Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: df -a has no (root) / ??

  1. #1
    KnoDeb
    Guest

    df -a has no (root) / ??

    Not sure if this is the standard for knoppix hdinstall but in this way I can't do partimage fo hda1 because I only see the whole hard drive !!??

    Is it normal not to have the / as root=/dev/hda1

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    47

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470

    df problem (actually mtab problem)

    I followed the directions in the FAQ and fixed my mtab. I shut down the computer and mtab was exactly the way it was before, I guess in startup a new mtab is written. (this maybe a version thing)

    So I made an mtab file with my hd stuff and saved it as /etc/mtab-save. I then edited /etc/init.d/bootmisc.sh and added the following two lines at the bottom of the file:

    rm /etc/mtab
    cp /etc/mtab-save /etc/mtab

    now df works as it should.

    HTH

    rock

Similar Threads

  1. Root!
    By daemax in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2004, 02:05 AM
  2. root pwd
    By metroidprime13 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 03:13 AM
  3. root on USB
    By Alexxx in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 03:31 PM
  4. Becoming root
    By rbeabout in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-16-2003, 05:15 PM
  5. Only root can log in...?
    By gnosys in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 07:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •