Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Klik app run fails (hacker solution for bug in pgm)

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305

    Klik app run fails (hacker solution for bug in pgm)

    What could cause APP RUN to fail?

    None of the applications responds with APP RUN in KDE. It just bounces for a half minute or so before extinguishing with no application following.

    JUK was properly entered and is activated from the application menu. All items attempted via the desktop do not function with APP RUN.

    Where do I find APP RUN?

    I am in Knoppix3.7 Deco8/04

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    Please install the klik client again and check whetther it works then.

    Greetings,
    probono

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    There is the same problem on my PC. New installing klik client doesn´t work.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Tried the re-install client several times with no help!

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Downloaded the install on another DVD of Knoppix3.7.

    Downloaded skype successfully. Appears on desktop.

    Right click of skype...AppRun... does not run skype program.

    Properties on skype...4.3MB....permissions can read and write.

    Does not AppRun

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,159
    I'll look at the bug at the weekend.
    Greetings,
    probono

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Reran the wget klik.atekon.de/client/install -O - | sh ...exactly as you stated.

    Received the following in HOME directory:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --15:32:01-- http://klik.atekon.de/client/install
    => `install'
    Resolving klik.atekon.de... 134.169.172.48
    Connecting to klik.atekon.de[134.169.172.48]:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 11,369 [text/plain]

    0K .......... . 100% 39.02 KB/s

    15:32:01 (39.02 KB/s) - `install' saved [11369/11369]

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    In addition there was a script file adjacent to the above file.

    I repeated the wget command with the original command I had entered: ( deleted the downloaded files)

    wget klik.atekon.de/client/install -O -|sh ......( different spacing)

    I received the same two entries in the HOME DIRECTORY. There was no entry in TMP file.

    The klik entry in /root/tmp appears only if a new .cmg file is downloaded.

    I will now try a new download of OPERA after first deleting the desktop icon for OPERA.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Additional info: After download of OPERA

    The fstab file lists mnt files 1 thru 7.

    The /root/tmp file shows KLIK and and entry therein of OPERA.

    The OPERA .cmg does not run from the desktop., right click, AppRun

    The script in HOME is called "Install ".

    I will try another download!

    I am trying "apcalc"
    Does not run from Deskttop "appRun"....appears in Klik directory....does not run from RUN COMMAND..
    Contents of "apcalc" file.....OPT USR AppInfo.xml AppRun Klik.log wrapper
    OPERA file has added ETC file.
    The fstab file appears below:

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    /proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /sys /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
    /dev/pts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/auto/floppy auto user,noauto,exec,umask=000 0 0
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/auto/cdrom auto user,noauto,exec,ro 0 0
    /dev/cdrom1 /mnt/auto/cdrom1 auto users,noauto,exec,ro 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1 ext2 noauto,users,exec 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda2 none swap defaults 0 0
    # Added by KNOPPIX
    /dev/hda3 /mnt/hda3 ext3 noauto,users,exec 0 0

    /mnt/app/1/image /mnt/app/1 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/2/image /mnt/app/2 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/3/image /mnt/app/3 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/4/image /mnt/app/4 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/5/image /mnt/app/5 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/6/image /mnt/app/6 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0
    /mnt/app/7/image /mnt/app/7 auto user,noauto,ro,loop,exec 0 0

    I hope this data helps to resolve the problem..

    Have a nice weekend!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Additional consideration:

    Perhaps the /mnt of the various 7 images is not implemented in the /mnt directory.

    Mine shows no /mnt/app1 thru 7.

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    I have been able to run apps by performing the following: (root)

    mkdir /mnt/app
    chmod 777 /mnt/app

    This directory does not install from the wget run command and is a bug for the Klik program.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 09:45 PM
  2. Klik fails in Fedora Core 4
    By universpace in forum Klik
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2006, 08:52 AM
  3. Recovery from hacker attack--is it safe to delete files?
    By superba in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2005, 05:55 PM
  4. Replies: 210
    Last Post: 12-04-2004, 03:04 PM
  5. When pump fails... (my solution)
    By probono in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2004, 04:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •