Thread: Copy file to another Windows PC or USB device

Copy file to another Windows PC or USB device

Hi,

This is my first time using Knoppix to recover WinXP Pro SP2 files. I was able to create bootable Knoppix cd and see the WinXP hard disk, even get to the data, but I can't copy data to shared folder on another Windows system. I can see the domain, server and shared folder but when I attempt to copy I get this error: Access Denied. Could not write to smb://administrator@joe/docs/outlook.pst

I don't have any encryption, everyone has full rights to this folder, am I missing a step?
    Another option would be to copy files to a USB memory key, but I have no clue where to look for it, using Knoppix 3.7.

Please respond using clarification as well instructions for dummies (I found the console), it's my first time using Knoppix and I’m lost … as donkey. If I have to mount a volume or mount a USB with read/write rights, I haven't been able to figure that out.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Plug in a USB stick.
    Now do you see an icon on your desktop called SDA1 ?
    If not goto console and type mount /dev/sda1 rw

Now you have access to your usb stick as a normal drive.

Hope this helps

Rony

Senior Member registered user
    the correct command for mounting a usb key looks like this:
    mkdir /mnt/usbkey
    sudo mount -t vfat /dev/uba1 /mnt/usbkey
    You may need to change the /dev/uba1 to /dev/sda1 depending on how your system identifies the device.

as for the samba thing, you would be better off starting the samba server on the broken machine, and going to grab the files you need from the non-broken machine. There's a way to set it up so you can write remotely but I don't remember at the moment.
    On the windows machine, click start -> run -> \\192.168.x.x (the ip of the broken machine. can be found by typing ifconfig at the broken machine's terminal)
    this will open the broken box's shares.