Thread: knoppix 3.3 hd install

knoppix 3.3 hd install

i am new to linux and was wondering how to install to hd any help would be appreciated

Senior Member registered user
    Step-by-step:
    1. Insert CD
    2. Boot with bootcode 'knoppix lang=us' (assuming you want an english system. Don't use too many bootcodes, knoppix adds them into lilo.conf & sometimes there can be problmes with repeated commands).
    3. Open a terminal
    4. Type 'sudo knoppix-installer'
    5. Configure as desired & let it install. You will be asked about partitions, have the install create about a 4Gig partition for Knoppix & 500 Meg for swap (if you have that much space available).

In case any one else new to gnu/linux wishes to experiment with the truly wonderful, yet very easy, Knoppix -
    David McNab has a good how to, including lang settings on first boot ...

http://linuxreviews.org/software/lin...oppix-install/

cheers,
    m_m

Banned

Desperate for a Linux install to HD on an OLD laptop!!!

I'm desperate and need help. I really need to know how I can get some sort of graphic version of Linux, OpenOffice, and a web browser at least installed to an older Toshiba Satellite Pro 430CDT with a 1.3 GIG Hard Drive.

I noticed the Knoppix disk with all the great stuff on it compressed is only 600-something MB. How can I get a bootable/editable image of this on the laptop's hard drive in a way that it would be usable and able to save data to the drive, etc?

I followed the instructions above for doing a regular hard drive install but it still tells me it needs at least 2GB of space and a 128MB swapfile!!!!

Does anyone know if I have ANY alternative installs that would fit on this thing??