Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Flight Simulations...

  1. #11
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    13
    i need a bigger hard dive
    I second that I think I'll go get a 80 gig soon I can get a brand new 7200 80 gig for 80 bucks. that plus my 40 for storage.
    Does anyone have a link to a good site on how to partition and install this on my HDD. I am really new. HEHE

    OK sorry I found the above board on HDD installls

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In a house... hopefully
    Posts
    554
    hehe... yeah... its actually quiet easy to partion a hard drive... took me two minutes.... its really fun..

    your lucky you have a 40 gig hard drive, i have a hard drive the tenth of that... a 4 gig... it still works... *cough* except i have no room... ...

  3. #13
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    13
    How and what did you use. details details.LOL

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In a house... hopefully
    Posts
    554
    ok... i use an old pentium 2 @ 200MHz, thats conected to a 4.4 Gig hard drive... pritty small... but, it still works... it might take 10 minutes to open OpenOffice, but, it still work a great treat... and if i ever F*** it up real real badly... who cares, its an old old computer. just re-format and get on with my life... *strokes computer*...

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    Quote Originally Posted by chris-harry
    ok... i use an old pentium 2 @ 200MHz, thats conected to a 4.4 Gig hard drive... pritty small... but, it still works... it might take 10 minutes to open OpenOffice, but, it still work a great treat... and if i ever F*** it up real real badly... who cares, its an old old computer. just re-format and get on with my life... *strokes computer*...
    For what it's worth, I have a 600 mhz laptop with only 6 Gig which is dual boot Linux (currently Kanotix) & winME. You have to be a little careful with space but it works.

    Research in the 'segmentation fault' error seems to indicate it is something to do with a program trying to grab memory for video that's not allocated for video. Probably I need more video card, I have just the standard i810 that came with the computer.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In a house... hopefully
    Posts
    554
    hehe... well... old computer are great for when you just wanna test something and you dont have to worry about backing things up and stuff like that that takes time and effort...

  7. #17
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Stanwood Washington
    Posts
    84
    Itís amazing just how small Knoppix, or any Linux based system, can get and still work! I have a copy of Peanut that I use on a 386 25MHz computer and two 100 M drives. Also with less than 200 M RAM.

    Windoze wonít even load, let alone work, unless you go back to version 3.xx (aw-yes those were the days when software developers were still working on efficient, compact programs without all the fluff, and dead-end code)Ö

    GMD

  8. #18
    Administrator Site Admin-
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,441
    Quote Originally Posted by Mustang64
    Itís amazing just how small Knoppix, or any Linux based system, can get and still work! I have a copy of Peanut that I use on a 386 25MHz computer and two 100 M drives. Also with less than 200 M RAM.

    Windoze wonít even load, let alone work, unless you go back to version 3.xx (aw-yes those were the days when software developers were still working on efficient, compact programs without all the fluff, and dead-end code)Ö

    GMD
    I have to differ with you there. I still have Win98 on a P166 with 64 megs of memory, it runs windows fine, but Knoppix (with GUI) crawls on it. I still get occasional use from the machine; it makes a fine FTP server running Windows. I also use it to test install some software, and as a system where I can run any self-extracting EXE file I happen to download (no way I'm going to trust such files on my main desktop).

    By the way, I couldn't even get any regular distro like Debian to install on this system. They looked at the memory and just refused. But 98 (and of course 95 and Win 3.1) run fine on it, and I expect I could load OS2 or a few others systems as well.

    I also have a hand me down I took from someone just to save it from the trash. It's a 100 mhz K5, with either 32 or 48 megs of memory (yea, I forget which). It's certainly not a great system, but it's good for running packet sniffers and the like under Windows. I can browse the net with it (not snappy, but functional). I have tried to boot Knoppix and a few other of the live CD's on it. But these may take 30 minutes or more just to boot, and are really not useable once you have them booted.

    So Linux certainly suffers from bloat as much as any OS does. It's woth noting that, strictly based on hardware power, either of the above 2 computers is by far much more computer than the CDC system that was a time sharing system for the entire student body at my University (back in the dark ages). Bloat like this is an unfortunate industry trend that is affecting almost all of the industry, including open source.

  9. #19
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    13
    How does this compare to Microsoft flight sim 2004. I have that and I think its awsome. I dont really like *crashdows* much and microsoft even less but I have to admit This sim is greaaaat. So compare the two.

  10. #20
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by Mustang64
    (aw-yes those were the days when software developers were still working on efficient, compact programs without all the fluff, and dead-end code)Ö

    GMD
    Yea, but nowadays the with humugous hardrive that are dirtcheap, is there anypoint in trying to spend extra time to make a program smaller (from a devolpers point of view.)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •