Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: booting into the command line

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    32

    booting into the command line

    How can I set linux up to boot directly into the linux console?
    Like the way slackware does by default.

    Switched to slackware for a few days and loved it but couldnt ween myself from the apt-get program
    Im actually using Kanotix, But im assuming its damn close to knoppix.

    But Slackware is a damn good linux distro I must say

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    If i boot Knoppix 3.6 from CD using the cheat code knoppix 2 then I am dumped into a console session as root in runlevel 2.

    If you have a HD install of Kanotix then it may be booting by default into a runlevel that runs X. Take a look at /etc/inittab as it will not only list the default runlevel but also list function of the other runlevels. Here is a good page on runlevels http://www.telenovela-world.com/~spa...t-HOWTO-6.html.

    I use the command init # to change runlevels. If after booting into the console session & I now want to run a normal KDE session I use init 5. If I want to reboot I use init 6 and if I want to shutdown I use init 0.
    I hope this helps.
    James

Similar Threads

  1. Command line shells
    By Ikki in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2006, 01:18 AM
  2. Bring up KDE from command line
    By Jesse in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-30-2004, 05:57 PM
  3. command line WOES
    By bob58 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 11:10 PM
  4. login with GUI/Command Line
    By wilsondk in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2004, 10:04 PM
  5. Hostname on command line
    By Ambrose in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-08-2003, 02:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •