Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Documentation on different distros of Linux

Documentation on different distros of Linux

Hi all;

I am new to linux and after looking for a suitable distribution to start learning, I have decided to use knoppix installed in my HD.
    Looking at different distributions, I know that the linux kernel is common to everyone, but depending of the distro, I think there are certain
    konsole commands that are particular to each version, for example "apt-get" for Debian, "emerge" for Gentoo and so on.
    I have a book on Linux and Unix, but is there anywhere specific information about Knoppix (Debian) thant explains well the particularities of these distros???

Thanks all in advance

PD: by the way is it possible when I knew more, to recompile the kernel and programs of knoppix to convert it to my 64 bit (AMD64) platform? (Doesn work well the one in the net)

Best Regards

Senior Member registered user
    I am new to linux and after looking for a suitable distribution to start learning, I have decided to use knoppix installed in my HD.
    Looking at different distributions, I know that the linux kernel is common to everyone, but depending of the distro,
    That is correct.

I think there are certain konsole commands that are particular to each version, for example "apt-get" for Debian, "emerge" for Gentoo and so on.
    Debian's apt-get/dpkg and Gentoo's emerge are high level software package managment tools & yes they are specific to a particular breed of linux distros. Something to remember is that apt-get is NOT specific to just Debian or Debian based distros like Knoppix or Mepis. Apt-get/synaptic is a front-end to Debian's dpkg system. As a front end, it can and is used on RPM based distros like redhat & suse.

but is there anywhere specific information about Knoppix (Debian) thant explains well the particularities of these distros???