Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Root and KDE

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323

    Root and KDE

    If you try to use X-apps as root you probably get:
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# kedit
    kedit: cannot connect to X server :0.0
    There are several fixes. I usually make a .profile in roots home dir with the following content:
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# cat .profile
    export DISPLAY=:0.0
    You can check the variable with:
    markus@mrk-fujibox:~$ echo $DISPLAY
    :0.0
    To create the file you need to use a console editor like mcedit:
    markus@mrk-fujibox:~$ su
    Password:
    root@mrk-fujibox:/home/markus# cd
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# mcedit .profile
    -use F2 to save and F10 to quit, tips are at the bottom of the screen.

    If you try to login to KDE as root it won't work. You should never login to KDE as root as it's a security risk.
    To do root stuff you can use:
    - sudo
    - su
    - sux
    - kdesu kedit (or some other app)
    If you really, really need to login to KDE as root you can search this forum for the answer, it's here but I'm not posting it in this thread for the simple reason that it shoudn't be used.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    71

    Re: Root and KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Markus
    If you try to use X-apps as root you probably get:
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# kedit
    kedit: cannot connect to X server :0.0
    There are several fixes. I usually make a .profile in roots home dir with the following content:
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# cat .profile
    export DISPLAY=:0.0
    That's usually not enough - it won't work e.g. if you issue "su -" in a console to open a root shell. You'd have to also enter "xhost +localhost" before you do the "su -" to get permission to connect to the local X server; even better: open the root shell by "kdesu xterm" (or any other X console program); this will transfer the "magic X11 cookie" needed to connect to the X server (that is also the command that you execute, if you open a root shell from the Knoppix menu).

    Thomas

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    You're probably right, forgot the following file I have:
    markus@mrk-fujibox:~$ cat .kde/Autostart/kufbootstuff.sh
    #!/bin/sh
    xhost local:
    numlockx on

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,323
    As someone pointed out the file permissions also play a role in this:
    root@mrk-fujibox:~# ll ~/.profile
    -rw------- 1 root root 31 Mar 6 13:54 /root/.profile

    markus@mrk-fujibox:~$ ll ~/.kde/Autostart/kufbootstuff.sh
    -rwx------ 1 markus markus 284 Dec 16 19:52 /home/markus/.kde/Autostart/kufbootstuff.sh

    The filename kufbootstuff.sh can be changed to anything.sh
    You can set the executable bit with: chmod u+x ~/.kde/Autostart/filename.sh

    You also need to logout and login again for the file under .kde to get loaded, or just do: xhost local:

Similar Threads

  1. Can only log on as Root
    By Amdmhz in forum Networking
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-23-2004, 04:21 PM
  2. root pwd
    By metroidprime13 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 03:13 AM
  3. root on USB
    By Alexxx in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 03:31 PM
  4. How do you log in as Root
    By Snow in forum General Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-03-2004, 03:12 PM
  5. df -a has no (root) / ??
    By KnoDeb in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2003, 09:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB picture

Dell Poweredge R630 2x Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4ghz 28-Cores / 128gb / H330 / 2x 1TB

$334.99



Dell PowerEdge R730 2x E5-2699V3 2.3Ghz 36 Core 128GB RAM H730 X520-I350 2x750W picture

Dell PowerEdge R730 2x E5-2699V3 2.3Ghz 36 Core 128GB RAM H730 X520-I350 2x750W

$329.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330 picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2640v3 2.60Ghz 16-Core 64GB H330

$182.65



Dell Poweredge R630 Server 2x E5-2620 V4 =16 Cores | S130 | 32GB RAM | 2x trays picture

Dell Poweredge R630 Server 2x E5-2620 V4 =16 Cores | S130 | 32GB RAM | 2x trays

$159.99



Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 Server 2x E5-2680 V4 = 28 Cores S130 32GB RAM NEW 480GB SSD

$197.99



DELL R630 SERVER 8 x 2.5'' 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU picture

DELL R630 SERVER 8 x 2.5'' 2X E5-2680V4 32GB RAM IDRAC ENT & NDC 2X 495W PSU

$184.95



Dell PowerEdge R720xd 26HDD 300gb  2.5-inch E5-2697  X 2CPU 384RAM 7.2 Tb HDD  picture

Dell PowerEdge R720xd 26HDD 300gb 2.5-inch E5-2697 X 2CPU 384RAM 7.2 Tb HDD 

$180.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd 12 Bay LFF 2x SFF  2x E5-2680v3 2.5ghz H730p No Ram No HDD picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd 12 Bay LFF 2x SFF 2x E5-2680v3 2.5ghz H730p No Ram No HDD

$219.99



DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45 picture

DELL PowerEdge R630 8SFF Server 2x E5-2680v3 2.5GHz =24 Cores 128GB H730 4xRJ45

$338.00



Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config picture

Dell Poweredge R730xd LFF 14-Bay 2U Server | Choose Your CPU & RAM Config

$527.99