unused)
    battery 5952 0
    ac 1824 0
    rtc 7036 0 (autoclean)
    cloop 8740 2
    ieee1394 183076 0
    usb-storage 61760 0 (unused)
    usb-uhci 21644 0 (unused)
    usbcore 57600 1 [CDCEther acm usb-storage usb-uhci]
    ataraid 6180 0
    ide-scsi 8816 1
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ lspci
    0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
    0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
    0000:00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI #1 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI #2 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI #3 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI #4 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
    0000:00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Bridge (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) Ultra ATA 100 Storage Controller (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0343 (rev a1)
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$

    """

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    You seem to have OSS instead of ALSA running. Have you tried booting with the alsa cheatcode?
    What about kmix, is the sound muted there?

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Markus
    You seem to have OSS instead of ALSA running. Have you tried booting with the alsa cheatcode?
    What about kmix, is the sound muted there?
    Kmix is the only I checked...is there another that could mute the enitre system sound?

    What is the Alsa cheat code?

    its entered at boot...?
    That might be a good thing....


    [EDIT]

    Tried to boot with the following...
    knoppix nodma alsa "Nodma to fix the "filesystem not found problem"

    I also get this message, I should have included with this post before....
    When I agree for the Soundcard config to overwrite the old file and re-write a new one I get the following error
    "
    Depmod:cant open /lib/modules/extra/modules.dep for writing
    ""
    Then the utility tries to play a sound sample that I dont hear...


    I am booting from the live cd, by the way....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by greygooseplz

    Kmix is the only I checked...is there another that could mute the enitre system sound?
    With alsa you should also check aumix.

    What is the Alsa cheat code?
    its entered at boot...?
    Correct. For usage and options have a look at: http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/CheatCodes

    BTW, for a hdinstall the user should also be in the audio group, check with groups and if needed do:
    sudo adduser username audio

    To easily check if sound works do: play /usr/share/sounds/startup.ogg


    EDIT: Your edit was faster than my post so...
    What does lsmod look like with the alsa cheat?

  6. #6
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Markus
    Quote Originally Posted by greygooseplz

    Kmix is the only I checked...is there another that could mute the enitre system sound?
    With alsa you should also check aumix.

    What is the Alsa cheat code?
    its entered at boot...?
    Correct. For usage and options have a look at: http://www.knoppix.net/docs/index.php/CheatCodes

    BTW, for a hdinstall the user should also be in the audio group, check with groups and if needed do:
    sudo adduser username audio

    To easily check if sound works do: play /usr/share/sounds/startup.ogg


    EDIT: Your edit was faster than my post so...
    What does lsmod look like with the alsa cheat?
    aumix was ok, volume was low but didnt make a difference.

    Did you see the edit from my last post?

    Quote Originally Posted by markus
    ="markus"]EDIT: Your edit was faster than my post so...
    What does lsmod look like with the alsa cheat?


    """
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ lsmod
    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    i810_audio 25048 2 (autoclean)
    soundcore 3428 2 (autoclean) [i810_audio]
    ac97_codec 11916 0 [i810_audio]
    autofs4 8756 1 (autoclean)
    af_packet 13544 0 (autoclean)
    agpgart 42724 0 (unused)
    hw_random 2700 0 (unused)
    serial 52100 0 (autoclean)
    CDCEther 11200 1
    acm 5312 0 (unused)
    pcmcia_core 39840 0
    thermal 6724 0 (unused)
    processor 9008 0 [thermal]
    fan 1600 0 (unused)
    button 2700 0 (unused)
    battery 5952 0
    ac 1824 0
    rtc 7036 0 (autoclean)
    cloop 8740 2
    ieee1394 183076 0
    usb-storage 61760 0 (unused)
    usb-uhci 21644 0 (unused)
    usbcore 57600 1 [CDCEther acm usb-storage usb-uhci]
    ataraid 6180 0
    ide-scsi 8816 1
    """

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by greygooseplz
    Did you see the edit from my last post?
    Yes, so what does lsmod look like with the alsa cheat?

    You could also try the following cheat: knoppix26 alsa=intel8x0

    BTW, you probably can't write to /lib/modules/extra/modules.dep due to booting from the cd.

    EDIT: Hehe, we're posting too fast/slow.
    It's still not using alsa, this is what it should look like:
    snd_seq_oss 29184 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 6272 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 46480 4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_intel8x0 28620 1
    snd_ac97_codec 62928 1 snd_intel8x0
    snd_pcm_oss 46120 0
    snd_mixer_oss 16000 1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm 80264 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm_oss
    snd_timer 20612 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc 7432 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
    snd_mpu401_uart 5888 1 snd_intel8x0
    snd_rawmidi 19620 1 snd_mpu401_uart
    snd_seq_device 6280 3 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
    snd 43620 13 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,sn d_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu4 01_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
    soundcore 7264 1 snd


    The snd_ modules are for alsa. So try: knoppix26 alsa=intel8x0

  8. #8
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by Markus
    Quote Originally Posted by greygooseplz
    Did you see the edit from my last post?
    Yes, so what does lsmod look like with the alsa cheat?

    You could also try the following cheat: knoppix26 alsa=intel8x0

    BTW, you probably can't write to /lib/modules/extra/modules.dep due to booting from the cd.
    check mylast post for lsmod...

    does "knoppix26 alsa=intel8x0" need to be entered at the boot screen?

    either way im trying it...

    By the way, thanks alot man...appreciate it...

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32


    Works!!!

    I think it was the knoppix26 alas-intel8x0

    man.....Dont even know how to say thanks to this one, but...thanks a million!You helped me in another of my posts....
    One of the strogest points in Linux seems to be the community...Since Ive been on here (this past weekend) ive got nothing but great support, never once called a newbie


    Man, This is one of those things thats had me already uninstall/reinstall two times...I cant run an OS without sound!

    Ok, im about to reinstall to my HDD again ...How will i enter this code? i wont get that boot option again wil I....? I should know by now, as many times ive installed knoppix...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by greygooseplz


    Works!!!
    Glad to hear it.

    I think it was the knoppix26 alas-intel8x0
    AFAICT knoppix seems to have recognised the i8x0 as ac97 instead.

    One of the strogest points in Linux seems to be the community...
    I couldn't agree more.

    Ok, im about to reinstall to my HDD again ...How will i enter this code? i wont get that boot option again wil I....? I should know by now, as many times ive installed knoppix...
    You should enter all the cheatcodes at boot when about to install to hd.
    If alsa doesn't work anymore after the install try:
    su
    cd /etc/init.d
    ./alsa-autoconfig

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AC97 - no sound. Segmentation fault with 3.9
    By docbill in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 06:29 PM
  2. no sound with knoppix 3.4 mandrake 10 ok (ac97)
    By pgk3734 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2005, 09:03 PM
  3. Problem with AC97 sound
    By BNU-FaNtAsMa in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 04:31 PM
  4. Via 8235 AC97 sound workaround
    By rblanken in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 09:54 PM
  5. sound card detection AC97
    By myrrdex in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 04:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •