Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

  1. #1
    Guest

    How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041

    Re: How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    --Try (as root, WITH the single quotes)
    " modprobe aha152x 'your-options-here' "

    (From /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi/README.aha152x)

    CONFIGURATION ARGUMENTS:

    IOPORT base io address (0x340/0x140)
    IRQ interrupt level (9-12; default 11)
    SCSI_ID scsi id of controller (0-7; default 7)
    RECONNECT allow targets to disconnect from the bus (0/1; default 1 [on])
    PARITY enable parity checking (0/1; default 1 [on])
    SYNCHRONOUS enable synchronous transfers (0/1; default 1 [on])
    DELAY: bus reset delay (default 100)
    EXT_TRANS: enable extended translation (0/1: default 0 [off])

    2. specify only what you need to (irq or io is required; new)

    io=IOPORT0[,IOPORT1]
    IOPORT for first and second controller

    irq=IRQ0[,IRQ1]
    IRQ for first and second controller

    scsiid=SCSIID0[,SCSIID1]
    SCSIID for first and second controller

    reconnect=RECONNECT0[,RECONNECT1]
    allow targets to disconnect for first and second controller

    parity=PAR0[PAR1]
    use parity for first and second controller

    sync=SYNCHRONOUS0[,SYNCHRONOUS1]
    enable synchronous transfers for first and second controller

    delay=DELAY0[,DELAY1]
    reset DELAY for first and second controller

    exttrans=EXTTRANS0[,EXTTRANS1]
    enable extended translation for first and second controller


    If you use both alternatives the first will be taken.

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

  3. #3
    Guest
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    --No promises tho. My advice is to get a more modern (PCI) Scsi card, such as Advansys, or at least an Adaptec AHA2940 (which does 50-pin and 68-pin) PCI. You can find them at computer shows for ~$20-30, mostly system-pulls. Make sure you get a Genuine Adaptec card; the fakes have a blank grey area at the top-right of the card (with the backplate facing Left) where there should be some numbers.

    --Or, you can email Klaus and ask him if Knoppix bootup supports your card; if not, can he include it as a boot option.

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    .....
    Dave,

    I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

    Much appreciated,

    jj

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.

    Quote Originally Posted by wavesailor
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --At expert boot, try modprobing for:

    ' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
    ((0x340,11,0,1))

    .....
    Dave,

    I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

    Much appreciated,

    jj

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.
    Hey Dave,

    Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record

    I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

    The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

    My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

    Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

    Regards,

    jj

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    USA, IL
    Posts
    1,041
    I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

    Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

    http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

    Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.

    Quote Originally Posted by wavesailor
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    --Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record.

    See:
    http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
    http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/doc...ned/SCSI-HOWTO
    http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

    --Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

    --Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.
    Hey Dave,

    Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record

    I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

    The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

    My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

    Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

    Regards,

    jj

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave_Bechtel
    I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

    Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

    http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

    Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.
    Thanks Dave but unfortunately it is at the point where I have to specify the params that I cannot get a debian distro to recognise my SCSI controller yet Slackware and RH work fine.

    -jj

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    135

    How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?

    From a debian install, select "shell access" (or something similar). You can then search /etc/lib/modules/2.6.8-i386/kernel/drivers/scsi for your required driver and insmod it if it exists then do a "detect hardware" again.

    On the other hand: I recently had issues with an old delledge server with an addon percraid 2/dc that required the old megaraid driver. Damned if ubuntu didn't just pick it up. As it turned out, I was able to insmod the driver in a pure debian install as above once I realised that it was included but not being automatically detected.

Similar Threads

  1. Is there an knoppix-installer or a SCSI driver problem?
    By Calvi Risorta in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2004, 10:26 PM
  2. HP CISS Driver and mounting of scsi-disks
    By staalelor in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 10:43 PM
  3. Trying to load SCSI driver from
    By Kryptik in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-10-2003, 10:52 PM
  4. Kernel Panic: Cannot mount root-fs (SCSI driver missing)
    By ullmanns in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2003, 03:51 PM
  5. HELP!!!! SCSI Driver running SLOW!!!!!
    By roberto in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 04:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.2Ghz 16-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS picture

Supermicro 4U 36 Bay Storage Server 2.2Ghz 16-C 128GB 1x1280W Rails TrueNAS ZFS

$716.98



Dell PowerEdge R630 8SFF 2.6Ghz 20-Core 128GB Mem 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x750W PSU picture

Dell PowerEdge R630 8SFF 2.6Ghz 20-Core 128GB Mem 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x750W PSU

$399.04



Intel XEON E5-2699 V3 CPU PROCESSOR 18 CORE 2.30GHZ 45MB L3 CACHE 145W SR1XD picture

Intel XEON E5-2699 V3 CPU PROCESSOR 18 CORE 2.30GHZ 45MB L3 CACHE 145W SR1XD

$45.00



Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.6Ghz 20-C 128GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails picture

Dell R730xd 12LFF 2.6Ghz 20-C 128GB H730 2x10G+2x1G NIC 2x1100W 12x Trays Rails

$721.05



Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4GHz 35MB 14-Core 120W LGA2011-3 SR2N7 picture

Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 2.4GHz 35MB 14-Core 120W LGA2011-3 SR2N7

$17.99



Intel Xeon Gold 6140 SR3AX 2.3GHz 18-Core Processor CPU picture

Intel Xeon Gold 6140 SR3AX 2.3GHz 18-Core Processor CPU

$44.99



Intel Xeon Gold 6126 2.6 GHz LGA 3647 Server CPU Processor SR3B3 picture

Intel Xeon Gold 6126 2.6 GHz LGA 3647 Server CPU Processor SR3B3

$17.99



Intel Xeon Gold 6138 2.0GHz 27.5MB 20-Core 125W LGA3647 SR3B5 picture

Intel Xeon Gold 6138 2.0GHz 27.5MB 20-Core 125W LGA3647 SR3B5

$46.00



INTEL XEON GOLD 6148 PROCESSOR | 2.40GHZ | SR3B6 picture

INTEL XEON GOLD 6148 PROCESSOR | 2.40GHZ | SR3B6

$99.99



HP Workstation Z640 2x Xeon E5-2623V4 32GB Ram Dual 256GB SSD K420 Linux GA picture

HP Workstation Z640 2x Xeon E5-2623V4 32GB Ram Dual 256GB SSD K420 Linux GA

$234.98