Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Grub of Lilo for 3.7?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5

    Grub of Lilo for 3.7?

    hello,

    I would like to try out the knoppix 3.7 and install it onto HDD, but want to know which boot loader it uses? still lilo like 1 year ago, or already moved to grub?

    thank you,
    NX

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    164

    Re: Grub of Lilo for 3.7?

    Quote Originally Posted by nhoxanh
    I would like to try out the knoppix 3.7 and install it onto HDD, but want to know which boot loader it uses? still lilo like 1 year ago, or already moved to grub?
    Knoppix uses isolinux. You can also use grub/lilo or any other bootloader. The installer (I think) still defaults to installing lilo, though you can get it to install grub instead if you want (save the config from the install and edit it before running the install again and loading the updated config), or just not install any boot loader and then use debian tools as normal to setup grub and I'm sure there are a million more ways you could do it.

Similar Threads

  1. debian/knoppix panic - lilo - grub- help
    By 2100cdt in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2005, 07:41 AM
  2. lilo to grub???
    By phantomshado in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2004, 06:45 AM
  3. Grub/lilo boot problems
    By madape in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 10:07 AM
  4. LILO: Get rid of it to install GRUB
    By arthur in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-11-2003, 05:09 PM
  5. how to set up lilo of grub..
    By jamesgf in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •