Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX

  1. #1
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    52

    HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX

    Dear,

    We developed HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX which gets pieces of cloop file form a HTTP server and re-configure virtual cloop file with HTTP-FUSE driver. HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX is small bootimage(6MB) and downloads necessary pieces of cloop files on demand. HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX can save the downloaded pieces and reuse them at next boot.
    The detail is shown the following URL and you can download the HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX.
    http://unit.aist.go.jp/itri/knoppix/.../index-en.html

    Following figures (Figure1 and 2) show difference of normal KNOPPIX and HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX.

    Figure 1: normal CD KNOPPIX


    Figure 2: HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX



    HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX is developed by a bitter lesson of SFS-KNOPPIX. SFS-KNOPPIX lacks extensibility and suffers network latency. HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX solves these problems.
    http://unit.aist.go.jp/itri/knoppix/sfs/index-en.html
    http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14904

    HTTP-FUSE KNOPIX uses HTTP to get pieces of cloop image and can reuse them. HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX can use mirror servers and proxies to distribute the pieces. Furthermore HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX has a function to select the nearest site by "netselect".


    HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX is based on FUSE(Filesytem in USERspace).
    http://fuse.sourceforge.net
    If you are interested in the implementation, please visit the following HP.
    http://unit.aist.go.jp/itri/knoppix/...en.html#detail


    Have fun, HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX!

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Suzaki;

    Please advise the correct format for static IP:

    I tried ....Knoppix26 lang=us pdt nodhcp "IPaddress:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx "Netmask:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx."DefaultGateway:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx "NameServer:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    It did not provide a static IP and stopped after 3 tries at dhcp.

    The description was given in your data and I followed it exactly...an example would be best description.

    The description also leaves out the Kernel version...knoppix26.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    Suzaki;

    Please advise the correct format for static IP:

    I tried ....Knoppix26 lang=us pdt nodhcp "IPaddress:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx "Netmask:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx."DefaultGateway:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx "NameServer:", xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

    It did not provide a static IP and stopped after 3 tries at dhcp.

    The description was given in your data and I followed it exactly...an example would be best description.

    The description also leaves out the Kernel version...knoppix26.
    try
    knoppix26 lang=us pdt staticipaddress
    at boot prompt.
    after boot, there appears
    IP address:
    prompt, and input your IP address here. and following
    Netmask:
    Default Gateway:
    Name Server:
    prompt, you can input yours.

    regards.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    suzaki;

    Entered the staticaddress boot option and was able to enter the data but had to change to normal keyboard....no usb keyboard control.

    Selected data-hotel Knoppix37EDU....waiting until fs wrapper is done........done

    Then the system hangs with blinking cursor.

    Do I have to make an entry at this point?

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    52
    lilsirecho,

    Quote Originally Posted by lilsirecho
    Selected data-hotel Knoppix37EDU....waiting until fs wrapper is done........done
    Then the system hangs with blinking cursor.
    Do I have to make an entry at this point?
    Please choose "NETSELECT" at second menu. "NETSELECT" finds automatically the nearest site for your PC.
    And please tell me the delay of NETSELECT. IF the delay is more than 1000, it takes more than 15 sec to boot KNOPPIX.

    Can you save the downloaded split-and-compressed blcok files on your PC?
    After second boot, HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX uses the downloaded block files.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    I tried HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX and found that the delay is high. Netselect shows the delay ranging from as low as 390 to as high as 1081. I was not able to get HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX to fully load. It stopped after "setting paths" and I waited 5 minutes and it did not progress. I though it might have lost the connection. I used a separate PC with Knoppix and ethereal to inspect the packets and found that HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX was still downloading the compressed blocks. I decided to shut the PC off since I no longer wanted to wait.

    I will try again tonight and will wait the full amount of time for the system to boot.

    I would like to setup a local http mirror of the HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX compressed blocks. Is there a HOWTO or a guide to do so? Can I rsync from a HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX mirror to my local network?

    Thanks for your time,
    James

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Suzaki;

    I used NETSELECT for this trial...

    The result was the display of all possible "ring" sources and the delay incurred for each as follows:


    ring so net 9999
    tains tohaku 9999
    toyama/arch 9999
    toyama-u/arch 23036
    data-hotel 11622
    nihon-u 17249
    sakura 19084
    aist.go 22324
    aist nyud 8090 3738

    When I selected data-hotel in the first trial reported in previous post, the delay was 312.

    That trial was at 10pm pdt
    The listings in this post occurred at 9:20am this day, Thursday morning.

    The same...... waiting until fs wrapper is ready came on screen and never finished...the screen went blank...no further activity..reset computer.

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Repeated the trial again after report of ISP delays this morning.

    The netselect values are as shown below in the order given for the ring sources in your listing:


    461
    388
    372
    505
    351
    435
    397
    762
    275

    The system hung in blinking cursor again after fs_wrapper reported "done".

    I am not certain that the ISP has the system back up to speed since he will be doing maintenance at 3am tomorrow.

    Still have no Knoppix running with FUSE-KNOPPIX...guess I blew a fuse!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    52

    Local setup for HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX

    UnderSocre and lilsirecho,

    I prepare block files for your local HTTP server to check HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX.

    http://unit.aist.go.jp/itri/knoppix/...k/knxblock.tar
    MD5: 5bed82f71f1d594d6ac6c81cb320f0f1 knxblock.tar
    The size is 1.5GB. It includes images for KNOPPIX37JP, KNOPPIX37Edu, KNOPPIX37Math and KNOPPIX37FSFE.
    Same block files are shared.

    Please extract the tar file and setup to the "knxbock" directory on your HTTP server.
    And boot HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX with the "fuse_uri=" option. For exmaple,

    boot: knoppix26 utc nodhcp fuse_uri=http://SERVER-NAME/SERVER-DIRECTORY/knxblock/KNOPPIX37FSFE/

    Please add "utc" and "nodhcp" option as magic word. They keep connection to HTTP server.

    If possible, plese open your server for other users, because HTTP FUSE KNOPPIX suffers network latency strongly.

    P.S.
    Does anyone have an idea to distribute block files world wide?
    Can we use Google cache to distribute the block files?

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    305
    Discovered that my download was only 5MB whereas your listing says it is 6MB.

    Tried to re-download to obtain the 6MB download ...after deleting the .iso file previously downloaded.

    I am unable to receive the full-size download of FUSE-KNOPPIX by clicking on the link. It always downloads 1MB only (probably the 1MB I was missing!!!

    Please advise as to corrective action to get a correct download.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 5.2 DVD lim.ed. : is fuse included ?
    By fredvej in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 10:45 AM
  2. Trusted HTTP-FUSE KNOPPIX
    By suzaki in forum Ideas
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-31-2007, 02:33 PM
  3. HTTP-FUSE Xenoppix
    By suzaki in forum Ideas
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-23-2006, 06:30 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 02:25 AM
  5. FUSE
    By lagitus in forum Ideas
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 06:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •