Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Getting Knoppix to boot off a USB Hard Disk

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    Have tried to follow your guide rldleblanc but I run into a problem that I can't seem to solve (Newbie warning).

    Code:
    noppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ su
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# mount -o remount,rw /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# cd /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# mkdir boot
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# grub-install /dev/sda
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/boot/grub': Read-only file system
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]#
    My setup:
    Computer is USB bootable
    18Gb USB drive with
    sda1 ext2 1Gb Knoppix tohd install
    sda2 ext2 4Gb Persistant Home
    sda3 swap 512Mb
    sda4 ntfs 13Gb for WinXP transfers between home and work

    Any solutions or ideas would be greatly appreciated (include big pictures since I'm a Knoppix/linux newb )

    /watar

  2. #12
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# grub-install /dev/sda
    mkdir: cannot create directory `/boot/grub': Read-only file system
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]#
    Hmmm, it is not trying to put grub at /dev/sda1/boot/grub. I will need to review the grub part. I had written down thoses steps after I had done a lot of other things to get it to work. I should be able to look into it a little later today. I think it may be:
    Code:
    grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda
    Let me know if that works for you.

    Robert

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    Code:
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ su
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# mount -o remount,rw /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# cd /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# mkdir boot
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    /dev/root: Not found or not a block device.
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]#

  4. #14
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by watar
    Code:
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ su
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# mount -o remount,rw /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# cd /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# mkdir boot
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]# grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    /dev/root: Not found or not a block device.
    root@ttyp1[cdrom]#
    OK, give this a try, it should work because I just tried it out!
    Code:
    grub-install --root-directory=/cdrom --recheck /dev/sda
    That should force the recheck of the drives and get rid of the /dev/root message from not having the filesystem mounted. After the recheck you can redo the grub-install command without the recheck flag (but you shouldn't need to).

    Let me know if that works for you.

    Robert

  5. #15
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    16
    Ah..... Can you give me step by step instructions on how to do this? I'm a major windows user but I want to learn the linux interface, and this is braille to me.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8
    Ok, latest update

    Code:
    knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ su
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# mount -o remount,rw /cdrom
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]# grub-install --root-directory=/cdrom --recheck /dev/sda
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    Due to a bug in xfs_freeze, the following command might produce a segmentation
    fault when /cdrom/boot/grub is not in an XFS filesystem. This error is harmlessand
    can be ignored.
    xfs_freeze: specified file ["/cdrom/boot/grub"] is not on an XFS filesystem
    Installation finished. No error reported.
    This is the contents of the device map /cdrom/boot/grub/device.map.
    Check if this is correct or not. If any of the lines is incorrect,
    fix it and re-run the script `grub-install'.
    
    (fd0)   /dev/fd0
    (hd0)   /dev/hda
    (hd1)   /dev/hdb
    (hd2)   /dev/sda
    (hd3)   /dev/sdb
    root@ttyp1[knoppix]#
    The probing took almost an hour before it was done but finally it seemed to work as it should.
    Next step
    Code:
    vi boot/grub/menu.lst
    -- in vi add the following lines --
    default 0
    timeout 0
    
    title knoppix
    kernel /linux24 usb2 ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet BOOT_IMAGE=knoppix
    initrd /minirt24.gz
    --save and exit vi--
    Copied linux24 and minirt24.gz to /cdrom
    Saved, reboot... GRUB boots ok...
    "Sorry can't find KNOPPIX image something something"
    Boot from LiveCD, try to find out why it doesn't work.
    After many tries/reboots/hysterical breakdowns... my menu.lst looks like this and seems to work as it should
    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 0
    
    title knoppix
    kernel /linux24 usb2 fromhd=/dev/sda1 ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=se apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet home=/dev/sda2 screen=1280x1024
    initrd /minirt24.gz
    Now for step 2, configuring GRUB to let me choose between Knoppix or native OS on the computer (WinXP) and some other remastering...

    Thanks for your help and patience
    /W

  7. #17
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10
    [/code]
    Copied linux24 and minirt24.gz to /cdrom
    Saved, reboot... GRUB boots ok...
    "Sorry can't find KNOPPIX image something something"
    Boot from LiveCD, try to find out why it doesn't work.
    After many tries/reboots/hysterical breakdowns... my menu.lst looks like this and seems to work as it should
    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 0
    
    title knoppix
    kernel /linux24 usb2 fromhd=/dev/sda1 ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=se apm=power-off vga=791 nomce quiet home=/dev/sda2 screen=1280x1024
    initrd /minirt24.gz
    I'd be careful with the fromhd option if you want your install to be very portable. Some computers like HP seem to always make the drive /dev/sdb. I think since you are using ext2 you can remove the KNOPPIX_IMAGE option and it looks for upper and lower case versions of the KNOPPIX image. As far as the home directory. I haven't looked into that yet, but you would have the same problem. I'm thinking of modifying the script that if it finds a particular file in the root of the filesystem it makes the entire filesystem to be your home directory. If all the computers that you use your USB drive treat it the same, I think youv'e got it nailed. As far as having Grub chain load Winodws, I woudn't worry about that, just disconnect your drive before reboot and when Windows starts booting, plug in your drive. I think your would need a configuration for every Windows computer/partition that you want to boot.

    I hope it all helped!

    Robert

  8. #18
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    16
    Can you guys help me do this type of stuff? I'm on 2 weeks of holiday so I have enough time now to complete/learn how to do this.

  9. #19
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Crenn
    Can you guys help me do this type of stuff? I'm on 2 weeks of holiday so I have enough time now to complete/learn how to do this.
    What exactly are you having problems with? The steps I outlined worked pretty good for watar, minus the grub issue he was having. I need more to go on to help you out.

    Robert

  10. #20
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    16
    Let's put it this way. I can't use linux. I can only click and play the games but that's about it. I'm so basic at linux that my sister who knowsbugger all about computer can do more things in linux than me....

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 02:32 PM
  2. Iso Hard disk boot 3.8.1
    By vegetto in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2005, 12:40 AM
  3. knoppix won't boot graphically from hard disk
    By jariep in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2005, 04:50 PM
  4. Can I use Lilo to boot knoppix from hard disk ??
    By fm78 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-13-2003, 09:44 AM
  5. 2 hard disk installation won't boot to knoppix
    By bret in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2003, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


new GENUINE LENOVO Upper Case Palmrest 5CB0W43606 w/ BL keyboard C940-15IRH 81TE picture

new GENUINE LENOVO Upper Case Palmrest 5CB0W43606 w/ BL keyboard C940-15IRH 81TE

$95.99



USA new Genuine L21L4P73 L21M4P75 Battery For LENOVO THINKPAD T14S GEN 3 GEN 4 picture

USA new Genuine L21L4P73 L21M4P75 Battery For LENOVO THINKPAD T14S GEN 3 GEN 4

$75.18



Geunine Lenovo Yoga 7 16IAH7 82UF Palmrest+BL Keyboard Upper case assembly picture

Geunine Lenovo Yoga 7 16IAH7 82UF Palmrest+BL Keyboard Upper case assembly

$138.99



Lenovo Legion 5 15.6

Lenovo Legion 5 15.6" Gaming Laptop AMD R7 7735HS RTX 4060 16GB RAM 512GB SSD

$849.99



Lenovo IdeaPad Pro 5i, 16″, i5-13500H, 16 GB, 1 TB SSD, RTX 3050, 120Hz, Laptop picture

Lenovo IdeaPad Pro 5i, 16″, i5-13500H, 16 GB, 1 TB SSD, RTX 3050, 120Hz, Laptop

$709.99



Lenovo 300e 11.6

Lenovo 300e 11.6" 2in1 Touchscreen Laptop Computer 4GB RAM 64GB SSD Windows 10

$83.99



Lenovo ThinkPad E560 Intel Core i5-6200U 2.3GHz 8GB RAM 500GB HDD W10P w/Charger picture

Lenovo ThinkPad E560 Intel Core i5-6200U 2.3GHz 8GB RAM 500GB HDD W10P w/Charger

$74.99



Lenovo IdeaPad 3i 15.6

Lenovo IdeaPad 3i 15.6" Laptop Intel Core i3-1215U 8GB Ram 256GB SSD W11H

$219.99



Lenovo Notebook ThinkPad L14 AMD Gen 3 Laptop, 14

Lenovo Notebook ThinkPad L14 AMD Gen 3 Laptop, 14" FHD IPS 60Hz

$409.99



Lenovo ThinkPad P14s Gen 3 AMD Laptop, 14

Lenovo ThinkPad P14s Gen 3 AMD Laptop, 14" IPS 60Hz, Ryzen 7 PRO 6850U, 16GB

$654.99