Thread: display corrupted on fresh install of kanotix 3

display corrupted on fresh install of kanotix 3

can anyone help me maually edit my display settings in kanotix? i recently installed version 3 on my 2nd harddrive and for some reason it doesnt like my sampo alphascan sv monitor---it worked fine using another monitor---and MAN does this dvd i got from linux magazine already have a BUNCH of useful apps on it--unfortunately---it doesnt like the sampo---display is so corrupted i cant set it using the gui---AND BTW--i did format the drive and re-install kanotix after i discovered the display was corrupted on this monitor, so its not due to settings from the previous monitor i was using--this problem exists whether or not i boot from the dvd or the hard drive---and the display works fine using knoppix! I am new to linux but not puters--my 1st one was a commodore 64, so rest assured that i will be able to put your good advice to use! surely i do appreciate any help y'all could give me on this---its the only thing stopping me from being able to give microsoft the boot--and SURELY that's a worthy pursuit!

p. s.---i have the boot disc from "recovery is possible" already burned--so if i cant do it from a command prompt inside kanotix itself (and WHY wouldnt i?) i have that option available as well! thanks again for any help i recieve here peoples--later

Senior Member registered user
    Ok, here goes, ...

What is happening, where is it happening, what does it look like, does it recover, at any point, does it boot, just the monitor is the issue, etc...

Here is what I would like to know, more information...

As an example:

I have two computers, my first computer, boots from GRUB, the boot menu looks fine, then goes to the "text" boot, which looks fine, then goes to a black screen, and then KDE and the "Login" menu screen comes up, fine -=- i.e. everything is fine...