Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dual boot problem winxp/knoppix (GRUB)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    Dual boot problem winxp/knoppix (GRUB)

    OK, so i had an existing xp home partition that filled my 76.6 gb drive. i reduced it by 10 gb. made a 2 gb swap ( i have 1 gb ram) and a ~8 gb ext3 partition.

    i installed knoppix on it, and it went fine. problem is, i am on a laptop and do not have a floppy drive. i cant make a boot disk, or at least dont want to unless i have to emulate a floppy on a cd.

    When asked to put LILO in the MBR, i clicked no. i like ntldr fine. I used these instructions to dual boot.

    An alternative method :

    1. go to here http://www.skyjammer.com/files/knoppix

    2. get the w32grub.zip and unzip it to c:\, it is already a directory tree

    3. run c:\boot\grub\w32grub

    4. add 'c:\boot\stage1="GRUB"' to c:\boot.ini

    Now there is a GRUB boot loader in your W2K/XP system.

    Install your KNOPPIX as usual but don't let it touch your boot loader.

    in c:\boot\grub\menu.lst add the following(just an example)

    title KNOPPIX
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    initrd /boot/initrd

    and you can boot load your KNOPPIX. For detail about GRUB, read the manual on their main site.

    If you want poorman's install(FAT only), follow the instruction in the doc on this site on how to extract the big file as well as the boot.img from the ISO and follow the followin procedure

    1. get memdisk from syslinux site and put in c:\boot
    2. put the boot.img(from the ISO) to c:\boot
    2. add the following to c:\boot\grub\menu.lst
    courtesy of garyng


    now, i can get into windows perfectly. when i boot i get two titles. XP HOME and GRUB.


    When i click grub, i see for a second starting stage 2... and the computer reboots to the bios. here is my menu.lst for grub:


    # Sample boot menu configuration file
    #

    # Boot automatically after a minute.
    timeout 60

    # By default, boot the second entry.
    default 1

    # Fallback to the first entry.
    fallback 0

    title Windows XP
    unhide (hd0,0)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    # For booting Linux
    title KNOPPIX
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    initrd /boot/initrd


    i know grub starts counting at 0, so my windows partition is the first, and my linux is the third so i believe the partitions are correct.

    here is my boot.ini:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    c:\boot\stage1="GRUB"



    does anyone know why i get the error i do? does anyone know how to fix it? if not, can someone explain how to remove grub and keep ntldr if possible? without a floppy in all of this please, unless its necessary.


    Thanks.

    Hukdonfonix

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    try to copy the menu one level up, so it is at c:\boot and run w32grub with all the needed parameters rather than letting it just do the guess. I tried to make it as easy as possible but it obviously cannot handle all cases.

    I believe it is

    w32grub -d (hd0,0) -1 c:/boot/stage1 -2 c:/boot/stage2 -m /boot/menu.lst

    You have an alternative which is to let LILO/GRUB to install to your linux partition and grab that out and put that into c:\boot.ini

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    well i copied it up, and i ran w32grub with the parameters you gave. it still doesnt work. unless you have any other ideas, could you explain what i need to copy from my linux partition? i did install LILO on the root partition. what should i get, and i guess how should i get it since windows cant read ext3. i guess i could use the live cd and copy the information down.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    i probably should have mentioned this but im using knoppix 3.4..... i was looking through another post and saw the /vmlinuz looked different with 3.4.....



    is it a different symlink for knoppix 3.4?

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    536
    Why not use grub or lilo? You can avoid all that by just installing one of them to mbr. If you don't like it there is a simple fix for it.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    well i was thining about that and i found a tutorial to use lilo with windows and knoppix, but it required a floppy disk. no floppy drive on my laptop. if you could explain how, then i might consider it. i didnt want to get rid of ntldr because why fool with it if it works. but i might have to.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    Quote Originally Posted by hukdonfonix
    well i was thining about that and i found a tutorial to use lilo with windows and knoppix, but it required a floppy disk. no floppy drive on my laptop. if you could explain how, then i might consider it. i didnt want to get rid of ntldr because why fool with it if it works. but i might have to.
    GRUB/LILO or my win32 patch are all the same. Basically what most XP users want is to continue using the NT loader(why change when it works?). So after you install linux to a seperate partition on the same HD, LILO/GRUB should give you a choice to install to either MBR(sector 0 of the HD) or BR of the partition(sector 0 of the partition). Just tell it to install to the boot sector of the partition rather than MBR. Then issue the following command under linux :

    dd if=/dev/hda6 of=bootsect.lnx bs=512 count=1

    assuming /dev/hda6 is your linux partition where lilo/grub put its boot sector.

    Now you need to find a way to copy bootsect.lnx to c:\(of windows). If it is FAT, just mount and copy then modify just as the above, otherwise for NTFS, you need to find a place to hold it as normally linux cannot write to NTFS, captive driver may be(can be a floppy or USB stick or even email/upload/ftp the file to somewhere else like yahoo). Then change this line :

    4. add 'c:\boot\stage1="GRUB"' to c:\boot.ini

    to c:\bootsect.lnx="LINUX/GRUB/LILO or whatever you want to call it"

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Ok, and im assuming that i issue that command while running from the livecd, sicne thats the only way i can currently get into linux.



    now to copy it over and see if it works.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for all your help, everything is working now!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-16-2004, 02:18 AM
  2. winxp, gentoo, knoppix, grub, and a boot error message
    By SgtRauksauff in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-06-2004, 12:38 AM
  3. dual boot propblem with grub
    By paulo_andre in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-02-2004, 03:55 PM
  4. Dual boot with WinXP, one physical disk on Promise RAID
    By pmxcrw in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2003, 01:33 PM
  5. Dual Boot WinXP (NTFS) and Knoppix
    By A.T.O.B in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 03:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Supermicro X10SRW-F Server picture

Supermicro X10SRW-F Server

$169.99



Supermicro 815-6 4-Bay Server picture

Supermicro 815-6 4-Bay Server

$239.99



HP ProLiant Xeon E3-1220L V2 16 GB RAM 2.30 GHz MicroServer Gen8 NO DRIVES picture

HP ProLiant Xeon E3-1220L V2 16 GB RAM 2.30 GHz MicroServer Gen8 NO DRIVES

$174.99



Supermicro Server Tower Xeon BOOTS E5-2620 v4 2.10GHz 64GB RAM NO HDD NO OS picture

Supermicro Server Tower Xeon BOOTS E5-2620 v4 2.10GHz 64GB RAM NO HDD NO OS

$199.99



HPE PROLIANT MICROSERVER GEN10 PLUS MICRO TOWER SERVER - USED picture

HPE PROLIANT MICROSERVER GEN10 PLUS MICRO TOWER SERVER - USED

$550.00



HP ProLiant HSTNS-5151 Micro Server 8GB RAM No Drives/Key/Caddies *READ* picture

HP ProLiant HSTNS-5151 Micro Server 8GB RAM No Drives/Key/Caddies *READ*

$94.99



SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount picture

SuperMicro Server 505-2 Intel Atom 2.4GHz 8GB RAM SYS-5018A-FTN4 1U Rackmount

$202.49



HPE Proliant Microserver Gen10 X3421 Perf AMS,  P03698-S01, 16GB Ram picture

HPE Proliant Microserver Gen10 X3421 Perf AMS, P03698-S01, 16GB Ram

$299.00



1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE picture

1U Supermicro Server 10 Bay 2x Intel Xeon 3.3Ghz 8C 128GB RAM 480GB SSD 2x 10GBE

$297.00



2U 12 Bay SAS3 SuperMicro Server 6028U-TR4T+ W/ X10DRU-i+ Barebone 12 Caddy RAIL picture

2U 12 Bay SAS3 SuperMicro Server 6028U-TR4T+ W/ X10DRU-i+ Barebone 12 Caddy RAIL

$299.00