Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with K3B, noob to knoppix and linux please help

  1. #1

    Help with K3B, noob to knoppix and linux please help

    Hi, my windows Xp recently suffered a major crash, and I am not able to get into my computer through windows. Since i figured this was a crash on my operating system, and I need to back up some files, I figured id try knoppix. I have 2 cd drives(the one i am not running knoppix on, the one i would burn with is a MadDog 6 in 1 dvd burner.), and planned to use K3b to save my data. I am using knoppix 3.7 EN.

    First I mounted my harddrive then opened it up in konquer. Then I opened up K3b and preceeded to drag the files from the mounted partion to the K3b program. I was able to "successfully" burn the files onto a disk, as the program said I did. When I attempted to veiw these files on my mothers work laptop(which runs WinXP) to make sure they were burned correctly, but when I tried to view the contents of the cd, it said there was a d:/ drive error, and the cd could not be read. When I tried to view it on my brothers computer (a dell, with no internet, because I had to freshly reformat it and dells are a pain to fix up so everything works), it said there was no disk in the drive. I burned these files twice, on 2 different disks, and got the same results both times. I got angry and hoped maybe someone here could help me out (as google gave no help, it couldnt even tell me to drag the files from my partion...).

    Now, I would network with the laptop, but because its my mother's "work" laptop, I am not allowed to network it because i may give it viruses from all my so called "corrupt" files. I know my harddrive and data were not damaged, only the operating system, so i should be able to recover the data. I would also network with that other dell computer but i have not been able to get any sort of internet or LAN connection running though that thing, as stupid dell had to seperate ALL of its drivers from the actuall winXP installation.

    If any more information is needed about my system I will gladly relay it to you as soon as possible. Thanks in advance for your help if anyone can help me out here.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In a house... hopefully
    Posts
    554
    i'm sorry... but what i am going to say, is not proven, and is pritty much me theory and common sence... so it might be way off...

    ok first mistake... i havent really used K3b because i dont have a burner... but configure it so that windows can read it... for example some file formats (on burnt cd) cant be read because its like in an advanced file format, but your still using dos... hopefully you understood that example... not good at examples... sorry...

    ok... using Nero, and it says its different iso file types are ISO level 1 or 2, character sets are either ISO 9960 or Dos or ASCII, etc... if i use a ISO level 2, with ASCII and burn a cd... me windows 95 will not reconise it nor open it... its been writen in a different file type format... the same thing proberly goes with K3b... just goto options and change it to ISO level 1 or 2, with characters set to ISO 9960 or ASCII etc... making sure that windows will be able to view the file...

    sadly... me internet connected pc is running windows... (this will hopefully change soon)... so i dont know if K3b has their file formats... you can always retest the cd, by opening knoppix agian, and insterting the cd to see if knoppix will reconise it...

    hopefully i have sorta helped... but yet again, i havent really burnt anything using knoppix yet... sorry...

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    I can see three possible issues:

    1. And most likely -- you didn't set the "filesystem" to "add joliet extensions".

    2. You used a CD-RW -- these are notorious for reading fine in the drive which created them, but not in another.

    3. There's a general incompatability issue between your drive and your mum's.

  4. #4
    well, like i said im still new at knoppix so i dont know how to set the filesystem to add joliet extensions, so i obviously didnt do that. And actually i did used a cd-rw, ill have to try it with a cd-r. Its not a incompatability issue because the drives have always been compatable with each other, plus it was also incompatable with my brothers dell pc.

    So i guess ill try to figure out how to set the file system thing and ill try a cd-r... ill reply back with results.

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    so i dont know how to set the filesystem to add joliet extensions
    Does take some learning. But in K3b, once you know where everything is.........

    When you click on the "burn" icon, if you've selected a "new data project" you'll see a grey screen with lots of tabs on it. Its one of those. Let us know how you get on.......

  6. #6
    thank you so much, i turned the add joilent thing on and used a cd-r and it worked great. Thanks for all your help.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In a house... hopefully
    Posts
    554
    1. And most likely -- you didn't set the "filesystem" to "add joliet extensions".
    , it took me how many words to explain what i just said... and it took you a sentence... lol... trust that to happen... (happened to me in chem today to...)...

    glade we could help...

Similar Threads

  1. Another linux noob...
    By Caboose in forum Laptops
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-08-2005, 07:44 PM
  2. Ultra linux noob needs help!
    By Catdaemon in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 04:30 AM
  3. noob and linux kernel
    By akvasu in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2004, 04:15 PM
  4. noob too linux
    By evirus in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2004, 05:35 PM
  5. Linux noob.. few questions getting set up..
    By koma in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2003, 04:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


SAS - HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724040ALA640 0F14688 3.5

SAS - HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724040ALA640 0F14688 3.5" 4TB 7.2K RPM 64MB HDD

$19.99



HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5

HITACHI HUS724040ALA640 4TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HARD DRIVE ZERO HOURS

$52.00



Western Digital DC HC320 Ultrastar 8TB 7200RPM SATA HD, HUS728T8TALE6L4, 0B36404 picture

Western Digital DC HC320 Ultrastar 8TB 7200RPM SATA HD, HUS728T8TALE6L4, 0B36404

$99.00



WD 4TB Gold Enterprise - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB CACHE 3.5

WD 4TB Gold Enterprise - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB CACHE 3.5" HDD - WD4002FYYZ

$42.95



HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5

HGST Ultrastar DC HC520 12TB SATA 6Gb 256MB 3.5" Enterprise HDD- HUH721212ALE601

$74.99



Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB SATA 6Gb/s 256MB 7200RPM 3.5

Seagate ST12000NM0127 12TB SATA 6Gb/s 256MB 7200RPM 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive

$99.99



1TB HDD/SSD 2.5

1TB HDD/SSD 2.5" SATA Hard Drive with Windows 10 or Windows 11 Pro Installed

$18.99



Seagate Exos X20 18TB SATA 6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate Exos X20 18TB SATA 6Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Hard Drive - ST18000NM003D

$168.00



Hitachi 4TB 3.5

Hitachi 4TB 3.5" Hard Drive HUS724040ALE640 Ultrastar 7K4000 Internal 7.2K

$49.95



Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5

Seagate ST1000VM002 1TB 64MB SATA6Gb/s 3.5" (Low Power) Hard Drive -PC, CCTV DVR

$24.99