Thread: Sub-Newbie-Level-Question

Sub-Newbie-Level-Question

Hey,

First off, let me make it clear that I'm a complete newbie to Linux, and due to a very ... intermittent, self-tutoring with computers, there are likley to be several basic concepts that I've missed completley, if you're impatient, turn back now before you flame me

Ok, I've downloaded the Knoppix v3.2 .iso from one of the mirrors, it's 700mb and I'm more concerned with getting that working than making sure it's correct with the .md5 that's with it (ahh, gotta love that irony).

I am unsure how to burn Knoppix to a CD under winXP, I'm using Nero, but so far the 2cds I've burnt are just coasters, they just hang the bootup until I take them out of the drive.

So, anyone with enough time and generosity to explain EXACTLY what a .ISO is, and why they're important to Linux, how to burn a bootable one, and anything else on that kinda level or above that they think I should know, please, tell me.

Thanks,
    -W.

Senior Member registered user
    IIRC with nero you cannot use the wizard, look for "burn image" or something of the sort, in "burn image" window look in the filetype dropdown and it should have iso as an optional file type.

BTW I haven't used nero in about 2 years, but I've read about using it, also check the "Docs" here for one on writing cd's, if not here look on knopper's site in his documentation.

An iso is an image of a cd, nothing linux "special", it is a file that is a "copy" of an entire bootable cd with full directory structure, etc.

rock

While it is technically possible to use the Nero wizard it's a pain in the arse- just close it click file>burn image then browse to your image. That's it. Rock is right- an .iso is just an image and is not particular to one operating system or the other.

Nero use

As pretty much a newbie myself, I can testify that this is very easy if you are using Nero -- I used it myself just this morning. Though I didn't bother with the checksum.