Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: boot from cdrom and hd?

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14

    boot from cdrom and hd?

    Hi there,

    I tried to install knoppix from cd to hd by myself.

    my hd partition:

    /dev/hda1 /boot
    /dev/hda2 swap
    /dev/hda3 the knoppix partition

    I installed grub on /dev/hda1,

    grub.conf :
    title Knoppix 1
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot_knoppix/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi
    initrd /boot_knoppix/miniroot.gz

    I did
    cp -f /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/hda1/boot/boot_knoppix/vmlinuz
    cp -f /cdrom/boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz /mnt/hda1/boot/boot_knoppix/miniroot.gz
    cp -Rp /cdrom/* /mnt/hda3


    It works fine, I can boot knoppix from hd now.

    but then I tried to boot from CD, I found it always running on /dev/hda3, evn if it start from cd.
    It first load from cd, then when it run the linuxrc script, it always found the KNOPPIX from /dev/hda3 , so it

    mount /dev/hda3 on /cdrom , not i wanted /dev/cdrom on /cdrom

    I believe it has something to do with the /proc/cmdline :

    ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off vga=791 initrd=minirt24.gz nomce quiet BOOT_IM
    AGE=knoppix BOOT_IMAGE=linux24

    if I boot from hd, the /proc/cmdline:
    root=/dev/hda3 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi

    do I need to modiy the linuxrc to fix it, or I missed something?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14
    oh, it's not the cmdlin, it's the following code in linuxrc:

    DEVICES="$DEVICES /dev/hd?[1-9] /dev/hd?[1-9][0-9]"
    case "$CMDLINE" in *fromhd=/dev/*) DEVICES="$fromhd"; ;; esac
    for i in $DEVICES
    do
    echo -n "${CRE}${BLUE}Looking for CDROM in: ${MAGENTA}$i${NORMAL} "
    #if mountit $i /cdrom "-o ro" >/dev/null 2>&1
    if mountit $i /cdrom >/dev/null 2>&1
    then
    if test -f /cdrom/$KNOPPIX_DIR/$KNOPPIX_NAME
    then
    echo -n "${CRE} ${GREEN}Accessing KNOPPIX CDROM at ${MAGENTA}$i${GREEN}...${NORMAL}"
    FOUND_KNOPPIX="$i"
    break
    fi
    umount /cdrom
    fi
    done

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    981
    Are you booting the Cd with any cheatcodes? If you just boot knoppix CD it *should* ignore everything on the HD & just boot & run from CD.
    The code section you have quoted should only activate if you have booted with a 'fromhd=/dev/xxx' cheatcode.

    Question? Why did you use this unusual hd install procedure instead of either the built-in installer script ('sudo knoppix-installer') or the built-in 'poormans install' (boot with the bootcode 'tohd=/dev/hda3'). The latter would give you an install similar to what you have except the entire install would be on hda3 and you would have to manually install your bootloader. You could then boot this from CD booting with the bootcode 'fromhd=/dev/hda3 or fromhd=/scan'.

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14
    Yeah, I read the script again and it should check scd0 first. I must did something wrong. I didn't use any cheatcode, but I modified some bootup file. the answer why I do it this way is before I didn't know there is a offical way Now I want to go back to offical way, but everytime I boot it, it always go to the hd, so i can't even change it.

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14
    Now I found i can boot that machine with some old customised cd, my new cd has big problem .


    one thing I learned is if use grub,

    the config should be

    kernel /boot_knoppix/vmlinuz fromhd=/dev/hda3 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi
    ...
    kernel /boot_knoppix/vmlinuz fromhd=/dev/hda4 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi


    instead of

    kernel /boot_knoppix/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi
    ...
    kernel /boot_knoppix/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 lang=us hdc=ide-scsi

    then I can install two copy of knoppix.

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    14

    minirt24.gz drove me crazy :-(

    I am customising Knoppix 3.4 and the minirt24.gz drove me crazy I gunzip it , then mount -o loop it, modified it, then gzip it, copy it to master/boot/isolinux, then

    mkisofs -pad -l -r -J -v -V "LABEL" -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table -b boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin -c boot/isolinux/boot.cat -hide-rr-moved -o /mnt/hda2/knx1/knoppix.iso /mnt/hda2/knx1/master

    I noticed everytime i mkisofs, the isolinux.bin also changed.

    When I boot from the new cd, it loaded the linux24 and minirt24 without problem, then it do the "Looking for CDROM in ..." but can't find the KNOPPIX cd so it failed.

    The weird thing is, if i use the original minirt24.gz and make the cd by exactly same way, it can boot. then I put the bootable cd in a cdburner, load the original session, then add a new session, just use my new minirt24.gz and isolinux.bin to replace the original one, this time it can find the Knoppix in /dev/scd0 and boot successful, and it's using my new version minirt24.gz. ( I found my new script worked ! )

Similar Threads

  1. When i boot from the cdrom drive...
    By invader in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 05:11 PM
  2. won't boot: can't unmount cdrom
    By cerulean in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-20-2004, 05:11 PM
  3. How to boot knoppix with USB CDROM
    By menisk in forum General Support
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 09:57 PM
  4. Possible help if you can't get Knoppix to boot from cdrom
    By rickenbacherus in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2003, 12:12 AM
  5. knoppix cdrom boot fails on some cdrom players
    By Koga in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-11-2003, 12:07 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM 204-Pin Memory RAM PC3L DDR3L 1x 8G

$13.99



Samsung 16GB 2Rx4 PC4-2133P DDR4-17000 1.2V RDIMM ECC Registered Server Memory picture

Samsung 16GB 2Rx4 PC4-2133P DDR4-17000 1.2V RDIMM ECC Registered Server Memory

$15.49



A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G picture

A-Tech 8GB PC3-12800 Desktop DDR3 1600 MHz Non ECC 240-Pin DIMM Memory RAM 1x 8G

$13.99



HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin picture

HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32GB 1600 MHz PC3-12800 Desktop RAM Memory DIMM 240pin

$12.90



A-Tech 16GB 2 x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM DDR3 1600 Memory RAM PC3L 16G DDR3L picture

A-Tech 16GB 2 x 8GB PC3-12800 Laptop SODIMM DDR3 1600 Memory RAM PC3L 16G DDR3L

$27.98



HP oem Samsung 16gb 1Rx4 PC4-2666V ddr4 ECC rdimm memory M393A2K40CB2-CTD7Y picture

HP oem Samsung 16gb 1Rx4 PC4-2666V ddr4 ECC rdimm memory M393A2K40CB2-CTD7Y

$25.00



HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM picture

HyperX FURY RAM DDR4 16GB 8GB 32GB 4GB 3200 2666 2400 2133 Desktop Memory DIMM

$9.64



Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM picture

Kingston HyperX FURY DDR3 8GB 16GB 32G 1600 1866 1333 Desktop Memory RAM DIMM

$13.25



A-Tech 256GB 4x 64GB 4Rx4 PC4-19200 ECC Load Reduced LRDIMM Server Memory RAM picture

A-Tech 256GB 4x 64GB 4Rx4 PC4-19200 ECC Load Reduced LRDIMM Server Memory RAM

$287.96



A-Tech 128GB 4x 32GB 2Rx4 PC4-19200R DDR4 2400 ECC REG RDIMM Server Memory RAM picture

A-Tech 128GB 4x 32GB 2Rx4 PC4-19200R DDR4 2400 ECC REG RDIMM Server Memory RAM

$191.96