Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: debian/knoppix panic - lilo - grub- help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1

    debian/knoppix panic - lilo - grub- help

    I am brand new to linux but decided to jump in and try to swim anyway, oops
    I chose to install (debian install) to my hd (hda1/ext3) and write lilo to mbr when I did the install. No lilo, but I have grub?
    grub>
    comes up, I have tried and tried different things...latest/farthest

    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 devfs=mount
    initrd /boot/initrd.img
    boot

    EXT2-fs: hda1: couldn't mount because of unsupported features (4)
    Kernel panic - not sycing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(3,1)

    Should I have used ext2? When starting from cd I can't edit anything on hda1. Need help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    Ah, the mysteries of Grub.......

    You can probably find what you need with a Google.

    But are you sure you don't have Lilo?

    try

    lilo -v

    from a terminal as an ordinary user. If you get output like:

    LILO version 22.5.9, Copyright (C) 1992-1998 Werner Almesberger
    Development beyond version 21 Copyright (C) 1999-2004 John Coffman
    Released 08-Apr-2004, and compiled at 15:30:00 on Aug 15 2004
    Debian GNU/Linux

    /etc/lilo.conf: Permission denied

    then you have Lilo.

    Just su to root and do:

    /sbin/lilo

    and you should find you have it on your mbr.

    Failing that, post the error message. Some versions seem to have one line in /etc/lilo.conf which needs #ing out.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    27
    try putting 'linux' before
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 devfs=mount
    initrd /boot/initrd.img

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    205
    ... and write lilo to mbr when I did the install. No lilo, but I have grub?
    The knoppix-installer script silently runs GrUB to look for other operating systems on your hard drive. But that's before it asks where you want to install LILO (so it knows what to put in your new /etc/lilo.conf).

    So if the installation was successful up through the GrUB step, but borked before it got the bootloader portion of LILO installed, maybe...?

    But anyway, yes, the program LILO should be there on your hard drive, whether or not it got set up with a configuration file and then run to install the bootloader.

    -- Ed

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    205
    Should I have used ext2?
    No, that's not the problem - ext3 and other journalling filesystems just keep logs of changes so that if a system crashes, for example, it can recover better when it's back up.

    When starting from cd I can't edit anything on hda1.
    That's not a bug, that's a feature! While Knoppix is booting from CD, it looks for partitions and whatnot and writes what it finds to your /etc/fstab (filesystem table) but doesn't mount them yet.

    At this point you can mount hda1 with $ sudo mount /mnt/hda1 or, if you're already root, # mount /mnt/hda1. Now you can both read and write to the partition. This is a shortened version of the mount command and only works for filesystems that already have an entry in /etc/fstab.

    But if you have the Knoppix CD automount hda1 for you - maybe by clicking on the desktop icon - the partition gets mounted read-only (ro) to protect you from making changes to the hard drive by mistake. (Knoppix installed on hard drive doesn't do this.)

    In this case you have to remount the partition with the option read/write (rw). The command (as root) is # mount -o remount rw /mnt/hda1.

    There's one more step if you booted from CD but are working on LILO that's installed on hda1 - you have to transport yourself into the hda1 environment so that LILO doesn't look around and get confused by the CD environment. As root (sudo or otherwise), type # chroot /mnt/hda1.

    You can edit its configuration file, (/mnt/hda1)/etc/lilo.conf before or after changing root, that doesn't matter. But after you've edited the config file you have to run the lilo command to get the new configuration written to the bootloader, and for this you need to be chrooted.

    (Actually, there's still one more gotcha that applies to configuring LILO while you're booted from the CD only if you have more than one Linux installed on the hard drive. This doesn't apply if you have only one Knoppix installed and it's the only Linux, even if you have other operating systems installed like Windows, OS/2, Plan 9, or whatever. I won't clutter up this posting with those details, but let us know if it applies to you.)

    So here's what you do when you're booted into the CD and want to make changes to LILO on hda1. I'm going to show the commands as root rather than as sudo because you have to be root anyway to edit /etc/lilo.conf and to run LILO:

    Code:
    (CD)# mount [-o remount rw] /mnt/hda1
    (CD)# chroot /mnt/hda1
    (hda1)# (do any editing of /etc/lilo.conf)
    (hda1)# lilo
    (hda1)# exit
    (CD)#
    Include the part within the [brackets] if hda1 is already mounted read-only. You can check this by using the bare $ mount command as regular user Knoppix or as root.

    I hope this helps.

    -- Ed

Similar Threads

  1. How can I install Knoppix without installing Lilo or Grub?
    By Mustang64 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 12:32 PM
  2. Uninstall Knoppix 3.7(Debian) LILO from HDD MBR
    By rgarden in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 10:21 AM
  3. Grub of Lilo for 3.7?
    By nhoxanh in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2005, 10:43 AM
  4. lilo to grub???
    By phantomshado in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2004, 06:45 AM
  5. how to set up lilo of grub..
    By jamesgf in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Western Digital 250GB WD Blue SA510 SATA SSD, Internal M.2 2280 - WDS250G3B0B picture

Western Digital 250GB WD Blue SA510 SATA SSD, Internal M.2 2280 - WDS250G3B0B

$39.99



SAMSUNG 6.4TB SSD NVMe PCIe 3.0 MU HHHL PM1725B MZ-PLL6T4C FW2K0 picture

SAMSUNG 6.4TB SSD NVMe PCIe 3.0 MU HHHL PM1725B MZ-PLL6T4C FW2K0

$599.99



Dell 3.84TB 12Gb SAS SSD Mixed-Use Model KPM5WVUG3T84 XGKPF picture

Dell 3.84TB 12Gb SAS SSD Mixed-Use Model KPM5WVUG3T84 XGKPF

$629.99



SanDisk 256GB Extreme Pro microSDXC UHS-I Memory Card - SDSQXCD-256G-GN6MA picture

SanDisk 256GB Extreme Pro microSDXC UHS-I Memory Card - SDSQXCD-256G-GN6MA

$39.99



Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5

Patriot P210 128GB 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 2.5" SATA 3 6GB/s Internal SSD PC/MAC Lot

$14.99



Intel DC S3510 Series 120GB SSD 2.5

Intel DC S3510 Series 120GB SSD 2.5" 6Gb/s SATA Solid State Drive SSDSC2BB120G6K

$9.99



Netac 1TB 2TB 512GB Internal SSD 2.5'' SATA III 6Gb/s Solid State Drive lot picture

Netac 1TB 2TB 512GB Internal SSD 2.5'' SATA III 6Gb/s Solid State Drive lot

$13.99



Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5'' SSD SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot picture

Fanxiang SSD 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB 2.5'' SSD SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot

$13.99



Fanxiang 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB Internal SSD 2.5

Fanxiang 256GB 512GB 1TB 2TB 4TB Internal SSD 2.5" SATA III 6GB/s for PC/MAC Lot

$188.09



Fanxiang 4TB 2TB 1TB SSD 550MB/s 2.5'' SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot picture

Fanxiang 4TB 2TB 1TB SSD 550MB/s 2.5'' SATA III Internal Solid State Drive lot

$209.99