Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to install knoppix (HD install)

how to install knoppix (HD install)

hey,

i'm using knoppix (live cd) for some time and I want to install some programs, but almost every program says that it can't write to the filesystem (probably because these files are on the cd).
    because of that and more (have a proper linux) I wanted to install knoppix on my hd, and I hv 2 questions:

first : how I install knoppik into my hd? what is the command or where I find it?

seconed : can I install it in external hd? the problem is that knoppix don't see that hd, only after it loads all the drivers.

thanks.

Senior Member registered user
    first: to install knoppix to HD the command is 'sudo knoppix-installer'.

second: You may be able to install to the external HD, but check: Is the external HD bootable?

hey im doin that today also. i had it workin. i had my accounts i added software and everything its great. im havin a bit of trouble now because im new to linux as you can see by my name but heres how u do it. i got it from a website i cant remember.

Installation Procedure
    To get Knoppix installed onto your hard drive:

1. Boot the Knoppix CD.

2. When the boot prompt comes up, choose your language.
    Most of us speak English, so we'll type:

boot: knoppix lang=en

then press ENTER (you don't type the 'boot:' part, of course)

3. Wait till the system is fully launched, including the KDE desktop

4. Press CTRL-ALT-F1, to get a root console. You should see a shell prompt

5. Type: knx-hdinstall

6. Follow the guided installation menus. This will include:

* Creating a Linux partition (at least 2.5GB
    * Creating a Linux Swap partition (at least 256MB)
    * 'Mounting' the Linux partition as root
    * Initialising the swap partition
    * Copying all the required files (automatically)
    * Setting up networking
    * Setting passwords