Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: A few Next Generation Tips and Tricks

  1. #11
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    I ran the "mount" program as you outlined it and received the following: ( Galculator.cmg has an icon on the Desktop, the program resides in /tmp/klik/galculator)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@n6re ~]# mount -o user,noauto,ro,exec /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg /mnt/app1
    mount: special device /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg does not exist
    [root@n6re ~]#

  2. #12
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    I ran the "mount" program as you outlined it and received the following: ( Galculator.cmg has an icon on the Desktop, the program resides in /tmp/klik/galculator)
    gcalculator.cmg IS on the desktop, not just an icon. The stuff in /tmp was used to build it. You can test if it has a hope of running by doing
    Code:
    /tmp/klik/galculator/wrapper
    If this doesn't work then the cmg isn't going to work either (probably missing dependencies as you are not using a supported distro).
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@n6re ~]# mount -o user,noauto,ro,exec /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg /mnt/app1
    mount: special device /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg does not exist
    [root@n6re ~]#
    Ooops, sorry, I forgot the loop, the user is uneccessaryand you missed out a / in /mnt/app/1. Should be:
    Code:
    mount -o loop.noauto,ro,exec /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg /mnt/app/1

  3. #13
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    The following occured when I performed the corrected "mount" command:__________________________________________ ________

    [root@n6re ~]# mount -o loop.noauto,ro,exec /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg /mnt/app/1
    mount: mount point /mnt/app/1 does not exist
    [root@n6re ~]#


    I could set up /mnt/app/1 with the chmod I needed in Knoppix.

    I haven't done the /tmp/klik/wrapper yet....

  4. #14
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    The following occured when I performed the corrected "mount" command:__________________________________________ ________

    [root@n6re ~]# mount -o loop.noauto,ro,exec /mnt/app/Desktop/galculator.cmg /mnt/app/1
    mount: mount point /mnt/app/1 does not exist
    [root@n6re ~]#


    I could set up /mnt/app/1 with the chmod I needed in Knoppix.

    I haven't done the /tmp/klik/wrapper yet....
    Ok, first try just clicking on the cmg you have (klik is installed? fstab is updated? /mnt/app is writable). Any errors or does it now work?
    Next try the /tmp/klik/galculator/wrapper and again report and errors if it doesn't work.
    Finally if it still isn't working, yes you will also need to mkdir /mnt/app/1 (no need to chmod or anything as you are the one using it). Just remember to delete it when you are finished using it.

  5. #15
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Ran the following (looks familiar!):
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@n6re ~]# /tmp/klik/galculator/wrapper
    /tmp/klik/galculator/usr/bin/galculator: error while loading shared libraries: libglade-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    [root@n6re ~]#

    So there is a dependency problem which prevents the app from being mounted in /mnt/app/1.

    My guess is that this might be universal for all the .cmg's in my limited number of librairies.

    I could load up on all librairies available and try again later. But...other failures may occur in other areas as well.

    Thanks for your patient and helpful answers.

  6. #16
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    Ran the following (looks familiar!):
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [root@n6re ~]# /tmp/klik/galculator/wrapper
    /tmp/klik/galculator/usr/bin/galculator: error while loading shared libraries: libglade-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    [root@n6re ~]#

    So there is a dependency problem which prevents the app from being mounted in /mnt/app/1.
    You may or may not have a problem with the mounting of the cmg files, you previously would have when you didn't have the exec option in fstab. This app won't run for you though as is because you are missing a library (at least one library). You could try and follow the previous advice on adding packages into your cmg if your brave!

  7. #17
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    As I said, the exec entry was always there from day one.

    I am not brave, a little crazy mebbe!
    I did try other .cmg files but they had lib problems, too.

    I suspect that to be only the first encountered dependency!

    I was able to run the same galculator.cmg from the Klik file after opening by click and drag the AppRun file therein to the wrapper file therein. It gave the same lib file not found. And AppRun another .cmg resulted in a different lib file not found using the same technique.

    Happy New Year!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. PATCH: Adding unique hostname generation with cheatcode
    By firnsy in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 11:09 AM
  2. Next Generation Klik...
    By gatiba in forum Klik
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 07:26 PM
  3. Multimedia tips.
    By aay in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-30-2003, 11:35 AM
  4. Idea for a new forum - tips & tricks
    By true1ever in forum Ideas
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 07:45 PM
  5. New Forum: Tips and Tricks
    By aay in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 05:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell PowerEdge R640 Server | 2x Gold 6132 28 Cores | H730p | Choose RAM / DRIVES picture

Dell PowerEdge R640 Server | 2x Gold 6132 28 Cores | H730p | Choose RAM / DRIVES

$2750.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 Server 2x E5-2690v3 2.6GHz =24 Cores 32GB H730 4xRJ45

$274.00



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Xeon E5-2680 V2 2.8GHz 20 Cores 256GB RAM 12x4TB

$510.00



Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD picture

Dell PowerEdge R730XD 28 Core Server 2X Xeon E5-2680 V4 H730 128GB RAM No HDD

$389.99



Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu picture

Dell PowerEdge R730, 2 sinks, SystemBoard, 8 trays,H330,Idrac 8 exp, 2x750w Psu

$135.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores  64gb  H730  2x 750w picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 2.5in 2x E5-2690 v3 2.6ghz 24-Cores 64gb H730 2x 750w

$189.99



Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x600Gb SAS, Proxmox picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server - 2x8c CPU,256Gb RAM, 128Gb SSD/3x600Gb SAS, Proxmox

$340.00



DELL PowerEdge R730 16SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 =28 Cores No RAM/ HDD H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R730 16SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 =28 Cores No RAM/ HDD H730 4xRJ45

$232.97



Dell R630 8 Port SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 28C H730P 128GB 2x Trays RJ-45 ENT picture

Dell R630 8 Port SFF Server 2x E5-2680v4 28C H730P 128GB 2x Trays RJ-45 ENT

$345.00



DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 256GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2690v4 2.6GHz =28 Cores 256GB H730 4xRJ45

$600.00