Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Mandrake, XP, Knoppix and GRUB configuration

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1

    Mandrake, XP, Knoppix and GRUB configuration

    Hello,
    Before posting i read the FAQ's and searched the forums but i was unable to find the information on this topic.
    I have installed Windows XP and Mandrake Linux 10.1 on my PC. I am using GRUB as boot loader, since i had a few problems using LILO and NTFS.
    I've downloaded knoppix 3.7 Live CD and booted it from CD. Everything worked fine and i want to install knoppix and use GRUB to boot it along the other OS'.
    I have the following plan:
    I create a 1GB partition ext3 for knoppix cd and 256 MB partition swap for swap.
    Next, I start knoppix from the CD using the cheatcode "tohd=/dev/hdeX" to copy knoppix to the HD.
    Later i boot from the knoppix CD and type "fromhd=/dev/hdeX". It boots fine and i make the persistent homedir via the knoppix menu.

    On this stage of the installation, does knoppix write to the MBR?

    Then i add the following lines to grub.conf under Mandrake:

    title Knoppix
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.6 root=/dev/hdb1 ro ramdisk_size=100000 lang=us apm=power-off hda=scsi hdb=scsi hdc=scsi hdd=scsi hde=scsi hdf=scsi hdg=scsi hdh=scsi nomce vga=791
    initrd=/boot/initrd.img-2.6.6
    And theoretically when i start the PC GRUB will let me choose to boot between WinXP, Mandrake and Knoppix.

    My system configuration is:
    Pentium III Katmai @ 500 Mhz, MB: ABIT B6-II with HPT370 Raid controller (works fine), HDD: 160 GB Seagate, LAN Card, Video Card: Diamond Viper V770 (Riva TNT2); TV Card(Pixelview PlayTV Pak). All of them work fine on mandrake 10.1 (kernel 2.6.x) and i've tested them with knoppix live cd.

    Is this procedure correct? Is there a better way to install knoppix without any chance of damaging the other OS'?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dieselboy

  2. #2
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Menlo Park, California
    Posts
    667

    Re: Mandrake, XP, Knoppix and GRUB configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by Dieselboy
    Hello, ... Is there a better way to install knoppix without any chance of damaging the other OS'? ...Dieselboy
    Maybe... Look at this: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11796
    You can boot from the iso being on an other partition (ntfs,fat,ext) using grub.
    Gilles

Similar Threads

  1. Knoppix on top of Mandrake Mini
    By bi11i in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2005, 09:29 PM
  2. Help booting mandrake install with grub...
    By rrfish72 in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2004, 10:53 PM
  3. Knoppix over Mandrake
    By Muka in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2003, 03:56 PM
  4. Goodbye Knoppix - Hello Mandrake
    By Drago in forum General Support
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-09-2003, 10:51 PM
  5. Mandrake to Knoppix PartitionProblems (I think)
    By fullerton in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2003, 04:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •