Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

  1. #1
    Guest

    How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    --Try (as root, WITH the single quotes)
    " modprobe aha152x 'your-options-here' "

    (From /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi/README.aha152x)

    CONFIGURATION ARGUMENTS:

    IOPORT base io address (0x340/0x140)
    IRQ interrupt level (9-12; default 11)
    SCSI_ID scsi id of controller (0-7; default 7)
    RECONNECT allow targets to disconnect from the bus (0/1; default 1 [on])
    PARITY enable parity checking (0/1; default 1 [on])
    SYNCHRONOUS enable synchronous transfers (0/1; default 1 [on])
    DELAY: bus reset delay (default 100)
    EXT_TRANS: enable extended translation (0/1: default 0 [off])

    2. specify only what you need to (irq or io is required; new)

    io=IOPORT0[,IOPORT1]
    IOPORT for first and second controller

    irq=IRQ0[,IRQ1]
    IRQ for first and second controller

    scsiid=SCSIID0[,SCSIID1]
    SCSIID for first and second controller

    reconnect=RECONNECT0[,RECONNECT1]
    allow targets to disconnect for first and second controller

    parity=PAR0[PAR1]
    use parity for first and second controller

    sync=SYNCHRONOUS0[,SYNCHRONOUS1]
    enable synchronous transfers for first and second controller

    delay=DELAY0[,DELAY1]
    reset DELAY for first and second controller

    exttrans=EXTTRANS0[,EXTTRANS1]
    enable extended translation for first and second controller


    If you use both alternatives the first will be taken.

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

  3. #3
    Guest
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    --No promises tho. My advice is to get a more modern (PCI) Scsi card, such as Advansys, or at least an Adaptec AHA2940 (which does 50-pin and 68-pin) PCI. You can find them at computer shows for ~$20-30, mostly system-pulls. Make sure you get a Genuine Adaptec card; the fakes have a blank grey area at the top-right of the card (with the backplate facing Left) where there should be some numbers.

    --Or, you can email Klaus and ask him if Knoppix bootup supports your card; if not, can he include it as a boot option.

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    .....
    Dave,

    I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

    Much appreciated,

    jj

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.

    Quote Originally Posted by wavesailor
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    .....
    Dave,

    I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

    Much appreciated,

    jj

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.
    Hey Dave,

    Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record

    I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

    The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

    My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

    Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

    Regards,

    jj

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

    Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

    http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

    Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.

    Quote Originally Posted by wavesailor
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.
    Hey Dave,

    Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record

    I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

    The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

    My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

    Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

    Regards,

    jj

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

    Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

    http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

    Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.
    Thanks Dave but unfortunately it is at the point where I have to specify the params that I cannot get a debian distro to recognise my SCSI controller yet Slackware and RH work fine.

    -jj

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    135

    How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    From a debian install, select "shell access" (or something similar). You can then search /etc/lib/modules/2.6.8-i386/kernel/drivers/scsi for your required driver and insmod it if it exists then do a "detect hardware" again.

    On the other hand: I recently had issues with an old delledge server with an addon percraid 2/dc that required the old megaraid driver. Damned if ubuntu didn't just pick it up. As it turned out, I was able to insmod the driver in a pure debian install as above once I realised that it was included but not being automatically detected.

Similar Threads

  1. Is there an knoppix-installer or a SCSI driver problem?
    By Calvi Risorta in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 10:26 PM
  2. HP CISS Driver and mounting of scsi-disks
    By staalelor in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 10:43 PM
  3. Trying to load SCSI driver from
    By Kryptik in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 10:52 PM
  4. Kernel Panic: Cannot mount root-fs (SCSI driver missing)
    By ullmanns in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2003, 03:51 PM
  5. HELP!!!! SCSI Driver running SLOW!!!!!
    By roberto in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 04:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM Power8 S822L Storage Server 8247-22L - With Ram, Some Cards, No HDD's picture

IBM Power8 S822L Storage Server 8247-22L - With Ram, Some Cards, No HDD's

$399.95



IBM SYSTEM X3500 M3 SERVER 7380AC1 2*XEON E5620 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM SYSTEM X3500 M3 SERVER 7380AC1 2*XEON E5620 2.4GHz 8GB SEE NOTES

$33.21



IBM 8284-22A S822 Dual Power8 Cpu 512Gb (16x 32Gb) RAM  picture

IBM 8284-22A S822 Dual Power8 Cpu 512Gb (16x 32Gb) RAM

$795.00



IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W picture

IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W

$199.00



IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$399.99



IBM x3650 M4 2x Xeon E5-2670 2.6ghz 16-Core / 64GB / M5110e / 2x PSU picture

IBM x3650 M4 2x Xeon E5-2670 2.6ghz 16-Core / 64GB / M5110e / 2x PSU

$129.99



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6-Core 64GB RAM No Bezel/HDD Server

$359.99



IBM X3650 M5 5462-AC1,2 X E5-2640V3 2.6GHZ 8C, 16 GB, DUAL 750W, 2 X 1TB SERVER picture

IBM X3650 M5 5462-AC1,2 X E5-2640V3 2.6GHZ 8C, 16 GB, DUAL 750W, 2 X 1TB SERVER

$249.99



IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED picture

IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED

$119.99



IBM System X 3250 M5 Single Xeon Quad Core E3-1220 v3 @3.1GHz,8GB RAM,Linux SUSE picture

IBM System X 3250 M5 Single Xeon Quad Core E3-1220 v3 @3.1GHz,8GB RAM,Linux SUSE

$199.87