Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dselect/aptitude/apt-get

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872

    dselect/aptitude/apt-get

    How can I tell these application which distribution(woody/sarge/sid) to look for ? I have debootstrap a woody distribution but want to upgrade the applications to sarge/sid(or testing/unstable).

    thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    edit your /etc/apt/sources.list file and change "stable" or "woody" to "testing" or "unstable", example:

    Change the line:
    deb ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian woody main contrib non-free
    to:
    deb ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian testing main contrib non-free
    or:
    deb ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian unstable main contrib non-free

    HTH

    rock

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    That works, thanks.

    I noticed that KNOPPIX use a some what different method by listing all (stable/testing/unstable) sources and use apt.conf to control what default to choose from.

    I am wondering if it this case, there is any application which present the information in a nice way such that I can from one single interface to choose which distribution to pick from. Or may be I need to fallback to apt-get(which is a command line utility) pick which distribution to download from.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Podunk, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    470
    I only know and use apt-get, in knoppix since it has multiple repositories listed, ie: stable, testing and unstable; to install a package from the unstable repository you would use:

    apt-get -t unstable install *packagename


    Note: you would use " -t unstable " for sid, and " -t stable " for woody otherwise the default in apt.conf is used which is testing. My knoppix 3.1 1-20 release has the following line in /etc/apt/apt.conf:

    APT:efault-Release "testing";
    ...
    so by default when you use apt-get install it would look in the testing repository.

    HTH

    rock

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    872
    thanks again. Seems that I better stick with the command line which I have been using for quite some time.

  6. #6
    You may want to look at pinning - works for me:

    http://jaqque.sbih.org/kplug/apt-pinning.html

    HTH
    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. aptitude got rid of packages, now i can't get online!
    By ogami1972 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-30-2005, 07:25 PM
  2. Dselect
    By Sgeo in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-30-2004, 03:28 AM
  3. knoppix 3.3 - installation blown usising 'aptitude'
    By Timothy Truckle in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2004, 09:26 PM
  4. dselect unable to search packages
    By Adm in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2003, 05:09 PM
  5. cant apt-get/dselect after update
    By davidHarris in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-01-2003, 04:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •